We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5, Retorno San Miguelito, Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Needs Renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had the choice of the Golden Parnassus or the NOW Sapphire for the same price. We chose GP since we had been to NOW last October and wanted to try something new. Granted it was only a 4 day 3 night stay, so we weren't there for anything but sun and beach. The beach is beautiful and there are plenty of beach chairs. No actiivities such as kayaking, etc on site. Beach volleyball and games by the pool were fun. Drinks were plentiful, if watered down (a nice tip helps alleviate this issue) I had trouble finding soda water for a mixer, that was a bit strange.
Restaurants need facitlies upgraded. Had the breakfast buffet, which was plentiful, and they had a made to order omelette station. The Asian restaurant had surprising good sushi, my husband had a steak and liked it. Otherwise we ordered room service that came in a timely fashion.
The rooms, ugh. It felt like a spring break hotel. The thinnest linens I have ever experienced. Scratchy towels. Luke warm water in the shower. Ants on the patio.

The staff was very attentive at all the bars. We had fun at the sixties disco. All the music played at the bars caters to Americans (country/pop). A lot of advertisments for outside clubs (ie. Foam Parties, Club hopping) all over the resort, again giving it a "spring breaker" feel. The small activites staff was fun and welcoming.

All that being said, you get what you pay for, and unfortunately we have paid less to stay at nicer places. Our general consensus is that it is in the process of being sold or closing : (

Room Tip: A higher ocean view room would be worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,536
    1,024
    366
    206
    145
See reviews for
144
1,628
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Me and my Honey spent a week at the Golden from Nov 3rd -10th. check in was a breeze the front desk staff was very friendly and no issues with them being rude as some have stated in the past.
We had a lagoon view room on the 5th floor as requested and there were no issues with it ,the bed was very comfortable and the air cond. and shower all worked fine.
We ate at all the specialty restaurants and they all were very good with the steakhouse being our favorite, the no need to make a resveration for dinner was so nice, not to be on any schedule. We always had breakfast at the buffet and there were many choices to choose from, the 24hour snack bar was very good as well ( with the cheeseburgers being the best ever).
The beach was beautiful, however a bit slanted for walking made it hard on your ankles and the rough sea made it a bit of a challange to swim, where as you needed to use caution
The entertainment staff did a wonderful job to get all involved in the activities around the pool and the beach.
The TIKI bar was the most popular spot either during the day or evening or into the wee hours for those that wanted, all the bartenders did a wonderful job, and worked there "butts" off.
One day a blow up doll showed up around the Tiki Bar/ pool area that was a great hit ( not sure if someone brought him in or if the resort had it there).
Overall it was a great trip and a good value and we would return maybe as early as March2013.
If you decide to go I'm sure you will not regret it . Enjoy your Travels

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hotel for couples and you will never be bored. So much happening in this hotel that time flies. We would love to go back for another stay. By the way, everyone that we spoke to could only comment about how much they loved the rooms, location and feel of this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What makes this place special?. It is not the old furniture in the rooms, Not the WiFi which they charge you for. Not the breakfast Buffet which has no bagles, english Muffins or bagels. Not bacon which is so well done and putt out early which doesn't taste good. It is everything else about the resort. The staff is great., the activities always seems to be happening around the pool. Water vallyball twice a day. One of the volleyballs is tequila volleyball. If myou mess up you get a shot of watered down tequila. Beach volleyball once a day. Beerpong played in the pool on a floating table, Bingo, They even had a baby lion to take pictures with. The lunch and dinner's are excellent. The lunch buffwt has three stations including: Italian, Mexican (faiters) and Chinese. They also have sushi. They have 4 alacarte restaurants for dinner including a steakhouse with fine cuts of meat. The bars are open by 9 AM including one on the beach. The beach has plenty of palapas and some beach service. The resort is small enough that you get to meet other adults and there are are a wide variety of ages from 20's through 60's. I would tell anybody who is thinking of staying here to book a club room. It is worth the extra money. You get a stocked minibar that is refreshed everday, a true two person jettedtub, one room servie meal and a lunch trip on the bay which was alot of fun. Your armband is even different which identifys you as a VIP. They will print your return boarding passes for you free. I do want to pointout that this resort is owned by the same family that owns Golden crown Paradise in Puerto Vallarta., Mexico. There are a lot of similar items in this hotel as that one

Room Tip: Get a clubroom. See above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have been to Mexico many times but this was our first trip to the Golden Parnassus. Everyone in our group of eight was pleased with the resort. The staff at the GP was incredible. They tried to please everyone, the were friendly and funny.

The food was good, beautiful beach, and the place was kept very clean. We would definitely go back.

We did visit the sister hotel Great Parnasuss and didn,t care for it. It felt like a concrete jungle.

Room Tip: We had a lagoon view room and it was fine. I would recomend to ask for an upper floor room as the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I went here with a group in July 2010. Everything was wonderful. We upgraded to lagoon view club rooms. The free lunch "booze" cruise was so much fun! The entertainment is very good. The food is good. The beach is good. The service is good. The drinks are good. I will bring my boyfriend here soon!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club room with the double jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 5th trip to the Golden. Before we found this little "gem", we vacationed at several other resorts throughout the area. We have definately found our 2nd home. I don't think that we would be happy going anywhere else. The service is top notch. Jose, Fonzy, Carlos, Memo, Luis, Oscar, Moses, Perfecto, Marina...just to name a few...you guys make us feel as if we are truly on vacation with our 2nd family. We met friends from past years, and made new friends. This is another reason we love it here. The resort is small, so you get to meet lots of people. The food was good as always. I was happy that Pier 12 was open a few days for lunch. There is enough variety that you don't get tired of the same thing. Maru is a wonderful asset to the resort. She is very helpful and will answer any questions you may have. If you are looking for a small resort, in a great area, good food and drink, wonderful staff, nice beach and pool area...look no further.

Room Tip: Higher up..better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5, Retorno San Miguelito, Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only. Formerly Golden Crown Paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.