We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mild nightmare.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Caribe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Cancun - Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Together & Safe!
Ranked #31 of 173 hotels in Cancun
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“mild nightmare.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Okay so let me start off by saying we were a group of 6, 21 year olds, 3 couples, not picky at all... I never thought I would be here to write a bad review :(

check in was fine quick they were polite. The first day we were there the girls got locked inside of one of the rooms, that's right INSIDE for over an hour they eventually had to break the door open, management was not very polite about this but they did end up moving the couple to another room after that.

At the next room this same couple had their safe break at LEAST once a day, requiring a call from maintenance and 10 minute wait each and every time... very inconvenient.

Couple number 2 had a rock solid bed where you could feel the springs and would actually wake up in pain from how hard this bed was, either way they dealt with it until about the 4th time their lock on the door's battery died (had to call maintenance every time, another 10 minutes wait) and were FINALLY moved to another room.

Couple number 3 had no air conditioning for the first 3 days, finally after the 3rd day they figured out its because our balcony door wouldn't shut, so he slammed it a bunch of times then advised us not to touch it, so for the rest of the days we had no balcony use in our room... and not that this is SO important, but 2/3 rooms our balcony handle fell off...

Okay so besides the maintenance issues we had a very fun time, they had the best guests and some really good staff (Angel, Brian, Gerardo!) good music, entertainment was all a blast.

what REALLY got me though is that the maids did not come around to our rooms until at least 3 or 4 pm, so you would be wanting to head back for a mid afternoon nap and couldn't because A) they were cleaning your room or B) you would be interrupted by them wanting to clean at that ridiculous time, AND they only give you 1-2 toilet paper rolls so picture running out the night before and not being able to use your bathroom until 3 or 4 pm the following day?!?!?! I don't know why but I feel this is CRAZILY unacceptable. Get this though, on checkout day where we wanted to sleep in a touch, was the ONLY DAY the maids were knocking at 8:30 a.m.!! like are you kidding me

Showers were a hit and miss because at only some parts of the day could you actually get hot water the rest was just barely luke warm? I know it's Mexico and hot in general but I like my showers HOT.

I think we all agreed the food was pretty good overall i mean lots of variety usually everyone could find something, the steak restaurant and Mexican were both good, the Asian (only 2 of us attended) was said to be great. The pizzeria was pretty cool, mini personal pizzas with whatever you wanted on them. Pools were good, clean but COLD, even colder than the ocean it wasn't even comfortable to go in 80% of the time.

Overall the place was done up very nice fancy, drinks were good, bars were good.

We flew with sunwing and we would never return with them, our rep didn't show up the second last day so we never ended up getting our free senior frogs dinner that was part of our package, as well for one of the bars our shuttle never showed up so we had to take the bus. Also on the way there the flight attendants were not very nice and the food unfortunately sucked. Only one drink per hour even though we were paying.

Overall I'd say it was a good trip but unfortunately we all agreed we would never return to this hotel. I couldn't help but wonder about all the good reviews? Maybe we were the "lemons" you know it can't be perfect for everyone, but we had 3 couples, 3 rooms and all could agree that it was basically really crappy.

Luckily it's the people your with who make it and Cancun in general was AMAZING, the people there rock. We always felt really safe, even off of the resort, loved taking the bus around. Weather was hot, rained a bit but who cares :)

Room Tip: if you want an ocean view youl need floor 3 or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,282
    1,585
    525
    237
    199
See reviews for
965
1693
52
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, Sufflok, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel standard was very good, the choice of food at the buffet was outstanding. The bbokable restaurants were just OK. The beach and pools were good. The staff were fantastic. Overall we had agreat two weeks. However, there were some people at the hotel which were too noisy and a little rude to the entertainment staff. They were shouting and swearing on the balconys. With groups trying to 'converse' from one balcony to another. The same group left halk eaten food in the hotel corridors overnight. They were particaluarly noisy until 03:00 one night. It must be said that this caused only a minor irritation on what was a great holiday

Room Tip: Go to Chichen Itza. The higher the floor the better the view. We were on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent, at the end of November 2012, one week of vacation at Riu Caribe in Cancun, Mexico and we think it was the best service we ever had.
The personnel of the hotel (from Angel in Reception to the cleaning personnel) did their best to make us feeling good. The hotel is super clean, the rooms have everything for a comfortable stay, the view of the golf is perfect. We enjoyed different shows, beach activities and sports, everything free of charge.
The food is fantastic - from American to European, Central America and Mexican style. Me and my wife found the Albatros a very good restaurant. Every single day (from breakfast to dinner) we found something new and different from a day before. They have plenty of fruit and vegetables, the steaks and fish are delicious, the wine is very good, the cookies and cakes are perfect. The bread is the best we ever ate. Chief Margarito is there to help all the guests find a table according to their preferences and number of people and to have the best service during their stay in restaurant. We met a very good waiter - Israel - who was near us every time we needed something and his good English and his knowledge about the Chicago made us a real pleasure. A special remark for those two managers of the restaurant who are present all the time between their personnel and taking care of all the guests.
We enjoyed very much our stay in Riu Caribe and we recommend it to everybody, for every age, singles or couples people, Americans or from any other country.
PS For our transportation from airport to hotel we used the service of Best Day Travel which representative is in the lobby all day long. They did an excellent job, good buses, good drivers and a very precise timetable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel, very clean and up kept. Staff were very polite and just In general very nice. Waiters always there offering drinks etc, always fun activities going on inside and outside the hotel around the pool, good for young people! Food was average, had some nights better than others, some food very bland and tasteless, Asian restraunt to over rated, by far the worse one out of them all! Steakhouse was nice, but yet again same thing all the time, felt very rushed out of our seats! Only downfall was room cleaning was done very late In the afternoon about 3pm which isn't helpful at all when wanting to go to a clean room and have a shower ready for the evening! Beach was very nice, always staff clearing up, offering drinks all day long. Sometimes thought the pool was a bit to hectic, hence why was on the beach most of the holiday , pools good for people who want to join in with the activities, but not if you want to relax in piece and quiet! Was situated on the 9th floor, which is the best one to be on! No noise from downstairs at all. Thought the location was great, easy to get to places and to and from the main strip. But overall really enjoyed it, defo will be returning next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel 14 days in November so here are the good points.Being a disabled traveller walking with elbow crutches this Hotel is well ramped although some are on the steep side especially the one to the buffet dining room.The Mexican restaurant has steps down so unusable and the Sports Bar has steps up so also unusable.The beach is down steps but can be accessed at the side of Las Gaviotas beach bar.The Staff are excellent friendly and efficient and rooms are always clean as is all the Hotel.The food in the buffet is excellent always a carvery and a wide choice every night and at lunchtime.We ate at lunchtime in Las Gaviotas overlooking the beach but it can get hectic.Beach is good but on the small side and sunbeds are cramped the pool area was busy but sunbeds were available.Now the bad points although they did not spoil our holiday AMERICANS.It seems their sole aim was to drink from morning to next morning eat as if the world was coming to an end and always talk louder than anybody else One group close to us were drinking heavily and the one swearing the most was a girl.Two more downsides for the Hotel no drink coasters only folded up tissue and some days a shortage of butter.However an excellent holiday in a Hotel I could recommend .

Room Tip: 825 above tree line good view but some air con noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this resort. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had a mini fridge and bar. We had a view of the ocean and the Riu Palace hotel next to us. The service was great but we found the food to be average in the a la carte Restaurants. They were not as good as we have had at other resorts and we have been to many.
They beach area is not as beautiful as in other parts of Cancun or the Riviera Maya. There was no drink service on the beach during the day. The mojitos were very good!! There was lots of seaweed in this beach area but the staff do their best to clean the beach each day. The pool area was very nice and they had activities each day.
I would say this is an average hotel with great service but would not return due to the beach...not what we prefer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Though we enjoyed our stay, we are not planning on returning to this resort.

My sisters and I travelled to Mexico for the first time November 2012. After reading several reviews of Riu Caribe on Trip Advisor, we decided to book our stay with them. We called twice in advance to ask for rooms together and were told that arrangements would be made. Unfortunately when we arrived late in the evening our rooms were not even on the same hall. The gentleman checking us in was very kind and found rooms a few doors apart on the second floor near the atrium. We stayed in those rooms for only two nights. Every other night or so a performer would stand in the atrium and perform with a microphone and full accompaniment. The amplified base made it so that we could hear and feel the sound all the way in our rooms, though the music stopped around 11 pm. When we asked for rooms away from the noise we were give seventh floor, ocean view rooms (an upgrade) at no additional cost.
The service at the Riu was by far my favorite part of our stay! The wait staff, check-in attendants and cleaning staff were all very accommodating. The hotel staff decorated our room very nicely for my sisters birthday! The also made an extra trip to clean our room late in the evening after I had been sick.
The food was average and repetitive. It was also rather institutional in taste and quality. The specialty Asian restaurant was tasty but not impressive. The Steak house had a very nice atmosphere and the staff was fantastic, but the food was average again. The Mexican restaurant was a thoroughly unenjoyable experience. The maitre'd told us to go and change before we could keep our reservation. When told we had no formal clothes they grudgingly seated us. The embarrassment of the situation was not eased by the fact that they did not speak English very well. The formality of this setting seemed unnecessary when we discovered that the food there was of no better quality then the food served in the rest of the resort.

The beachfront was lovely if not somewhat crowded. My only complaint would be that we could hardly find a place outside where we were free from the smell of cigarette smoke.

The mattresses are a bit hard. I had no trouble sleeping!

The Massage therapist and quality of massage were both excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have significantly less court yard noise late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Cancun - Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#31 Business Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 km. /1.9 miles from a shopping center. 4,5 km/2.5 miles from downtown Cancun. 21 km/13.1 miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.