We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away, but not too far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Maya Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Maya Cancun to your Saves list
Casa Maya Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get away, but not too far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I traded my timeshare to take my wife, mother, and mother-in-law on a weeks vacation at Casa Maya. I originally booked two separate junior suites. I got a call two days before our flight from Mireya, who confirmed our reservations and suggested we book our transportation from and to the airport, which I did. The $70 US round trip for 4 people and 8 bags turned out to be a very good deal, as I was quoted $105 for a van one way from the airport upon our arrival.
The resort consists of 3 main buildings, two high rise hotel buildings and a spa/fitness center. There are 3 heated pools, including a kiddie pool, and 3 hot tubs, all overlooking one of the best beaches I've seen in Cancun. a wide stretch of soft, groomed sand slopes gently down to clear green water, with plenty of lounge chairs under palappas... heavenly.
Upon check-in, Mireya met us, and we were comped a bar drink and given the option to upgrade to an executive suite if we would take the obligatory timeshare tour. Though I was against it, my traveling companions insisted, and as the saying goes, if momma ain't happy, ain't nobody happy. Our suite was two separate bedrooms connected by an open plan full kitchen/dining area/den. Both bedrooms (One with a king, the other with 2 queens) and the main room had balconies with steps leading down to the grounds, big enough to sit and drink your morning coffee, or your evening libation. Both bedrooms also had nice large full baths. The beds were more than acceptable, the TV's were flatscreens, and everything was very clean.
The timeshare tour was what you'd expect, and we were soon free to enjoy a break from the land of the wind chill factor. We spent the rest of the week swimming, walking the beach, eating ourselves into mini comas, and, of course (3 women, remember?) shopping.
I'll wrap this up with a quick rundown of the highlights and nitpicks;
Maid service/employees: excellent!
Restaurants: Las Brisas (on the hotel grounds) average food, but the brick oven pizzas were excellent. The italian restaurant next door has decent offerings.
Shopping: for staples and foodstuffs, you can't beat Wal-mart, though Superama has better pastries. Mercado 28 has all the turista chachkies you'll ever need. Playa Caracol would be a good way to spend a shopping day, start by going through the mall, then walk around the adjacent area. Plenty of shopping, and you can take a siesta at Casa Tequila nearby.
Activities: If you like to drink, take a sunset pirate cruise on one of the boats moored next to the hotel. Otherwise, take a day trip to Xel-ha, Excaret, or take the ferry to Isla Mujeres
Minor nitpicks: Except for the aforementioned italian restaurant, you'll need transportation for any off resort activities. The buses run 8.5 pesos, but taxis are $10-20US. Most of the guests are older married/retired, so this would not be my choice for spring break, or a party animal. Kids, and their associated activities, were few and far between. For us, this was a good thing, for others, maybe not so much.
In summary, I was happy to be there, sorry to have to leave, and I'd go back in a heartbeat if I could.

Room Tip: Take the timeshare tour for the room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    360
    149
    72
    62
See reviews for
304
286
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Overlooking a very nice beach is a dilapidated hotel with very poor service,lack of internet facilities and restaurant food to be avoided at any cost.The only good souvenir,a short old waiter at the breakfast room,always helpful though with a severe leg handicap!

Room Tip: Try the ones with a sea view...Or,even better,try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were happy with the size and cleanliness of the timeshare suite. Beach and pool areas were nice. Good restaurants. Two on-site convenience stores. Easy access to the buses that run everywhere. Be sure to check out the Seahorse cafe - a small mexican restaurant and sports bar near the Riu Palace - great value and atmosphere. For a great value in sailing to Isla Mujeres, go to Sailing Cancun behind Hotel Las Perlas - the beach towel hut at Casa Maya has the flyers. This all day trip was only $45/person and included open bar, snorkeling, lunch buffet on the island, and was the best time we had all week.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

While we were at the Casa Maya for a few weeks in January and early Feb using our timeshare we heard that a couple had dropped off their clothes at the on-site laundry. Upon checking their clean clothes they found a bathing suit top, a bunch of men's underwear and a shirt were missing. The laundry person said that they had never made a mistake before and the Casa Maya manager wouldn't do anything to compensate these people about their loss. I found this disturbing. The manager should have given something to this couple just to keep their good will. A free breakfast? A dinner? Some credit on their bill? This would have shown that the Casa Maya is considerate of the feelings of their timeshare owners.

Room Tip: Sign up for that darn timeshare presentation in order to get a decent room, but be prepared to waste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We were at the Casa Maya in January 2 different weeks and we were at 3 other resorts. I thought the staff was outstanding remembered names and wanting to do whatever we needed to be comfortable. Love the Mexican bingo at the pool as he helped me with the language. We also played darts, beach volleyball and the like. The living quarters were clean and very spacious. I have been to resorts that were in much more need of repair. We had everything we needed to be comfortable and safe. I liked being so close to the bus stops as well and we went everywhere.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and could see the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

All the reviews were on target...strong pressure to buy a timeshare...and your room selection is based on wheather or not you listen to the presentation! The beds were as hard as a rock along with the pillows. Only 2 TV stations in English, food was at best average, Sliding door did not lock, the coffee maker was one that was so bad that I would not send it to Goodwill. The hot water temperature varied while we took showers to the point of it be scalding HOT! There are too many great places in Cancun to want to stay at Casa Maya. The best thing about the hotel was the beach.
200 yards away was a GREAT Italian restaurant...Dolcie Mente. It was not part of the Hotel and was GREAT.

Room Tip: Stay in a different Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed there for 7 nights in January in a 1 bedroom with kitchenette. We found the accomodations a little outdated but nice. We had a great time and ALL the staff were very friendly and helpful. We did go to the time share presentation and we were up front from the beginning that we were not interested in purchasing any at this time, but were told that was okay and to still go and see the time share still. When it came time for the "closer," he was quite abrubt and rude and therefore we left immediately afterwards. But the rest of the trip was wonderful. If you do go there, make sure to stop by the bar for the 2 for 1 happy hour and listen to the music man who is quite good. The beach is nice, not very long to walk on, but you can walk out in the ocean quite a ways and stand there. It would help, being that you have the choice to be responsible for you own meals to have an oven or a BBQ. But all in all, it was quite nice. Remember this is not a 5 star resort and remember to take your manners and as long as you are polite to them they will be more than accomodating to you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa Maya Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maya Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Maya Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Maya Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maya Cancun Hotel Cancun
Casa Maya Hotel Cancun
Hotel Casa Maya Cancun
Cancun Casa Maya
Imperial Fiesta Club Hotel Casa Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Maya Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.