We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Costa Cancun to your Saves list
Barcelo Costa Cancun
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan km. 4.5, | Lote D7 5 Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #40 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This resort is full of amazing staff and fun things to do. About 5 minute bus ride to the clubs. It feels safe on the resort as well. The beach is good, and cleaned up daily.
The food here is okay, it tasted a little under cooked at times, but there is always food available in the upstairs lounge such as hot dogs and pizza.
Over all I had an amazing experience here and the the staff was nothing but amazing. I recomend it for a family vacation and a vacation with friends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, marketing Office at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Costa Cancún It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    881
    451
    247
    196
See reviews for
499
901
80
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Barcelo Costa Cancun. The staff really stood out as being excellent and very attentive, particularly at the bars, and the drinks included in the all inclusive package were great. The resort was kept very clean and in a nice area of Cancun as it was far enough away to have a relatively quiet beach area, but only a 5 minute bus journey to the 'party zone' (and the buses run all night and only cost 40p!).
However, two things really let us down: reception and the terrible food! We dined at all of the al a carte restaurants and the buffet restaurant. The buffet food was terrible, always cold and not a very good selection at all. However, we gave them the benefit of the doubt as we know buffet food is not always of great standards. The al a carte restaurants were just as bad though, serving bad quality, cold and tasteless food. The last straw for us was when i was served blue, completely raw, prawns in their 'seafood' restaurant, and it was meant to be the 'chefs special'. Luckily I noticed before I bit into any as this could have made me very ill and spoiled my holiday otherwise. Therefore, we didn't risk it again and ate out from then on. This disappointed us as, being on an all inclusive package, we didn't expect to have to spend money to eat out each night. Breakfast was ok, lunch was just as bad as dinner though.

The second complaint we had was about the reception. Although the staff were reasonably friendly at reception, the reception manager was very hard to track down and the staff didn't seem to have a clue what was going on. There was always a big queue and they were very inefficient. Following the blue prawn incident, we made a complaint, but spent a long time being passed from person to person before anything was dealt with. This was disappointed as all other staff, including bar staff and housekeeping etc, were all great.

Overall I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay, but would not recommend it if you plan to eat in their restaurants regularly, or as an all inclusive as the food was appalling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Costumer

Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered issues during your stay. Could you please help up with more information about your stay with us like stay dates, under what name the reservation was, also if you remember the room number.


Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter and hope to have an opportunity to change this bad impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We at room 117. Ground floor big patio that was just off the stage. We could watch the shows from our patio. The room was large enough for 3 adults. The shower was huge. We had a handicap room, which was fine. There is not enough space in a dresser to put your clothes and the closet only has half a rod because the safe takes up the other half. The pool needs to be redone. The tiles are coming off and it is well worn. They only put the fountain in the pool on 1 day. The buffet was very repetitive for breakfast and lunch and if you want bacon you have to ask for it from their hidding place and even then they may not have it. I have never been given roast turkey for breakfast before. They tried. We ate at all 3 other restuants for dinner and we all had great food. The service is fantastic and all the workers have great attitudes. Never came accross any rudeness. The beach was ok. Would have like to be were we would have had the big waves. Because of this location being accross from the island we were sheltered from big waves. Be prepared if you leave after noon not to be able to eat or get a drink after you must leave your room. they take your bracelet then tell you if you want to have lunch at the buffet it will cost you $15 US. That buffet is not worth it. The pool waitress offered us ice water which was very nice. We hade 2 hours to wait for out ride to the airport so it would have been nice to have lunch before we left. Would not stay here again only due to the location. Would rather be further down the strip and not so far into town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, marketing Office at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Costumer,

Greetings from Barceló Costa Cancún It was a pleasure to have you with us. We appreciate taking time to review our services, and I am glad you have rated most of our services very high.


We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in January with my husband and we were both very impressed with this hotel , like most hotels in cancun it was on the beach which was lovely , lots of free sunbeds, most with shades . The beach bar was just a few steps away from the sunbeds , serving any drink you want all day and night . The sea was pleasantly warm , you could use the kayaks on the beach at no charge . We were right next door to the ferry port for the Isla mujeres ferry which left frequently for a really good day at the island . The hotel poolside was very clean and relaxing with fabulous waiter service , bringing you drinks at your request while not having to move from your sunbed ( be sure to tip) . The four restaurants within the hotel offered a big variety of food which was delicious , again you get well looked after by the waiters who are are all very polite and friendly . The bedrooms were a good size with either a pool view or sea view , minibar was stocked daily with beer, water , soft drinks , nuts and chocolate biscuits . Also coffee machine. We used the gym a few times which was well equipped and I also had a massage in the spa which was won by my husband in a golf game ( games daily beside the pool) . The massage was amazing ! Every evening there was some sort of entertainment by the pool , magic show , singers and dancers. There are so many things to do in cancun that you will never be bored . We loved the speedboat ride and snorkelling trip ( although cold on the way back after 45 mins snorkelling , so take a couple of towels to wrap around you if you do this tour ) . I would highly recommend this hotel and resort to anyone wanting to visit Mexico .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Costumer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Costa Cancún It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,

It would be a pleasure to have you with your family on a longer break soon.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you want a hotel for long walks on a beach this is not for you. A small beach area BUT with an abundance of lounges (no rushing to save here) and full of palm tress creating a canopy of shade. The beach area is adjacent to the entrance to the lagoon and so you have an endless parade of boats all day long. Beach is hand raked and cleaned daily.
Buffet was very good, menu change daily crowded and noisy at times. Enjoyed the 3 restaurants with repeat visits..Excellent food and service.
Night time entertainment was varied and fair to good. Not vegas style but what do you expect for that price?
Pool area clean, lots and lots of loungers.
Staff were excellent. quick to assist, helpful - pleased with our service.
My big BEEF!! The charges for wifi- yes you should pay if you want individual room connection- but not for common areas like the pool,beaqch or buffet. Way behind the curve here with resorts elsewhere. But not to worry, with a little luck go to the beach and you can pick up free wi fi signals from the hotels across the way..
We have stayed in Barcelo hotels prev, had good experiences and so picked this one for Cancun.
You are a short bus trip away from the markets and downtown . AND I really enjoyed not being hassled for timeshares here.

Room Tip: They have an out door stage set up against one building. I would think the noise there at night wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Costumer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Costa Cancún It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,

It would be a pleasure to have you with your family on a longer break soon.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel in the past and was disappointed with this recent visit 2/7/13-2/13/13. I am afraid I will not return to this hotel.

#1Room-- Booked the Junior suite with jacuzzi was given room 661, top floor corner ocean view, beautiful views. The room was clean, linens changed daily, maid service was excellent. Bed was comfortable. The room refrigerator was stocked with 4 hot beers each day, I would recommend you chill your beer before placing in the minifridge. However, the ventilation system is connected to other rooms and throughout the day and night we would be overcome with cigarette smoke in our room. It was disgusting and wound up having to leave the doors and windows open most of the time. Do not plan on taking a shower between the hours of 7-9A or 5-7P as the water pressure is nonexistent and you will only have cold water. The jacuzzi on the terrace is nice however it took 1.5 hours to fill and once it was filled the water was so dirty with sand it was not appealing to bathe in. Also, if you use the jacuzzi, please put down towels all along the floor, perhaps it will save you the terrible fall I took.

#2 Food - Do not go to DonQuixote...2 hours to serve a preset menu, not acceptable and the food was not good at all. Paella that has no seafood in, rice that is not cooked through. Yuck. The Mexican and Seafood restaurants were okay, nothing to rave about. For breakfast Claraboya is a bright spot primarily because of the service. Buffet restaurant is what you would expect. The 24 hour food service provided sandwiches of cheese and tomato with fruits and veg available. This was our option many days. Also, if you order a bottle of wine, you will be receiving Woodbridge, $10.00 at home, plan to pay $30.00.

#3 Service - Arrival and check in was facilitated easily, we arrived at 9PM. Reception staff is very indifferent to the customers. Did not have a welcoming attitude at all. The bar tenders at the beach bar are quite nice but there are only 2 working at a time and they are too busy to provide what I would call stellar service. We are good tippers and provided tips for every drink we received. But they are overwhelmed much of the time with customers. The lobby bar staff was verging on the edge of rudeness. They have a very indifferent attitude toward customers and are not opposed to ignore you. There was an elevator that would serve our area of the hotel that was inoperable the entire stay and appeared to have been that way for some time. Not acceptable. Also, $9.00 per hour/24h to use the computer also seems excessive.

#4 Pool&Beach - The pool was kept very clean and has lots of chairs and umbrellas. The beach area is very small and the chairs are packed very close together. Area is kept clean, swimming area is very small and is about chest deep. Lots of boat traffic in the beach area because there is a doc adjacent to the property.

#5 Tours - I booked a tour of Tulum through the Barcelo concierge and it was booked with an "independent" company. They arrived for pickup 40 minutes late. Then the bus load of us were transported to the Wet n Wild where we were told get off the bus and find the bus that was for our tour. Once done, we struggled to find a seat as the bus was already at max occupancy. We traveled the 1.5 hours to Tulum and were provided with a rushed walk through the site with very little history or information relayed to us in very poor English. We were then left on our own for an hour and a half to wander through the site and go to their shops. The drop off to our hotels were done a block away from each hotel. I would adivse you use Lomas, Best Day or Thomas Cooke to book your tours. Do not book with Barcelo for your tours.

Sad we will not be returning, we have enjoyed this hotel in the past.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, marketing Office at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Costumer

Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered issues during your stay. Could you please help up with more information about your stay with us like stay dates, under what name the reservation was, also if you remember the room number.


Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter and hope to have an opportunity to change this bad impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Repetitive, cheap, boring, rooms too small!

Room upgrades are pricey also!!

Night time entertainement.. Crap! Very old fashioned! Ok for oldies.

Location not good!

Will return to Mexico but definitely not this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Barcelo Costa Cancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Costumer

Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered issues during your stay. Could you please help up with more information about your stay with us like stay dates, under what name the reservation was, also if you remember the room number.


Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter and hope to have an opportunity to change this bad impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Costa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Costa Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan km. 4.5, | Lote D7 5 Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Costa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Costa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Cancun
Gran Costa Real
Costa Real Cancun
Barcelo Costa Cancun Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Costa Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.