We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Maya Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Maya Cancun to your Saves list
Casa Maya Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
allen park
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“bed bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

the sales pitch was almost as bad as the inconvenience of bed bug bites. The complaints of bed bugs bites went un answered. They held us to a deposit on a return trip that wassw agreed upon before bed bug bites were manifested

Room Tip: bed bugs stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    355
    148
    71
    62
See reviews for
303
282
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wittmann, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Casa Maya got us a great room for a great price. Staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. There is a great variety of food at reasonable prices. The beach is beautiful with white sand! Taxi's are readily available to take you anywhere you need to go. The hotel has staff to help you schedule excursions. There is a bar with live music and excellent service! There are 3 different pools, 2 jacuzzi's and towels provided. The spa is very professional.....got the best pedicure and manicure by Toni!

Room Tip: One bedroom suite is the best....they have a kitchen so you can grocery shop for the week to save mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our 2nd year in a row to exchage our timeshare to go to Cancun. The resort was clean and maintained and the pizza restaurant on the beach was nice. The one hot-tub was broken the entire week we were there, and they allowed families with babies in diapers in the other small hot-tub, which left is messy at best which was a turn off to us. Our room was clean but the glass slider doors were broken and very hard to open to get out on patio which was annoying to say the least. The view overlooking the water was great and the bar staff and breakfast waiter very kind and funny. The female omlet chief annoyed me daily because I mentioned day 1 that I have an allergy to pork and requested my omlet to be done away from everyone's with ham, but she would just smile at me & make sure daily she co-mingled a few pieces of ham into my omlet, with a smile did I mention? I just would have to sit and pick it apart carefully daily before I could eat. Best suggestion I can give is get out and see the area on the local city bus, it's cheap, safe and fun for people watching!

Room Tip: Don't fall prey to the day one upsell for getting a better room by doing the timeshare presentat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I was hesitant to visit here but the trip was comped so we went for our 40th anniversary Sept. 15th thru the 22nd 2012. Time share presentation was not as bad as I thought it would be. They took our no very well and left us alone the rest of the time. We picked the day to do it, so we picked Monday after arriving on Saturday. The room was on the 7th floor and was very adequate. We didn't spend alot of time in there anyway. Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially in the beach area.Bus rides were no problem. Went to Isla Mujeres and Xcaret and found the people very friendly everywhere we went. The resort is a bit dated, but we really have no complaints.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The staff members at this location are very nice and helpful. The lay-out of the room and the bathroom were ok. The decor was outdated, circa 1970s), but that was ok because I did not go to Cancun to stay in my room. However the carpet in the main area of the room was dirty. You could not walk around without shoes without your feet getting dirty within 10-15 minutes. The carpet even felt a litte sticky.

The area which housed the "Elite" members was pristine, smelled wonderful and the appliances were up to date.

The food was excellent. I enjoyed the beach.

Room Tip: Become an "Elite" member. Individuals staying on an "Getaway" basis will always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

THE BEACH: Outstanding!! White powdery sand, clear blue water ( like you see in post cards). The water is calm, unlike some beaches that you have to fight some waves. This is stand in all day kinda water. We visited other beaches, and with the exception of Playa Norte, on Isle Muejeres, Casa Maya was the best! I LOVED SITTING UNDER MY CABANNA AND BEING SERVED DRINKS ON THE BEACH!!

THE ROOM: Fabulous! We had a two bedroom, living room, kitchen unit facing the beach. AMAZING! The rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped. Everything we needed was right there. We went grocery shopping and stocked the place with quick breakfasts and lunches. We didn't do an all inclusive, because we love sampling the entire culture all week.

THE SERVICE: They couldn't do enough for us: Towels, Food, Hospitality. This Staff aims to please and we were VERY pleased.

DON'T BRING: towels, shampoo, conditioner or body moisturizer (for some odd reason, your skin doesn't dry out). The rest is all there. You will find Tylenol, sunscreen, personal products all in the gift shop.

THE FOOD: Yum, Yum and more Yum. Food and drinks were top notch!

OVERALL : We will be going back, a true delight!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Biggest dissapointment was the sales team THE MINUTE you walk in the door. We have a real problem with that after travelling so far to get to your detination and ultimately your vacation!! We basically had to run away from them when they wouldn't stop calling and stalking us...they finally got the message and completely left us alone...what a shame. However, the room was big, spacious and very clean and the other staff were wonderful.

The hotel is dated (the lobby bar definitely needs a facelift) but the beach and outdoor restaurant were very nice. The welcome reception on the beach was great and we met some really nice folks there and ended up hanging out with them a bit.

The best experience we had was the "Mayan Adventure" which took us from the hotel into the jungles just west of Playa Del Carmen. We hiked, canoed, zip lined, rappelled 60 ft down into a cenote and floated around for awhile, had a magnificent shore lunch in a small village and then climbed Coba!!!!!! What a day...we were bagged by 7:00pm! Oh yeah, we also went to Xelha; which was very nice but alot more commercial than the last adventure.

All in all it was a great experience - minus the damn sales people at the hotel and the airport... BEWARE!!! Book your pick up at the airpOrt through the hotel before you travel to avoid them at the airport however they get you walkling into the lobby anyway...JUST GO AWAY!!!

Not a five star resort (we knew that anyway) but it was a nice vacation, a decent hotel and a few fantastic excursions made this trip avery memorable. BTW, we going back to Mexico for XMAS but staying in Cozumel this time. Despite the press, thsi part of Mexico felt very safe and we were treated extremely well. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Maya Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maya Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Maya Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Maya Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maya Cancun Hotel Cancun
Casa Maya Hotel Cancun
Hotel Casa Maya Cancun
Cancun Casa Maya
Imperial Fiesta Club Hotel Casa Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Maya Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.