We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Maya Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Maya Cancun to your Saves list
Casa Maya Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Detroit
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed Jan 16-23 2010 At Casa Maya Cancun. Our second time there and will go again. Took the bus to WalMart and cab back with our groceries and liquor. Stayed in second tower again. Rooms are clean, help is wonderful.Try not to waste time on time share talk if possible. Walk over to Captain Charlies for a Great fish dinner for $11.50. The beach party for $9.00 is worth it. Has one of the best beaches in Cancun. Ask for foam pad for beds unless you like a very hard beds ,we do not. Then they are comfortable. Use Cancun Shuttle for your transportation from and to airport, great service and on time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    356
    148
    71
    62
See reviews for
303
283
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

This was the second time my sister and I have stayed at Casa Maya. Our second trip was even better than the first, which was still wonderful. The hotel is clean, rooms/views great, and the staff is very friendly. I do not own here, but a friend has 12 weeks a year through Interval, and is unable to use all of them. I'm so happy that he let's us use one each year. We went into downtown just once. We spent the rest of our time at the hotel and beach. There is a great buffet for breakfast, and there were different buffets each night. We were pleasantly surprised to find that we could order from a menu, and we did that each night for dinner,(with the exception of walking to the Italian Resturant that is right next door to the hotel, which was also good and had a wonderful atmosphere.) The food at Casa Maya was excellant and the lobster tail and flaming shrimp skewers were our favorites. Miguel took great care of us on our first trip, and we were thrilled that he was still there this year. He went over and above what most would expect, and he even set up a table for us on the beach for our last night, complete with white tablecloth and candles, and served our meal and after dinner drinks on the beach, while taking care of the other people he was serving. Juan, Filipe and Wilburth kept the cold drinks coming while we were on the beach during the day. The spa massages were perfect as well. I have been to Cancun at least 10 times, and have stayed in alot of different places, from the Moon Palace to the Hyatt, and some other places that were less expensive. We've done the all-inclusive as well. My sister and I agree that if you want a quiet, relaxing and laid-back vacation, this is the place to stay. We can't wait for next year. Awesome staff and service!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

This was a great choice. The beach was beautiful and not too busy. Pool areas clean and well kept. Housekeeping excellent. location good, we used the public buses without any problem, did not need a renal car. I would love to go there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel/timeshare.Myself and four other women stayed for 10 days, Jan 16-26 2010. We had a great room with an amazing view.The room was in the second tower ocean view. The staff went above what they needed to for us to have a wonderful vacation. Carlos who was in charge of water sports recomended a tour to Isla Mujedres . It was so much fun we did it twice.$39 US. Pool staff were great and the Fiesta on the beach was well worth the money $ 11 US I believe.Not to mention what a sweetie Migel was.We all then went into the lounge to enjoy the music and dance with Bastillo who did a great job on the keyboard.The time share suites were well equiped with everything you need to eat in. We went to Walmart by bus and took a cab back with all our booze and food. Worked well.Great deals on silver and souveniers at the airport.So if you missed bartering still great deals to be had at the airport.All in all a great hotel and excellent staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

My fiance and I stayed at Casa Maya in August of 2009.

First, the nice:

It was reasonably priced, and the beach was quite nice.

Now, the bad:

We had some guests who insisted upon partying EVERY SINGLE NIGHT until 6am. This included smashing glasses in the hall and slamming the door repeatedly throughout the night (we're talking 20 times an hour here, folks). Despite daily requests to security to either move us to a new room or end the partying in the next room, we were given no satisfaction.

But worse was the theft. Yes, we knew we'd go through the time share presentation which, if you go through with it, is outright robbery (considering they have no rooms for you to stay in if you purchase the time share package; just the demo rooms are upgraded). But just when we sat down for the "welcome breakfast" my fiance had her glasses stolen within seconds... and where we were seated I'm sad to say that it would have had to have been another tourist or a member of the staff. And I don't think it was a fellow tourist, as there were only ~12 other people eating in the restaurant, none of which appeared to need to steal $20 sunglasses.

But that wasn't the end of the theft: Upon checkout, mysterious extra charges appeared on our bill.... nothing serious, just about $10 worth. But upon paying in US Dollars I received change in Pesos. This would normally be okay, but upon running a quick calculation in my head, I realized I was being short-changed by over 500 Pesos! I quickly challenged the man at the checkout desk, and he sheepishly handed over the difference, but with a look like you might find on a child's face after being caught stealing cookies from a cookie jar. In other words, clearly an intentional theft attempt.

I also had a good laugh about their excuse that the A/C was not running in the lobby due to repair, but at the end of our week there they were still giving that excuse to everyone who checked in as if the A/C had just broken down that morning. Quite clearly, it was a matter of the facility being too cheap to run the A.C.

Stay here if you must, but keep a close grip on your money and make a friend out of someone on the staff so they can advocate for you.

I'll close here with my fiance's comments: "It feels like the staff is trying to get as much money from you as possible".

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly enough, the prices are outrageous, and there is nothing for young children to do except play in the sand - unless you saved lots of money for parasailing, snorkelling, wave runners, etc.. We have a 12 year old who was bored to tears unless we were off the resort spending money on activities. We managed to find a great aquarium, though, at La Isla that he loved, and took him to Bubba Gumps for dinner - he loved that too. Our suite was large and clean, the beds comfortable, and maid service reliable. The hotel hasn't any night time entertainment for adults with children; and no babysitting staff if you want to go out. All that said - we would go back alone - i.e. without our son.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We bought at this timeshare almost 5 years ago and wanted to comeback to Cancun area.
We went to presentation and they tried to get us to upgrade to a premium section. NOW-this is just an OK resort-it has a wonderful view but it will NEVER be LUX. We spotted our rep from 5 years ago-gave him ahug and was glad to see him. When our guy realized we wern't going to go lux he just dropped us. After we left I told my husband he didn't even ask if we wanted to upgrade to a 2 bedroom-we own a 1 bedroom. I want back & said I wanted to talk to our old rep-He agreed to meet with us in a few hours. We did and upgraded. So now when we come back we'll have a 2 bedroom and better trade power.
If you get a 2 bedroom ask for tower 2-away from pool music-from floors 7 and below rooms ending in 23-25 have nice views of the Carribean.
We saw some of the same waiters that were there 5 years ago.
If you have a 1 bedroom the bed is a little hard,but the murphy bed in main room is very comfy.
There were several very nice restaurants to go to in the evening.
Had great meals at Casa Rolandi,La Habichula,Terraneos and John Grays Downtown.
We took the ferry to Isla Mujeras-rented a golf cart and poked around the island-we had stayed there 20 years or more ago at The Presadente-It is now Avalon-we looked at rooms but no restaurants or bars open??
We had a wonderful lunch at Hotel Villa Rolandi-yes same owner as Cancun. Had a wonderful meal with a georgous view.
After we turned in our golf cart we poked around the shops and had a margarata and snacks at Ballyhoos and watched the sun set,before taking ferry back to Cancun.
The last day was a little cloudy but all in all our 3 week trip from Nov 28th to Dec 19th was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Maya Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maya Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Maya Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Maya Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maya Cancun Hotel Cancun
Casa Maya Hotel Cancun
Hotel Casa Maya Cancun
Cancun Casa Maya
Imperial Fiesta Club Hotel Casa Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Maya Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.