We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Caribe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Cancun - Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #30 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent hotel but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel 14 days in November so here are the good points.Being a disabled traveller walking with elbow crutches this Hotel is well ramped although some are on the steep side especially the one to the buffet dining room.The Mexican restaurant has steps down so unusable and the Sports Bar has steps up so also unusable.The beach is down steps but can be accessed at the side of Las Gaviotas beach bar.The Staff are excellent friendly and efficient and rooms are always clean as is all the Hotel.The food in the buffet is excellent always a carvery and a wide choice every night and at lunchtime.We ate at lunchtime in Las Gaviotas overlooking the beach but it can get hectic.Beach is good but on the small side and sunbeds are cramped the pool area was busy but sunbeds were available.Now the bad points although they did not spoil our holiday AMERICANS.It seems their sole aim was to drink from morning to next morning eat as if the world was coming to an end and always talk louder than anybody else One group close to us were drinking heavily and the one swearing the most was a girl.Two more downsides for the Hotel no drink coasters only folded up tissue and some days a shortage of butter.However an excellent holiday in a Hotel I could recommend .

Room Tip: 825 above tree line good view but some air con noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,226
    1,554
    512
    235
    195
See reviews for
927
1666
51
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this resort. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had a mini fridge and bar. We had a view of the ocean and the Riu Palace hotel next to us. The service was great but we found the food to be average in the a la carte Restaurants. They were not as good as we have had at other resorts and we have been to many.
They beach area is not as beautiful as in other parts of Cancun or the Riviera Maya. There was no drink service on the beach during the day. The mojitos were very good!! There was lots of seaweed in this beach area but the staff do their best to clean the beach each day. The pool area was very nice and they had activities each day.
I would say this is an average hotel with great service but would not return due to the beach...not what we prefer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Though we enjoyed our stay, we are not planning on returning to this resort.

My sisters and I travelled to Mexico for the first time November 2012. After reading several reviews of Riu Caribe on Trip Advisor, we decided to book our stay with them. We called twice in advance to ask for rooms together and were told that arrangements would be made. Unfortunately when we arrived late in the evening our rooms were not even on the same hall. The gentleman checking us in was very kind and found rooms a few doors apart on the second floor near the atrium. We stayed in those rooms for only two nights. Every other night or so a performer would stand in the atrium and perform with a microphone and full accompaniment. The amplified base made it so that we could hear and feel the sound all the way in our rooms, though the music stopped around 11 pm. When we asked for rooms away from the noise we were give seventh floor, ocean view rooms (an upgrade) at no additional cost.
The service at the Riu was by far my favorite part of our stay! The wait staff, check-in attendants and cleaning staff were all very accommodating. The hotel staff decorated our room very nicely for my sisters birthday! The also made an extra trip to clean our room late in the evening after I had been sick.
The food was average and repetitive. It was also rather institutional in taste and quality. The specialty Asian restaurant was tasty but not impressive. The Steak house had a very nice atmosphere and the staff was fantastic, but the food was average again. The Mexican restaurant was a thoroughly unenjoyable experience. The maitre'd told us to go and change before we could keep our reservation. When told we had no formal clothes they grudgingly seated us. The embarrassment of the situation was not eased by the fact that they did not speak English very well. The formality of this setting seemed unnecessary when we discovered that the food there was of no better quality then the food served in the rest of the resort.

The beachfront was lovely if not somewhat crowded. My only complaint would be that we could hardly find a place outside where we were free from the smell of cigarette smoke.

The mattresses are a bit hard. I had no trouble sleeping!

The Massage therapist and quality of massage were both excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have significantly less court yard noise late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby del la zouch, Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

First time in cancun, wow what a place!
The hotel is clean and bright (EasyJet Colours), our room was comfortable and a good size with a dark blue and white colour scheme with a free mini bar. We had a noisy room the first night right above the entertainment in the main hotel bar/lobby area, ask for a room from floor 5 upwards or around the wings of the hotel for a good night sleep.

The main bar area was always busy at night, the bar staff work hard and are very friendly, you normally don't have to wait too long for a drink and your glass is normally full straight away.

The staff are very friendly and attentive in the restaurants, there are four restaurants, the main restaurant is a Buffet, just walk in. Steakhouse, Mexican and Asian you must book a table the same morning or the day before if you wanted to eat in them . The fried ice cream is to die for in the Asian restaurant!
We had dinner in all the restaurants the food was good but if you like cold food then try the steakhouse, the baked potato's and veg are normally cold (left to stand) but the steak was real good, cooked fresh so nice and HOT!
The pool area is quite noisy around the swim up pool bar but you do have a choice to relax in the other quiet pool area where you can get great pizza from 10am onwards. Sunbeds did not seem a problem to get in the mornings as there are plenty for everyone.

Don't book the trips with the tour operators, take a bus ride to town (experience on it's own £0.50/$0.75 each way) and book through the the local tour guides you can get 2 for 1 for the same trips.
Take a trip to Island Mujeres, take the blue and yellow ferry it takes 20mins and hire a golf cart for the day, see the island it was great, good beaches and shopping.

Room Tip: Best rooms floor 5 upwards and both wings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, ON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Came to this resort for holidays October 16 to 23, 2012. Upon arrival, the first thing I noticed was that this resort, although nice, was not as nice as pictured on Riu's website. We arrived around 10am, and while checking in we found out our room would not be ready until 3pm and none of our room requests could be fulfilled. Prior to going on this trip, we requested a room on an upper lever facing the inside of the resort. Although when booking this trip we were assured they would do their best to accommodate us (being return Riu guests), this was not the case upon arrival. We got a room on the main floor (side facing) with no view.
The lobby is not air conditioned, and with 40 degree weather, was uncomfortable to spend any time in. The pool and beach area are nice but felt a little cramped, and the buffet was good but lacking in selection. After speaking with the manager about our issues, he recommended that we upgrade to the Riu Peninsula next door as he was unable to do anything for us. After getting a tour from Victor (the manager) with another couple we met at the Caribe, we all decided to move to the Peninsula and it was worth every penny to upgrade (paid $350 more).
Overall, I would give the Riu Caribe an average rating. It's a fairly nice resort with newly renovated rooms, and all of the amenities one would expect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our room was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The waiter asked if we wanted another drink (at dinner) right before we took our last sip. The food at the buffet and Mexican Restaurant was average and usually salty. That's expected at a three star all inclusive resort. We didn't get to try the Asian and Steakhouse Restaurants. You have to book early...by 8:00am. The live music is good although not our taste. I don't recommend going for the entertainment. The lip sync show was bad. They barely moved their lips and the choreography was off. The fire show by the pool on our first night was awesome but that was about it. We always went downtown for dancing. Check out Mandala!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was probably our 4th and last time staying at this resort. The renovations were done with quality work, but the euro art deco style doesn't match a building that was designed with a Mayan theme. The grounds are still kept amazingly well. It just didn't seem to be the fun and happy place that it used to be.

Room:
We had a Jr Suite. We were initially given one in the middle. I had asked for one on the end, and had to wait for a couple of hours, but was finally given 608. These are referred to as corner suites. The room is basically the same as the regular room, but the balcony is much larger. Not really sure it is worth the extra expense considering I very rarely saw anyone out on their balconies. The rooms have been remodeled with a very white theme. The safes have been switched to electronic code style instead of key. The Mini bar fridge is bigger and not in a cabinet any longer so the drinks get cool.
There are something really funky about the room. I am not sure who thought it was a great idea to put a window in the bathroom. There is a reason we wall this room off. I have never felt the need to see a silhouette of someone's bathroom activities nor do I need to be blasted with light in the middle of the night if someone needs to go. It is a frosted glass, but glass none the less.

Food:
Less than spectacular. The specialty restaurants are average at best. The steak was probably the best of the 3, but the steak was on the tough side and kink of bland. Pretty much what I would expect out of AI. The buffets were suspect at best. We routinely found the food in the trays cold. I watched the lady making omelets in the morning and she would hand them to people with eggs still running out of them. The one I ordered, the cheese wasn't even melted. The next day I asked her to cook it longer so it would get hot and she got kind of offended. Considering I doubt they are using pasteurized eggs, it isn't exactly safe to eat.

It is Cancun and all the buildings are made of concrete and they do echo. Drunks don't always realize how loud they are. Pretty much every night between 1 and 3am there were loud voices and screams as they stumbled back to their rooms. One of the greatest additions to the rooms are a device on the door that prevent them from being slammed.

Pool:
Still very nice and the added loungers in the pool are a nice touch. There are actually two pools now. One is on the side nearer to the new resort where the diving pool was. It adds a lot more pool space and is described as the quite pool. The activity pool was very low key and almost library quiet around the pool most of the time. It was pretty easy to find a chair, but there was a LOT of towel saving of loungers that you would never see used during the day.

Beach:
Lots of grass washing up as usual, but they did a very poor job of removing it. In the past there was someone out there all day. Now you see a guy make a quick pass with a rake then that is it. There are a lot more palapas on the beach now. Of course like the pool, people stake them out real early and you never see them used. The beach is getting smaller and smaller with no hope of gaining it back. There is hardly enough room for the volleyball court.

Common Areas:
Lots of chair and tables around the lobby bar and they actually added a second bar. Never really had an issue finding a table in the evening. Drink service was kind of slow. It would be nice if they offered snacks instead of just drinks. The sports bar could be called the ghost bar because it always dead. It is a great place to go if you want to get a drink because you will have the place to yourself.


Guests:
This resort had a very diverse group of people. There was a young party crowd. There was an older crowd. There was a family crowd. There were Americans, Canadians, Brits, and lots of South Americans with a large contingent of Brazilians.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the inside. Even number rooms face outside. The lower even number rooms face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Cancun - Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 km. /1.9 miles from a shopping center. 4,5 km/2.5 miles from downtown Cancun. 21 km/13.1 miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.