We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment to your Saves list
Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pok ta Pok Lote1 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here for New Year's Eve. It was my first time in Cancun and my very first experience there was this place which was awful! Firstly, it was very hard to find because there is no clear signage once you are on Pok ta Pok. After finally finding it and checking in, our "suite" was disgustingly filthy! It was clear no one had cleaned the room before we got there.They simply made the beds and took out the trash.There were four used soap bars in our bathroom alone and two more in the other bathroom along with empty shampoo bottles. There was sand all over the floors, couches, tables, and counter tops, and dirty pans left on top of the stove! You could literally see the food that was caked on the pan. I'd be surprised if they even washed the bedding since they too looked dirty. Thankfully, I always pack our Cocoon sheets so we didn't have to lay on their filthy sheets. We had to keep asking for towels because according to them, "they were being washed" and were not ready yet. The next morning my boyfriend went to get the continental breakfast which was included and they still charged him although later the lady was nice enough to come by, admit her mistake, and give him his money back. After being out all day, we came back and they had swept up the floor and it smelled a little nicer, but they still left the used bars of soap there. It was one of the worse hotel experiences I've had by far and it made for a crappy New Year's Eve and New Year's morning. As soon as I got there I wanted to leave. Do not stay here!!!!!

Room Tip: none of the rooms would be a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Gaviotas H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
First of all we really apreciated your comments.
That help us to know all the opportunity aoreas to improve.
Be sure that we take note of every comment you send us and we are taking care of every single one.
Hope that you accept our deepest apologies and give us the opportunity to receive you. We will give you 2 complimentary nts ( 01 dbl room).
Sincerely,
Gaviotas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with my family to spend New Year in Cancún.

First, we had to ask for towels every single day. I'm pretty sure this hotel does not have enough towels for the whole rooms. One morning after taking a shower, I noticed the towel had a big hole!! But of course I kept using it and did not complain about it since it was difficult having a towel for each one in my room.

Second, my aunt's room air conditioner was not working, they said someone was going to take care of the air conditioner, but this person never showed up, I'm sure the air conditioner still does not work.

Silverware in our kitchen had water stain. We had a broken blender and did not had a microwave.

One of my aunt's towel dissapeared, probably the maid took it without knowing it belonged to us and not belonged the hotel even though it was a different colour than the towels the hotel gave us. However, my aunt complained about it and the housekeeper gave her another towel.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Gaviotas H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Avila,

First of all thanks for visiting the Gaviotas hotel and suites in Cancun.
In reference to your comments, we experienced a very high occupancy during Christmas and New Years season. We offer you an apology for the towel issue, I assure you that this problem was already solved and look forward to receiving you again and make your stay comfortable and memorable.
Kind Regards from
Gaviotas Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulle, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed in there and the only kind person was the guard that received us, we tought it would be a kind of hotel, you know "suites" but they didn't gave us not even the toilet tissue, all the services such as electricity, water, etc where extra charge, the washing machine was little less than 3 dollars each, and they had a very little capacity, we signed an unread contract, that was unethical because they were supposed to read each part of the contract with the person who signed it up and they were also supposed to gave us a copy of such contract, as I was not the person who igned it up me and my other roommates didn't knew that it was a hosting contract rather than a rental agreement and we noticed when the owner wanted to got out one of our roommates. Before that we got some friends that went from Playa del Carmen and it was pretty late so we asked them to stay with us, we were waked up by the owner, HE entered the "suite" saw slept people on the living room, ignored them and went into the principal room where I was sleep with two of my FEMALE roommates and our guest who slept in her dress, he don't even knocked the door and entered the room screaming that we were robbing him, when I came out to the living room the police was on our door, I was shocked and then we were told that one of our roommates that was on the pool from 6 to 8 was got by the police, we arived at 5 that night, I admit he could be noisy but, was that really necessary to call the police and enter our room in that way?

Ah! and just for the record it was at about 1.5km from the bus stop.

It doesn't have nor restaurant nor gym, and the pool is ok for kids, but it is pretty small if you wanna swim.

THE WORST EXPERIENCE IN MY LIFE

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Gaviotas H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Any91

Hope this message reach you well.
Regarding to your message @ the gaviotas hotel and suites the security and tranquility of our guests is very important to Us, Unfortunately we did feel the need to contact the owner and the police as the result of all the noise that you and your extra 4 friends brought at 4 am in the morning.
The security department warned you in several times, also we are known as a quiet place where families stay and we want to continue with this line.
We are deeply sorry that we did not deliver a memorable experience at this time, but we need to respect other Guest.

Warm Regards from
Gaviotas Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lovely hotel. Right in between the hotel zone and downtown Cancun. Taxi's right outside to take you anywhere you want to go and not expensive, with a bus stop at the end of Pok-ta-Pok to take you either in to Downtown or the Hotel Zone.

Nearest beach, Tortugas, was around a 25 minute walk, but as you are walking through the golf club, its a pretty nice place to walk so not really a problem.

Hotel was cleaned every day and there was always someone there clearing up. Pool was really nice, had a very shallow end you could just sit in with your drinks and a deeper end for having a proper swim. You have a gorgeous view of the golf course whilst in the pool. If you wanted a little shade from the hot sunshine, you could get under the Pagoda, with free wifi throughout the hotel. Every room has A/C.

The hotel, itself was perfect for a quiet getaway, due to being on the lagoon side of Cancun rather than right in the hotel zone.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Gaviotas H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Simon

Muchas gracias por tomarse el tiempo para escribir sus comentarios sobre nuestro hotel, realmente lo aprecioamos.

Esperamos que en un futuro podamos recibirlo nuevamente en Cancun.

Saludos cordiales,

Las Gaviotas Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you're looking for the crazy Cancun experience, this hotel may not be for you. My friend and I stayed here and still were able to party but we had to pay between $100 and $200 pesos to go anywhere so it may be worth staying in main area. During the day, we walked but if you don't like to walk, you will hate it.

The staff was nice. Not a lot to say since it was a more apt set up than a hotel. They were good at giving recs for food and calling cabs but nothing too special. The pool was small but relaxing. The hotel part had small rooms and the balcony was barely a balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Gaviotas H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Molly,

Thanks for taking the time to write your recommendations and comments about our property, we really appreciate it and hope to serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Las Gaviotas Hotel and Suites
Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment

Address: Av. Pok ta Pok Lote1 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Gaviotas hotel and Suites is a beautiful 4-story property Mediterranean style Cancun overlooking the Nichupte lagoon, Cancun's hotel zone and Pok Ta Pok golf. We offer you 35 exclusive apartments and penthouses with 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large living room, dining room, fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, Internet, 24 hour surveillance, Marina, Pool, parking, daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.