We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in terms of location and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Mayapan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Mayapan to your Saves list
Hostal Mayapan
1.5 of 5 Inn   |   Boulevard Kukulkan Km 8.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 49 Cancun B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good in terms of location and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Given the convenient location (in the hotel zone), the deal is unbeatable. The toilet and bathroom are clean. It took more than half an hour to get there from the airport by a shared taxi. It took less than 10 minutes bus to get to the pier.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
2
11
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

i just spent four nights there a little over a week ago. Yes it is hot, but they will put the air conditioning on if you request it for four hours ata time. i was too lazy to ask, it didnt really bother me that much, probably cause im not a whining little baby. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and bathrooms were very clean, I was honestly suprised, I was expecting it to be a little gross. Showers had awesome strong perssure. This is the only hostel on the beach area of Cancun, it took about a 5 to 8 mink walk to go to the main clubs (coco bongo was amazing) Also I met some really nice people from all over the world, it was a great experience, i would definitely go back next year. If you complain about this place after spending $20, you area baby princess and need to spend hundreds of dollars at some other resort. If you are young, like to party, meet new people or just need a cheap place by the beach. I highly recommend it. If I was to complain, it would be that the beds are cheap and firm, but it still didnt bother me that much. I just happen to sleep on a $6000 at home, so it was different, lol.

Room Tip: For an extra $4 you can get more privacy if available. Ask for them to turn on the air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Staff was unfriendly... rude and tried to charge for every little thing. Breakfast was awful, rooms uncomfortable, AC intermittent and weak (they wouldn't even turn it on at night... I woke up sweating), breakfast was weak coffee and stale cereal (chose to walk and pay for breakfast at a restaurant, despite our tight budget). Location was good, but not worth it. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Whose wise idea was it to build a hotel in a dis-used shopping complex? By scrimping money on air-con, the hotel is like a sauna during the day - only without the comforts. We asked for a private room. Unfortunately, their idea of private means walking through a 14 man dorm full of middle aged blokes wearing speedos to a saloon styled set of swing doors to our "oasis." the fact that the rooms did not have a real door was really something the management should have discussed before going with the budget option. The place is not even that cheap and the staff resemble Roal Dahl's Twits. Great location though

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I rented a private room with bathroom mainly because the thought of sharing a bathroom grosses me out, but this place is awful. Don't get me wrong, I know this is a hostel and I have travelled and stayed in many hostels all over but this place is gross. The bed was so soft only god knows how old the matress was. The pillocases were stained and there were hairs on mine!! I had to take a towel of mine and put it over to bear the thought of sleeping in this bed. Also they advertised themselves as a hostel with AC, but they do not tell you you actually have no control over yours! it is remotely operated and they only turn it on 4 hours a day and 4 at night, because yeah, when I booked I was thinking at how nice it would be to rest after a long day at the beach in a hotel with no AC when I thought I was paying for one. Yes the location is fine but not even in a million years I would stay here again. This used to be a mall that was abandonded and they decided to make rooms out of what used to be stores. They do not have a safe but each room has a locker type of thing where you "can leave your stuff" , of course that is with your own lock don't expect them to provide anything. The front door seems like a joke, like anyone with a hairpin could open it. Of course, I wouldn't let ANY of my valuables in, it was even stressing to sleep in there. I am sure there are other decnt hotels at decent prices so you don't have to stay here, avoid this place!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

At 220pesos a night (20$ us), I will pay the extra money to be a 5min walk to Beach access by Coco Bongo and all the clubs! You can get other hostels for 100-130pesos but they are a bus ride away in Cancun City proper.

The rooms are fairly big (22 beds) but nicely divided up, and I found the beds to be really comfortable, and I slept fairly well.

Breakfast is simple but OK

Not much of a Common room here other than a few tables and chairs here and there by reception / hall area, but I still met some cool people just in the room - a couple Israeli chaps and a girl from Argentina.

The staff are really friendly here too, and a pleasure to deal with.

All in all - you are paying for location and a decent place to sleep - its not a 'character' hostel, but if you wanna be where the action is in Cancun - this is it!

Bonus Tip - if you want party life on the beach - bus down to Oasis Cancun!! and spend your days there :)

Bonus Tip # 2 - Take city bus R1 to ADO central bus station. Aeroport bus was only 48 pesos? and very fast - don't waste your money on a cab!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I booked a 3 night stay at this place primarily because of the location. The location was indeed great as it is only about a 15 minute walk to a main strip of clubs, shops and restaurants, and at $20 a night it was a bargain compared to the hotels. Other pros were the staff was nice and it had a small wildlife preserve out front that had iguanas.

The main issues however were that it was not a social hostel as other guests kept to themselves and cleaning was as far as I noticed performed only once daily. Toilets got clogged a few times and the bathroom did not always smell so great. Also, the air conditioning was only on intermittently and, thus it got very hot and stuffy. Overall for me the place, while I would not call it dirty, just had a dingy and un-fresh feel to it.

It's unfortunate because this hostel has so much potential. If they added a common area, bar/club hop services, and marketed the place with a fun theme, it would make the place so much more enjoyable. I'd also recommend slight upgrades to improve the interior aesthetics, more frequent cleaning, and adding deodorizers and air fresheners.

After this trip I can really appreciate how much more fun a vacation can be when staying in a place where you meet people and make friends. While Hostal Mayapan was not that place it very well could be and I'd recommend the owners pursue turning it into such a place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Mayapan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mayapan

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Km 8.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal Mayapan 1.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayapan Hostel is located in the heart of the Hotel Zone of Cancun, with Mayan style for people who want to hike and explore nature Maya Land endless emotions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal Mayapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Mayapan Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Mayapan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.