We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5, Retorno San Miguelito, Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and got a fantastic deal. The rooms were basic, but comfortable. We didnt spend much time in the room anyways!
The hotel grounds/beach/pool area were immaculate!
The food was average. There were a lot of options though so hard to go hungry. We did not care for the Japanese restaurant. The Old Barn was our favorite (steak house) Exceptional wait staff at the restaurants and both bars.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here. The location was good-- a quick bus ride anywhere you wanted to go.

A few cons: our room smelled musty, so we brought it to the attention of the front desk and were quickly switched to a different room. The second room had a faint musty smell, but was tolerable. Like I said we didn't spend much time in the room anyways.
The wifi is not free! U were able to pick it up from the neighboring hotels, but signal was not always good.
The pool area needs more umbrellas and chairs, although not much room for more chairs! But other guests would be down reserving spots at 7am. Kinda annoying bc u would come down and not be able to find a spot at all, yet 50 chairs open with just a towel sitting on it. The beach had plenty of chairs but not enough umbrellas.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, all of your feedback is greatly appreciated.
We are glad that you could enjoy a great vacation at the Golden Parnassus and your mostly liked the Old Barn, a Tex-Mex restaurant that takes us to the old west with its decor.
Thank you for letting us know that our staff was eager to assist you whenever you brought something to our attention, all of the staff at Golden Parnassus we are working for you to have a relaxing and fun vacation.
We hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Best regards.
Maru Reyes
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,607
    1,096
    391
    219
    153
See reviews for
155
1,748
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We just returned from a fun filled stay at the Golden. We traveled with a group of 12 ranging in age from 18-53. There was something to keep everyone entertained. We really enjoyed the Barn and I loved the ribeye. My least favorite restaurant was the Pier 21 restaurant. I really enjoyed not having to make reservations and rarely had to wait to be seated. We loved the entertainment staff, the bar staff and waitresses and the housekeeping was awesome. The beach was beautiful but we spent most of our time at the pool or hot tub. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, we appreciate you to share your feedback of your recent stay at the Resort.

We are glad that you could spend a fun vacation with us, keeping entertained to all of the party you were staying with. Here at the Golden Parnassus no reservations are necessary in any of our restaurants as we have a large variety of options where to eat.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you to the Golden Parnassus for another fun vacation.

Best regards.
Maru Reyes
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just returned a few days ago from another Great trip to the GP, when you frist arrive the Bellman takes your bags and escorts you to the seating area with a nice cool towell, he then tells you welcome home and lets the Bartender know you are there, then the Bartender makes you a fabulous drink, next the lovely lady from the front Desk comes to welcome you homa and to explain about the resort, put your bracelet on you and tells you welcome home, at that point you are welcome to go anywhere on the resort so we chose to go to the buffett where we were met by one of the wait staff, we were greeted, told welcome home and told to eat what we wanted, next we went out by the pool where we were greeted by some of the entertainment staff and once again told welcome to your home, we were thirsty so we walked over to the tiki bar and once again we were told, welcome to your home, what would you like to drink? are you catching the theme here, you are always told , welcome home, we were told that 7 years ago on our first trip to the Golden Parnassus and now 7 years and 10 trips later we are still being told the same thing except now the staff knows us by name, they have our phone numbers, email addresses and we are facebook friends, we love this resort and the staff there do the best job, before coming here we had visited plenty other resorts in Cancun but after coming here we knew we had a new HOME and you will too, we just got back a couple weeks ago and we will be returning again May 31 for another 9 nights, please if you go there, take the time to learn the names of the staff that you meet especially Maru, the concierge, she is the most helpful and lovely lady that can be a really great help to you.

Room Tip: we always stay on the ground floor, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of your recent stay at the Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa.

Here at the Resort we are committed to make you feel like home, as you are family to us.
To keep in touch with everybody at the Resort we invite you to check our official Facebook page: Golden Parnassus Adult Resort & Spa Cancun.

I appreciate your kind words for my job, we have a great staff working hard for you to have the greatest experience in every visit to the Golden Parnassus.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at your home in Cancun.

Best regards.
Maru Reyes
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went on a week long vacation over Easter and stayed at the Golden Parnassus. We stayed on the main floor in a wheelchair accessible room that was perfectly set up, the only down side was that some of the ramps were a little steep but there was always someone around willing to help at a moments notice. The view from our patio was beautiful as we faced the pool and the ocean so we were able to see some beautiful sunsets. Amazing week with unbelievable food especially the Shanghi everything that we ordered was made to perfection. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Entertainment staff were there to entertain day and night Carlos and Nathan were great. Israel was always poolside ready to make bracelets. Leanne and Bato with their trivia games. I to have to agree that the mango drink was one of the best that I had all week. We also met a lot of wonderful people from all over the world and made some new friends. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, we appreciate you to feedback us with your review.

Golden Parnassus features handicap facilities for your comfort, so people in wheelchair may have easy access to all of our indoor and outdoor areas.

All of our guests truly enjoy our welcome drink, the Golden Parnassus, this is our way to make you start your relaxing vacation.

Do not hesitate to come back to let us consent you on your next great vacation at Golden Parnassus.

Best regards.
Maru Reyes
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spent a great week at the GP from April 6th - 13th. We went with 4 other couples and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I must admit that I was uptight about the reviews where people were bumped to the sister property, but that was not an issue for any of us. 4 of the 5 couples stayed in club rooms on the lagoon side. The rooms were very clean and we appreciated not hearing a lot of noise through the night. As many other reviewers have commented; the staff is outstanding and very friendly. The entertainment staff work very hard to keep folks engaged, but we never felt pushed into anything we did not want to do. The food at the GP was adequate, nothing to brag about, but nothing to really complain about either. All in all, a very nice first experience at an All Inclusive. We may very well be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, we appreciate you to share us your feedback.

We are glad that your first All Inclusive experience reached your expectations.

On behalf of all the staff we want to thank you for your kind words for our service as a result of our hard work and effort for you to have a great vacation at our Resort.

We will be more than glad to welcome you again for another great experience at Parnassus Resorts.

Best regards.
Maru Reyes
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our 10th trip to Cancun and our first stay at the GP. As soon as we arrived we were greeted and taken to a table to checked in. They will bring you a house drink called the GP which is a mango drink which was very good. They got us checked in quickly and off to our room we went. The hotel is not one of the 'newer ones' in Cancun, but it is well maintained and nicely layed out.
To us, the size of this resort was perfect, not too big or too small.
The staff at this resort is awesome, very nice and friendly.
The ententainment staff did all type of activities, I have read where this offended some people, but they are an entertainment staff, we had not problem with that. It is your choice if you choose to participate in any of the activities.
The food variety was very good. The food at this resort ranks 2nd in all of our stays in Cancun. I guess some people will never be pleased with the food, but I think it was better than most. I would definately recommend this resort to any couple.
Also, the spa was great !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, we appreciate you to share your experience at the Resort.

We are very glad to know that you had fun participating on the activities that our entertainment staff organizes, we try to keep a funny ambiance without disrespect any of our guests. We have at the Resort 6 restaurants that satisfy every taste.

On behalf of all the staff we appreciate your recommendation and we hope to welcome you again for another great vacation at the Golden Parnassus.

Best regards.
Maru Reyes
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you go, make sure to get an ocean view room. I originally booked for a lagoon view and was on the first floor. Very small room with a crappy view. I upgraded to the ocean view and was on the 6th floor, great view with a much bigger room! It was well worth the few extra dollars. Many people have commented that this resort is much more laid back than others. I agree! It was a low key vibe for the entire week. There was some partying going on, but nothing too crazy. It was just what we needed. A nice, relaxing, enjoyable vacation. You could ALWAYS get a lounger at the pool or the beach.

The service was great, the rooms were clean. The ala carte restaurants were outstanding! I've been to a few all-inclusives before and I have to say the restaurants here were by far the best I've ever experienced. Sumo was my favorite by far! The buffet was small, but they had enough selections for everyone.

We took a 5 minute shuttle bus to its sister resort The Great Parnassus for lunch one day. The buffet there is much bigger and better. That place was nuts! Packed pools, screaming kids....

Overall, it was a great vacation that we all enjoyed. I would definately go back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Ocean view and ask for the higher floors. It's definately worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, we appreciate you to share us your feedback.

It’s a real pleasure to know that you truly enjoyed the Tastes of Golden Parnassus, especially in our Japanese restaurant, Sumo.

Being an Adult Only Resort, Golden Parnassus keeps a relaxing ambiance for our guests to enjoy of a comfortable vacation. For your entertainment we have a theater with shows during the week and an entertainment team.

For our guests we have the option to take them for a day pass to the Great Parnassus, our sister Resort for the family, so you can feel a more energetic vibe and enjoy of our bars and restaurants as well.

Do not hesitate to come back to Golden Parnassus to let us pamper you for you to enjoy a pleasant vacation.

Best regards.
Maru Reyes
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5, Retorno San Miguelito, Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only. Formerly Golden Crown Paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.