We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Maya Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Maya Cancun to your Saves list
Casa Maya Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Cancun is hands down one of the places we are always traveling to. The very first time we went to Cancun we stayed here and it was amazing because we have timeshare (not theirs) and exchanged it for the one bedroom there. Room was very clean the staff was amazing. However the second time we didnt get to use our timeshare and got a standard room..which was not too nice...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    371
    158
    73
    62
See reviews for
324
295
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Since we have come to rely on tripadvisor for accurate and helpful reviews and comments, we are motivated to pass along some (okay, maybe more than "some") of our own experiences and insights, so take and use what you will. This property sits on an exceptional beach front (one reviewer remarked that "all hotels in Cancun have nice beaches", which is relatively true, but, in addition to the beautiful view of the Caribbean it shares with other beaches, this beach has the appeal of length, relative seclusion, and a combination of shallow water for kids to wade in, as well as deeper water graduating to a nice drop-off for swimming). On the property also are several palm tree-lined pools, very pretty and well-maintained, for non-sandy relaxation. However, as every reviewer also notes, the hotel itself is old! The physical amenities - architecture, air conditioning, television, other appliances - are dated. In addition, the on-premises bars/restaurants, while not bad, (maybe even good enough to save a trip now and then to off-premises restaurants), are nothing spectacular; (this is a little annoying in light of the poolside bar prices, but there is the convenience of beach and pool bar/food service, so that probably is a wash). All of that being said, and maybe this is what we really want to add, obviously aware of the intrinsic value and appeal of the location, the hotel is making a serious effort to crack the time-share market, and they are "getting it", (doing it right), although maybe not at super speed. They are updating their facilities - slowly but surely - to create nice, comparable (to other, more modern resorts) rooms and suites; nicely appointed and very comfortable. In fact, were it not for the fact that we already own through another company, we would have bought here; and that is apparently why we were permitted to be there in the first place, to lure us away as time-share owners. Our own company generally has very limited inventory and we only chanced across a 2 BR at Casa Maya because it was during their marketing week, and the hotel made some limited inventory available to our company. In contrast to our company (Interval International), Casa Maya, (I think their platform is entitled Imperial Fiesta Club, which is what the hotel used to be called, or something like it), has a very sophisticated and attractive exchange platform, partnering with two powerful international time-share companies. Of course, you can always say no to the time-share presentation, or you can sit through it, (we have been through these so many times it's like water off a duck's back), have breakfast, and maybe learn something about their packages, and still say no....or maybe say yes. In any event, and In the meantime, (until the hotel is finally renovated and modernized in its entirety), just as a vacation destination, Casa Maya is a very nice, family-friendly hotel. As other reviewers note, the staff is VERY friendly, and the hotel engineers know the tricks for keeping the existing appliances, the a/c most importantly, operational; (if you are from an HVAC locale, you will understand the reference to "the conversation" you typically have with the technician every time he comes out - hopefully not too often - where he tries to convince you to purchase a new system and you insist that he simply keep the old one operational, which he "somehow" manages to do...Although, on that note, harkening to one reviewer's comment - the "a/c was cold" - when we arrived the a/c in our rooms was not working, but after the engineer loaded up our compressors with freon the a/c started blowing very cold air. However, because it was then "cold", we made the mistake of trying to modulate the temperature, which caused the a/c to stop working again, and although it was fixed by another visit from the hotel engineer, after that we decided just to let it run cold so as not to continue to require service calls...if it means anything, by analogy think "Friends", the episode where Joey and Chandler accidentally get free porn on their TV and then are afraid to turn it off). Anyway, our kids loved this place, but remember also that as a trade-off for its relative calm and seclusion, the hotel most assuredly is NOT in the "hip" section. This is not the destination for 20-something kids looking to party and hook up. In that regard, any of the restaurants you will want to visit - there are several nice ones reviewed on tripadvisor - whether in the hotel zone or downtown, are a trip away. Because of the make-up of our group we most often took taxis, and although you can negotiate rates depending on time of day, destination, etc., they still charge tourist venue rates and it will seem excessive when you pay almost the same for a 2km trip as a 9 km trip; (by the way, you can save yourself 4-5 dollars simply by walking down to the street and easily hailing a cab, but if that is not for you, the taxis are always waiting right outside the front door of the hotel), and, as others note, the buses run frequently and will get you wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We first visited this hotel back in 2003 through an RCI exchange. We were so impressed we bought into their Imperial Fiesta Club. This year (June 14) we decided to upgrade into their Elite program and were immediately allowed transfer into an Elite room and use all of the Elite benefits during our vacation. What makes this resort special to us is easy to describe:
• Beachfront location
• Calm sea to swim in
• Service provided by all staff.
• Friendliness of all staff
• Cleaniness of the resort.
We are travellers and have visited many different countries in the Caribbean, Europe and also Asia. But there is always a sense of coming home when we return to this resort

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed casa maya 2013 and 2014 summer, one bedroom timeshare for one week.
staff are very nice and friendly, nice buffet restaurant.
There is a kitchen, so we can save much money. Bus stop is not far from hotel, also have taxi service. Beach front hotel, I love it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
213 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Ok, so maybe I shouldn't be reviewing this place since I stayed here many, many years ago....BUT we had a very nice stay..back then...maybe something has happened as there appears to be a fair amount of uneven reviews here. Our suite was huge with a sofa , chairs, dinner table, large TV, stocked kitchenette, and a seperate big bedroom with two double beds and a large clean bathroom. Best of all we had 2 good size balconies with ocean view. The rooms were clean and nice. The service was fine too.
The pools were clean and the direct access beach was great. I do remember as part of our package we had lunch served under the tent on the beach..it was pretty bad...
The hotel arranged a jet ski and snorkeling excursion for us that was the highlight of the trip. Front desk also made dinner reservations for us as well as transportation arrangements.
Location of the hotel was great too.
No problems here!

Room Tip: Ocean view room/suite...very big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The facilities are very old with little mantainance done troughout the years. The floor on the rooms is of a very old tile and it is hurtful to walk given that it has big gaps between the tiles. Also the smell of the rooms was terrible giving an impact of dirtiness altogether. The food was not good at all. It is a big waste of money, don't know why people recommend stayng at this hotel.

Once you arrive several people try to sell you a lot of vacation packages and won't let you rest. It also takes a lot of time to check in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The worst customer service ever once the hotel found out we was looking at another hotel, not to buy a timeshare, but just to look the hotels so called manager Norma Soto i believe her name was just started scolding use and tried to add additional charges 200+ US dollars on the hotel bill, stating that there is an extra person in the room and she did not know about it. The reservations and the check-in sheet clearly stated the amount of quest staying there, because we all had to sign the check-in sheet. After Norma Soto added the charges she then locked us out of our room stating that she tried to contact us of which she never did. She then threaten us stating that if we didn't pay the additional fictitious charges, she would call the cops.

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL AND IF YOU DO GO DON'T LET THEM KNOW YOUR GOING TO SEE ANOTHER HOTEL, THIS HOTEL IS VERY MONEY HUNGRY

Room Tip: The WIFI in the room was not good at all on the 6th floor. So if you need WIFI avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa Maya Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maya Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Maya Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Maya Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maya Cancun Hotel Cancun
Casa Maya Hotel Cancun
Hotel Casa Maya Cancun
Cancun Casa Maya
Imperial Fiesta Club Hotel Casa Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Maya Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.