We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Costa Cancun to your Saves list
Barcelo Costa Cancun
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan km. 4.5, | Lote D7 5 Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #39 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
DUNLAP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Barceló Costa. We arrived on March 29th and departed on April 2nd. We had a great time. The staff members were all very friendly and the food was really good. The place was clean and someone was always scrubbing something. The place was pretty quiet. We love that we did not have to fight for a chair by the pool, on the beach or in any restaurant. We especially like Pepe the waiter in the main restaurant and Bernardo the bartender in the lobby bar. They both went out of way to provide awesome service. I would go back!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor. This was awesome for us with 2 teenage boys because there in a 24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASIST DIR BARCE... C, Asistente de Gerencia at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Amy K,

Hope you are doing great.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our service in Barcelo Costa, its always gratifying to read that our guests had a memorable experience. You can have for sure that we will let Pepe and Bernardo know they are doing a good job.
We try to have everything clean in order to provide a better experience, its good to know that you appreciate it.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    881
    451
    247
    196
See reviews for
500
903
80
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

First time in Barcelo Costa Cancun! This Resort is amazing! We are having a a fantastic time with our family! The staff is very very friendly! It's a great place to bring your kids! Irania and Natasha are fantastic babysitters! My kids love them! They are loving and caring and always making sure that our kids are taken care of! Overall this place is paradise! The food is delish! The entertainment is great! Thumbs up to Pepe and Gualberto from The Albatroz Restaurant!!! They always made sure our kids had a good time and also excellent servers!! We will miss everyone in this resort!! Thumbs up to Ivan!! He made sure my body was hurting from aqua fitness!! Enrique!! Thanks for the volleyball games you are a great player!! I strongly recommend this place to anyone who wants to fell at home!!! The beach is just great!! Sunrise is breathtaking! You can miss that if you are up early take the time to watch the sun rise!!!! The rooms are very clean!!!

10* to this paradise!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASIST DIR BARCE... C, asistente de Gerencia at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear MizzSarita,

Hope this answer finds you well.

First of all, we want to thank you for this amazing review, its always good to us to hear from our guests so we can congratulate the people who is making our visitors have a good experience during their stay.

Barcelo Costa Cancun is always raising the standard in hotel service, we have improved from guests opinions and we are thankful because you gave us the opportunity to serve you.

Its pleasant for us to see that Irania, Natasha,Pepe, Guilberto and Enrique are doing a great job, we will let them know, also, that your kids had a blast here.

Hope to serve you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We went away over Christmas 2013 for two weeks, we had 1 week of rain, but good entertainment still went on thanks to ENRIQUE OSNAYA he got everyone to join in with activities, he was brilliant, food was very good. Something for every one ,Mexican restaurant was very good, must say the staff were very friendly . bar staff whether around the pool,on the beach, or in the bar as soon as you sat down a waiter/waitress would be there to take you're order. we met a lot of lovely people..the pirate ship is a must, lobster and steak was fantastic, rooms were very clean , plenty of space fridge re-stocked daily, would defiantly come back to this hotel again, I would like to thank everybody at barcelo costa for making our stay very welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASIST DIR BARCE... C, Asistente at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Deborah W,

Thank you very much for your 5stars review.
It is wonderful to read you had a great stay with us and were impressed by our service, food and friendly staff, especially Enrique Osnaya. I will make sure to share your positive comment with him.
We look forward to welcome you back the next time you are in Cancún.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauguay quebec
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

arrived March 31 2014, for a week, just after the spring break, there was still a lot of youth peoples but very nice ones, doing some fun and doing some animation to the place, because I guess the animation team was tired after a month of party! So the week was quiet, nice weather, and all the staff is nice!, even the reception desk, so if you read they were not, it is not true!
The place is clean and even the public toilet were very very clean. Food was good, did not try the a la carte,, but the buffet had theme every night!
If I ever go back to Cancun, I will go there for sure
Go with a positive attitude, put a smile onyour face and you will have a nice vacation

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASIST DIR BARCE... C, Asistente at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Suetreoda,
Thank you for your wonderful comment. It makes us happy to read that you had an enjoyable vacation and were able to write such nice things regarding the food and the staff.
We would be delighted to see you here again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Me and 5 of my girlfriends stayed here in March 2014 for a birthday celebration and we had a blast! We are in our late 20's to early 30's and this spot was just right for us.

The Resort:

Rooms were clean however our room was super humid, every night we returned to our room it felt like our sheets were wet. Try leaving the fan on while you are out to avoid this. We were on the 4th floor and I always recommend not being on the ground level, a few nights we did see cockroaches outside of our rooms - never inside however there is always a chance of bugs getting into your room.

The balconies are super small, we ended up with one without a hammock however 2 of the girls upgraded to a Jacuzzi room and it was fantastic. I think it's worth the upgrade, there is more room and the outside Jacuzzi makes for great pictures!

Food

This is my first time traveling away where I did not enjoy the food, we always slept in and missed breakfast and ended up eating the lunch and dinner buffets. Don't make the same mistake we did, get up for breakfast and stuff yourself because that's the best food you'll have. We made it to the Spanish restaurant one night and the food wasn't bad so try to get a seat at the specialty restaurants for dinner.

If you can, stay away from the sports bar food you will just feel gross after eating it as it's been sitting for a while unless you enjoy eating greasy low grade burgers.

By the way there was no guacamole - what's up with that?

Beach/Pool

There is barely a beach however there are always chairs available which is awesome. In past trips at different resorts you have to fight people for a seat. Same goes for the pool area you will always find a place to lounge and the pool is clean. During the day there was a staff entertainer trying to hype things up but we never saw much of a crowd.

Staff

Let me say the staff is awesome, we were pretty friendly with everyone and they made an honestly effort to have fun with us. Although I don't remember everyone's name I'd like to thank Bety, Enrique, Miguel, Pepe , Ada and Luis for being so full of energy and always smiling! When I was in a jam my girl Bety was there to save the day so don't ever feel like you can't ask the staff for help.

Nightlife

Cancun night life is always a good time. A cab ride in a car will cost you about $20 one way and if you are taking a van it will be around $30. The car ride itself is about 10 minutes long. We opted to travel ourselves to the clubs however the hotel will hook you up with bus rides and tickets to where you want to go. In terms of cost you will end up spending $80 to $30 depending on how popular the club is. Definitely check out Mandela, the outside clubs are the best as you can imagine it gets hot quick with hundreds of people dancing.

I would say for the time period we went there were more younger groups of males at the resort although there were families there as well. For the price you will end up with a younger crowd so it depends on what you are looking for. Overall if I were traveling with a group of party people I would definitely stay at this resort again. If you are looking for a romantic spot as a couple or a family type resort maybe try another place. Also once you are there you will love it so avoid staying less than a week. Once the sun hits your face you'll regret leaving after 5 days like we did!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Barceló during your trip to Cancun. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.

We are very happy to know you had an amazing time with us, we would feel very honored to welcome you again so please let us know about your next trip, to make it even better


Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

What a great trip. We had great service from all servers and bartenders. Raul was a great bartender that made our stay very memorable. Beautiful ocean view, great dinner options and was truly an all inclusive resort. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kindly comments. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and we are delighted to have met your expectations.

We are glad you enjoyed our atmosphere and variety of food since we work really hard to make our guests feel comfortable and make sure they have an amazing time with us. It make us happy that you enjoy your time with our entertainment team I´ll be glad to give them your congratulations.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 2 weeks in November 2013. How anyone can give this less than 5 I'm unsure, food service location staff rooms all excellent. Rooms are really big clean and well equipped with free safe fridge with cans of coke beer and water etc restocked everyday for free, food was always hot and fresh with a wide variety, Mexican restaurant was our personal favourite (maybe the tequila) everyone around the hotel was kind always smiling and would always say hi as they walked past, Bernard at the beach bar deserves a special thanks, making sure we never had a empty glass and shots etc, beach on hotel was clean but if your I recommend going to beach behind coco bongo!! Was like a screen saver! Hotel was located perfectly everything was a 5 minute bus ride away, over all I would recommend this hotel strongly!! I've been Many places and this one will be tough to beat!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASIST DIR BARCE... C, Asistente at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear DannyandLauren,
Thank you very much for visiting Barceló Costa Cancún. It was our sincerest pleasure to welcome you as our guests.
We are glad to read you had a great stay with us and grateful for your compliments regarding our services and staff, especially Bernard. I will be sure to share your kind comment with him.
Wish you both come back soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Costa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Costa Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan km. 4.5, | Lote D7 5 Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Costa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Costa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Cancun
Gran Costa Real
Costa Real Cancun
Barcelo Costa Cancun Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Costa Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.