We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Art Deco Suites to your Saves list
Art Deco Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Rosas 36 | SM22, MZA22, L-3, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

This place has a lot of character,the monthly rent at 5450 mexican pesos make this cozy inn the most affortable yet quality rooms in cancun that i have found,it s mostly a mixture of europeans and north americans tourists and savy travellers as well,they might not be huge studios but it is adequate ,it has an nice courtyard with a BBQ and a full kitchen for the want to be cordon bleue(chef).The rooms are super clean and the owner want to keep it that way as everyone is reponsible to keep it up,on the contrary of the last few so so reviews,i did not have any problems getting my deposit back,this place is great for budjet mind traveller that is looking for comfort, modern rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zenman44, Manager at Art Deco Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We are grateful for such a kind review from a very experienced world traveler! We work hard to offer unmatched value for the Dollar and are flattered when the hard work is remarked upon! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Art Deco Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    25
    3
    6
    7
See reviews for
5
27
45
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

The place is clean and well-kept. It's located conveniently a few minutes' walk from the bus station where the airport shuttle arrives, on a side street where Cancun's clamor and deafening nightclub music (which booms all night long) is somewhat softer. "Suites" is not the word for its rooms, though. Our room was rather small and all its furniture consisted of a bed, a chest of drawers, one chair and a foldable table barely big enough to put two plates on.
The monthly price is a good bargain, but you also have to leave the owner a deposit equal to one month's rent. Although we were in intensive correspondence with the owner over six months before arrival, it was not until we came that we were told we had to enter into a "rental agreement", which is in fact a long list of "don't do" rules plus a few additional charges and requirements. Failing to follow one or more of them may entail the loss of all or part of your deposit. Well, we were good boys and incurred no penalties, but the owner refused to take our deposit in dollars or euros, only in pesos. As a result, when the deposit was returned, we ended up with a pile of local money on a Sunday evening, when all decent shops were closed. As we were leaving the country in the early hours of Monday, there were two options for us: either to buy a bag of trash at local "flea markets" or to convert the money back to hard currency at a considerable loss (because the exchange rates here are very unfavorable).
Remember, you'll have to pay the electricity bill at a rate of 3 pesos/KwH (which, I hear, is several times the official rate in Cancun), so don't forget to check the meter reading on day 1 (ours differed unfavorably from that in the contract, and the owner corrected it when told so). I rated "service" as 1 out of 5, because there's no service apart from the cleaning of the common area. Bedsheets or towels are not changed; moreover, you'll have to pay for their washing in the end. You have to have your bedspread dry-cleaned or again pay the owner for cleaning (I recommend going to a local launderette, as their price is less than a half of what the owner will charge you). For objectivity's sake, all those charges taken together are not that big if your consider the modest price of your stay. Also, it is to the owner's credit that he was rather nice and ready to give advice some of which was useful indeed.
As a summary, if you opt for the place, demand to be shown the "rental agreement" before you remit any money or set out on your journey to Cancun.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zenman44, Manager at Art Deco Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We are grateful for the time you took in writing a review. As you noted, you received your entire deposit back without any problems - which is the case virtually all the time. Though it used to be different, foreign currency is no longer easily dealt with at Mexican banks, which is why the rent, deposit, etc.. are in Mexican Pesos exclusively (where one renting in Moscow, I am sure Mexican Pesos would not be accepted either). Rental contracts are the norm when letting an apartment anywhere in the world, and Cancun is no different. The contract makes for a no-nonsense stay, free of surprises for both parties. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale hts il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I have stayed at the Art Deco before so I didn't even look any place else.At the Art Deco the rooms are new and clean.The owner is always happy to help you with anything you might need.The grounds keeper is a good man and keeps the Art Deco in tip top shape, and he will do anything you ask of him. Their is a nice court yard with a bar b que and its a very nice place to sit and talk with your neighbors.Everything you need is in walking distance the Ado bus terminal,dinning, night life, grocery and other shopping are all just a few minutes down the road.I will be returning to the Art Deco to spend the winter in the new year.Hop to see you there!!!!

A Happy Customer
Jesse De

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zenman44, Manager at Art Deco Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
You are so kind to take the time in writing such a nice review! We are flattered that you have chosen to stay with us on several of your visits to Cancun! See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

This is a great no frills place to base your adventures.
Super close to the Bus Station (ADO), and gathering of smaller mini-buses.
Quiet, no party people. Simple shared kitchen. Good WiFi.
No maid service (so your stuff feels safer).
The owner is Mexican by seems American, knows our needs and is supper helpful.
This is the place for reasonable people. It is not your high-end bake on the beach place or people

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zenman44, Manager at Art Deco Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
It was great hosting you during your trip to learn Kite Surfing! We hope that you come back soon to practice your great sport on our beautiful turquoise waters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

The Art Deco Suites have all the amenities if not more than any hotel situated in the hotel zone with an added benefit - they are extremely economically priced! The complex is strategically located in the heart of downtown and is a short 3 minute walking distance to the main ADO bus station where you can easily hop on a bus to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, and Chichen Itza for between $3-8 dollars each way! In addition to staying in central Cancun, you can truly experience all the authentic restaurants you will not find in the hotel zone...The neighbors were all friendly, sociable and often invited to eat or join for a night in the town. Overall, I highly recommend the Art Deco Suites to solo travelers or couples as it will be money well spent!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zenman44, Manager at Art Deco Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are flattered by your kind review, thank you for taking the time to let others know what to expect at Art Deco Suites. We look forward to seeing you again when you return from South America!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Room was clean and exactly as represented in the photo. Without a doubt would stay here again. Price, location and honestly of the owner are all spot on and it was a great value for money! Close to shops, restaurants and discos. Also great pharmacy near by.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zenman44, Manager at Art Deco Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
It is always such a pleasure hosting great people like yourself and your lovely girlfriend! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! See you next time you are in Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I had a wonderful vacation and I am confirmed again to stay there for two weeks in December with friends. Art Deco Suites is a new modern place for fun and frolic. Handy to everything in downtown Cancun and lots to do. Absolutely stunning decor, just check out their website.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zenman44, Manager at Art Deco Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
So happy that everything was good for you here! We look forward to seeing you again in the winter when the snow is falling in Toronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Suites

Address: Calle Rosas 36 | SM22, MZA22, L-3, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Deco Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Deco Suites Cancun offers Short & Long term furnished studio apartments in the vibrant downtown district of Cancun. Walking distance to most everything downtown and just a 3 minute walk to the ADO bus station. All the comforts of home like an Über Fast Internet Connection, free long distance calling to US and Canada,unlimited hot water, cable TV, quality cotton linens and towels, and really cold air conditioning. We are the first choice for Internet freelancers and other place-independent Digital Nomads. Here at Art Deco Suites, you really can work and live on the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Deco Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.