We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated - Needs Remodel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Maya Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Maya Cancun to your Saves list
Casa Maya Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Columbia, MO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dated - Needs Remodel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Casa Maya is one of the few non-all-inclusive resorts left in Cancun. The property is very old and in need of a huge renovation to be competitive with the RIU and Palace properties. Yes, per other reviews, the beds are hard, but they provided mattress topers that made them acceptable. Electrical issues (outside light fixture and hair dryers did not work), water issues (intermittent or no hot water) and bugs (ants) were experienced. The time share presentation was not as bad as advertised, but still took nearly two hours to get away from them. The representative (Vicky) told us a number of things that were inaccurate, i.e. we could use the resort bucks anywhere on property, our internet access would be free for attending, etc.

The beach is outstanding and the pool area is adequate. The restaurant food was good, especially the breakfast buffet. Staffers were friendly, but they could not make up for the out-dated property. If you are going to the Casa Maya and will be off-site on tours or on the beach all day, the property will work. If you are looking for a plush 5-star property, this is not it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    355
    148
    71
    62
See reviews for
303
282
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked through Interval getaway program. Great deal on large 2 bdrm 2 bath unit. Knew to expect time share pitch, so smiled and met the rep. She bought us drinks, suggestions on map and we ate lunch while waiting for the room; since we were there before 3pm a wait could be expected. Agreed to meet her in the am and a good room was ready. Beautiful calm soft beach, lots of boats going by made it interesting to watch. Most days the towel game kept shaded seats reserved, but you could usually find something. Burgers & breakfast were good, we hated the plain cheese pizza. Very mixed crowd but largest group seemed to be US and Canadian senior citizens and the nightime bar entertainment was geared to them. Most kid activities didn't run because there weren't enough kids even during a school vaca wk.

Room Tip: 7th floor in tower 2 was nice. 7208 had beach view with 2 bdrm. Not sure if agreeing to time share p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I read all the reviews before booking; but had to use a week and this was the only one available in the area. The rooms are dated, but very spacious and clean. Staff was wonderful, but check in is strange: you check in and then they tell you to sit in the lobby and wait. Wait for what? We are tired and hungry and wanted to go to the room. So we waited; a staff member comes over to push time share stuff and tours; none of which we were interested in. We told them no politely and were done. The food at the beach bar was great for lunch, but limited selections are the problem and breakfast was pricey for the buffet. The beach is beautiful and clean, but get out there early or all chairs are gone. AC worked hard to keep up, bathrooms updated but not the rest, kitchen well equipped, no fan in bathroom, no clock in bedroom, TV's are small and remotes did not work, get a bellman to take luggage or you have to lug it up and down the stairs to the main lobby. Dolce Mente Italian restaurant right next door (walk on beach) is fabulous! Ate there twice and would love to go back, great food right on the beach and very reasonably priced. Good mexican across the street as well - otherwise you need taxi to go into town. No kayak rentals as advertised, boat rentals off site as well. OH! And every review said the beds were too hard; we actually liked them!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

When I first booked Casa Maya, I thought this would be an average hotel.

However, I kept positively surprised when I arrived and I was contacted by the concierge. It was a good first impression, which was validated when I entered into my room. It was so comfortable, with all the facilities needed in case you want to live there as in your own house, or simply enjoy your vacations.

The swimming pool and the restaurant were no so big, but enough to spend a nice stay at the hotel.

Additionally, the beach is perfect for kids since due to geography, there are no waves being a natural piscine.

The best: the attention and the kindness of the personnel.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors in order to ensure a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We own a timeshare here and just visited again in Feb 2013.
5 stars - for the beach
5 stars - for the wood fired brick oven pizzas on the beach
5 stars - for the bar and the waiters, super job and friendly
5 stars - for the ice cold AC units.
3 stars - for the rooms, which are normal for a 30 year old hotel
2 stars - for the front desk staff, complicated and lengthy check out process
1 star - for the beds, the rooms need updating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimli, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are dated, service is poor at front desk, timeshares pushed. Restaurant is small food is below average and poor selection in dinner buffet. The beach is one of the best for swimming and sand...some have no beach or rock. Pool area is fun staff there is great.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The beach is still the best. The rooms are clean but outdated. Everyone is helpful & great - except the people at the front desk when you check in. We own a timeshare and have been going there since 1985. Seems that the Elite construction has stopped with only 2 1/2 floors completed. Seriously the other units need a face lift. Mattresses are hard as rocks even with a foam cover. Pillows are the same. After promising that the two buildings were going to be all timeshare - the Casa Maya has turned back into a hotel. They are promoting big time in Europe & Russia. People are getting better rates for a week there than I pay in weekly maintenance. Is that fair? The restaurants are adequate, but the food seems prepared for people in a nursing home. Bland!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Maya Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maya Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Maya Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Maya Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maya Cancun Hotel Cancun
Casa Maya Hotel Cancun
Hotel Casa Maya Cancun
Cancun Casa Maya
Imperial Fiesta Club Hotel Casa Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Maya Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.