We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money & Kevin Wald is the BEST!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Las Perlas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Las Perlas Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Las Perlas Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Km 2.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great value for money & Kevin Wald is the BEST!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

My friend and I travelled to Cancun in March 2011, during the American springbreak. The hotel is very basic but nice. The breakfast area is absolutley lovely and the food is great. The staff are very friendly and the poolside is very lively and fun. There is a guy called Kevin Wald who is based at this hotel he provides you with all the information regarding nights out and offers fantastic deals including transportation. He really took care of us during our stay, he got us VIP tables at clubs with bottle service and also went to lengths to get us our favourite shots. People really exaggerate when they say that this hotel is very far from the club zone. You can hop on a bus fo next to nothing and will take you about 10 mins to get there or get a cab 5mins. Also this hotel is a short bus ride away from down town where we booked all our excursions for next to nothing and ate at lovely resturants which are very moderately priced. To all you party animals this is the hotel to stay out, its cheap and cheerful, good food, brilliant entertainment and because KEVIN WALD the party animal is based there. He really did make our stay even more enjoyable...we love you Kev!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDos, Manager at Imperial Las Perlas Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thank you, for your comments, look foward to welcome you again.
Regards from Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    149
    122
    89
    134
See reviews for
80
136
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Based on others' reviews we were hesitant to book here, after reading Tripadvisor.
Although a bit dated, we could see maintainence was good and ongoing. 3.5*
The location, view and staff are 5*
Meals n service were good, but a little boring after a few days, except for the restaurant being over the water. If you got kids, feeding the fish will be a highlight, just go early to get a table on the north side. ( bar side) 4*
Furnishings also dated, but sufficient, wife didn't like the stiff mattress, I did. No remote for the TV, bugged her, I didn't care. We checked sheets/mattress for stains n cleanliness, no problems. Lots of hot water, sometimes you had to wait for it. 3.5*
No wifi in the rooms, lobby A-OK.

Room Tip: Tip upfront when checking in.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I must admit, I was a very worried about returning to Las Perlas after reading the harsh reviews. I stayed here 9 yrs ago as a spring breaker and all seemed fine. I was hoping the bad reviews were people who expected to get a big bang for their buck. I mean literally the hotel was dirt cheap per night; located on the hotel zone, beach front w/ a breakfast buffet- I wasn’t asking for much for the low rate. I was not disappointed- it is a VERY average maybe slightly below average hotel; beds do not have box springs, towels are not soft, toiletries are not upgraded (so bring your own shampoo, towels, bath soap, etc. if you want fancy). But, the beds had sheets, comforters, pillows, the water temperature was perfect, etc. We were able to check out a blow dryer from the front desk, so we were content. There was a closet, but no hangers, so bring your own if you need them.
I really like the style of the hotel, very small and easy to get in and out of rooms, to the beach and eating area. The hotel has a quaint location, the beach is not the pretty blue water like further down the hotel zone, but it is still a beach with beautiful views and you don’t have to fight for beach side lounge chairs or pool side seating. If you manage to score a room with a balcony facing the beach you are lucky and will enjoy the room more.
The food is not great, but they did have an omelet chef at breakfast, so I took full advantage. And, they had fruit and coffee every morning that was great. I heard from other guests that if you decide later in your stay to upgrade to the all inclusive you can do so for $25 per day, but you have to upgrade for the rest of your stay. Which if you are going to stay at the hotel, it would be well worth it. But, we did not, we were in town for a wedding, and had private excursions, other trips planned each day. Which was another reason, we chose a budget hotel, because we knew we would not spend much time in it. But, we did spend a lot of time on their beach!
And, the bus stop to get downtown and to central hotel zone, etc. is just outside the door. Not bad for 8 pesos (80 cents) each way. If you want to be near the hussle and bustle of Cancun you can by a short bus ride.
Note, all rooms are difference some have kitchenettes, some only have mini-fridge.
The hotel did however try to charge us an extra “per person” fee at check-in. I explained to them that we had a pkg. deal, and they still said that through Travelocity there is a per person fee for over 2ppl per room is always charged; I called Travelocity and it was sorted out, however be aware- bring all your paperwork and have a phone that can dial out! Make sure to have your travel agent or travel companies international number handy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

a great place to start our holiday room comfortable and clean, right on the beach -nice breakfast overlooking the sea, after reading some of the reviews I was apprehensive but fears were unfounded spend a great couple of days here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We had a second floor room with balcony overlooking the pool. There were 3 of us staying. The room was spacious, the shower huge. The kitchen was minimally equipped with toaster and dishes/pots with a 2 burner stove (neither burner worked when we arrived) and a refrigerator. We told the front desk that the stove didn't work and went for supper. When we returned, one burner had been replaced which is all we needed to boil water for coffee, although we thought it strange that they wouldn't replace them both. (unless they only had the one new burner in stock.) The beds were very comfortable (firm), and we had a great sleep every night... the air conditioner gave us enough white noise to not hear the music from around the pool at night. Loved the balcony for reading, but it was often spoiled by other guests continually smoking beside us on their balconies. (not the hotel's fault we know) The pool was clean and a good temperature.

The restaurant is over the water on stilts with a thatched roof and with lots of airflow and we loved the location, but the food was not great. We'll eat almost anything, but couldn't stomach most of their cold, overcooked dishes. Breakfast had some kind of processed ham that tasted so disgusting, we called it "mousemeat". Avoid any food that has this chopped up in it! Food was barely warm, (probably because any heat was quickly blown away from the breezes off the ocean.)

Aside from the food, we were very comfortable and felt safe at all times. Nothing was stolen from our room and we had computers, cameras and cash. Wished we could have accessed internet from the room - it was only available from the lobby. Check in and out was a breeze, but they do put on those bracelets a notch too tightly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I'm usually fine with staying at cheaper hotels, but here I'd recommend paying the extra money to stay at a better hotel. The location was okay. We could hear everything that happened in the rooms next to and above us. Kevin, the party guy; was good but the rest of the service wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Our stay at imperial las perlas hotel could not have started worse; our party of five people arrived to the hotel half an hour after check-in had started and we expected to get our rooms on the spot. First of all the hotel staff had no idea that we were five instead of 4 and on top of that they told us we could get our rooms in 30 minutes. Of course we were not happy with this information and asked for our room immediately. We were told to wait for 5 minutes. After waiting that half an hour I went to the front desk and told i'd like to be taken to my room now, but all i got as a response was that we were more than free to cancel our stay and that the gentlemen next to me had been waiting for 8 hours now! After some moments we finally got our rooms, where beds had no pillow cases, floors were not clean and towels were missing. to top it all we had an open cleaning closet next to our door, which was open during our whole stay, including buckets of dirty water in front of our door, blocking the way. So that pretty much covers the cleanliness, service and rooms part. as for sleep quality; doors and windows were rather thin, there was noise, but our problem was mainly the missing bed sheets. Location-wise imperial las perlas is in the very end of the zona hotelera of cancun, so not at the centre of events, but it has a sufficient location to take ferrys from the harbours. The best qualities of this hotel are the restaurant space, which is a hut built on water; nice, and that the pools and pool area seemed to be maintained rather well.
All in all Imperial las Perlas is not worth the money by measuring in any of the scales, I'm sure you can find much better value for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Las Perlas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Las Perlas Hotel

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Km 2.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Imperial Las Perlas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Cancun Hotel Zone near main attractionsOn the beachThis beachfront property is located in hotel zone, near Convention Centre. Another nearby point of interest is Wet´n Wild, and shopping areas.Only 15 minutes from International Airport. 50 minutes from XcaretHotel restaurantAt Imperial las Perlas recreational amenities include an outdoor pool and a children's pool. The hotel also features a restaurant and and pool side bar. We offer food and beverages a la carte.Balconies with viewsGuestrooms open to balconies with ocean, sea, pool views and limited views; feature televisions with satellite channels and air conditioning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Imperial Las Perlas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Las Perlas
Imperial Perlas Cancun
Imperial Las Perlas Cancun Mexico
Imperial Las Perlas Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Las Perlas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.