We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most at the price paid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Las Perlas Hotel

Save Saved
You added Imperial Las Perlas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Las Perlas Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Km 2.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than most at the price paid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Me and my girlfriend travelled here in September 2012. After our first booking to a better hotel in Cancun was messed up by Thomas Cook, and our deposit lost, we chose here, a it was cheap and looked good enough, so as we didn't have to miss out.

This hotel isn't the best available and there is room for improvement. However, the staff were very friendly, always happy to help and the rooms were extremely well looked after, with cable tv showing all of the Premiership footy.

The bar was brilliant, cocktails upon request, as well as beer, vodka, whiskey, mostly anything you could think of. The restaurant was okay. That is about the best thing I could say about it. It became a bit of a chore to eat there as the food, whilst not terrible, was only average and was exactly the same for lunch and dinner, near enough every night.

Overall, if you are looking for a cheaper hotel, this will be the best you can find. It has everything you could expect and more. However I would suggest eating out a few nights as to not get bored of the menu at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    125
    107
    78
    121
See reviews for
61
111
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

On our last night, after 2 lovely weeks traveling around the Mexican Carribean, we needed a place to sleep in Cancun before catching a plane the next morning. Cancun is ridiculously expensive compared to the rest of Riviera Maya, so we expected to overpay, but this place was a nightmare. Immediately on checking in, we were treated suspiciously. Most hotels (especially ones that charge over $100 per night in Mexico) treat their guests graciously. The staff was rude, the rooms were dark and cemented and felt like an old empty apartment. Sure, there was a cheesy kitchenette, but there weren't even cups. The view was nice, but seriously... Mexico is amazing. For $100 per night you can easily find beachfront luxury. Do NOT waste your time, money, or dignity here. Cheesy trash.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Owner at Imperial Las Perlas Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your time and review, we will talk about it next time in our weekly employee meeting.
Please note that our hotel is rated 3 star.

Regards
Imperial las Perlas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went there for the second time in about a year, the food and service was better this time. The room basiclly the same, Front Desk a bit better to. All in all the services were a notch higher this time. Remember it his a economic hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I struggle with my review because while I really want to give this hotel more stars, the dated age of this property doesn't allow for it. The important part is that the rooms are clean and free from bugs and the breakfast is decent. Apart from that everything else is just a matter of your need for luxury.
POOL/OCEAN
Pros: property right on the water, constant breeze makes the heat MUCH more bearable
Cons: daily tours keep the public dock and beach front area busy from 9-10 every morning. very few shaded areas or umbrellas (get there by 7am and you should be fine)
ROOMS:
Pros: Very clean, no insect, mosquito or bug problems, fridge, incredible views
Cons: dated, kitchenette useless except for the fridge, bed broken, toilet-no flushing pressure, small TV (but really is that why you're there?), hard beds
RESTAURANT/FOOD:
Pros: Breakfast-great variety with an egg/omelette station, friendly waiters, on the dock with great views of the ocean
Cons: Lunch and dinner- very odd foods and not much temperature control (warm salad, cold overcooked meat, etc.) need more variety and an additional restaurant, all-inclusive not worth it (unless you plan on drinking your money's worth)
CUSTOMER SERVICE:
Pros: courteous and friendly, free wi-fi in the lobby (but make sure to wear insect repellent here)
Cons: Staff does not go out of their way to help or offer assistance.

If you are here for over-the-top luxury then go somewhere else. If you are looking for a decent place and can overlook the dated attributes of this property and enjoy the ocean, then this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: Request an Ocean view room. It is really worth the extra expense. Also, keep in mind, there are no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Las Perlas Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank your for your time in review your stay with us, we´ll follow up every detail to be better every day...
Regards

Imperial las perlas Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Location was not bad ,beach was nice .Bar and restaurant service very poor .Room was very damp,moldy and cavernous. Restaurant looked great (lil Palapa on water) but was not .Over priced at $55.00 us a night ( walk in was over $100) too much for too little

Room Tip: dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A trip to Cancun my husband treated me to a weekend at the Imperial La Perlas. The room was only $93.00 a night. It had a sea view, balcony and even a kitchenette and fridge even a private entrance. This was beautiful and very comfortable. Staff was very friendly. This might not have been the Ritz but it was a great weekend treat and we enjoyed every second of it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a hotel very simple, nice, hotel. And as I read it here, you get what you pay. This is not a luxurious place, this is a hotel just for sleep.
I recommend to you, stay here, is cheap and clean, and go to other places to eat and and take a trip to explore cancun. I only saw native mexican people here.

Good points:
- cheap
- comfortable, soft mattress
- spacious room
- conditioned air
- quiet, the bar is not very crowded, only a couple hours because it closes early, and everybody to sleep
- great location, in the middle point between the cancun downtown, puerto juarez, night life as cocobongo, roo, playa delfines, plaza caracol, etc. You just have to take a public bus (route one or two) and you get there in five or ten minutes.
- clean
- the restaurant, is nice and fresh, it's over the sea
- the food is standard, not bad, it is good for breakfast, but do not expect variety, I strongly recommend to you to eat in other places, there's a lot of variety and very delicious things to eat out there.
- the beach is nice for staying for a whole day or afternoon, the finest and white sand
- front desk is attentive and friendly

Bad points:
- some rooms do not have refrigerator
- no ice !! can you believe this?, you have to buy your own ice from chedraui or walmart or ask for it in the bar, and not expect good treatment, they're goint to argue you that is only for the bar clients, what?
- the little store, everything's so expensive
- no close stores, the closest one is chedraui, you have to take a bus and in ten minutes you get there, you can find everything here, food, beer, wine, sunblock, name it
- Not so close from puerto juarez, you have to take a taxi or a tiny bus in order to get the route one that leaves you in the hotel door
- A sales person will try to stop you and call to your room for offering a trip or something, I didn't accept her invitation, just say that you have your own plans.
- There is a lot of seaweed in the beach, which is nice to stay a whole day or afternoon, but is not good for swimming, I do not understand why is so many seaweed if dailyI saw a man cleaning it, it multiplies by itself ?? or what?

Summary: stay here if your budget is not very high, use it for sleep, breakfast and go!! go to cancun, go to isla mujeres, beautiful places and beaches..

Room Tip: Rooms in the first floor are very practical, because you do not have to use the ladder, (no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Las Perlas Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank your for your time in review your stay with us, we´ll follow up every detail to be better every day...
Regards

Imperial las perlas Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Las Perlas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Las Perlas Hotel

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Km 2.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Imperial Las Perlas Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Cancun Hotel Zone near main attractionsOn the beachThis beachfront property is located in hotel zone, near Convention Centre. Another nearby point of interest is Wet´n Wild, and shopping areas.Only 15 minutes from International Airport. 50 minutes from XcaretHotel restaurantAt Imperial las Perlas recreational amenities include an outdoor pool and a children's pool. The hotel also features a restaurant and and pool side bar. We offer food and beverages a la carte.Balconies with viewsGuestrooms open to balconies with ocean, sea, pool views and limited views; feature televisions with satellite channels and air conditioning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Imperial Las Perlas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Las Perlas
Imperial Perlas Cancun
Imperial Las Perlas Cancun Mexico
Imperial Las Perlas Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Las Perlas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.