We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Honest Review-Great time but lacked in a few areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very Honest Review-Great time but lacked in a few areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

My husband and I went to Cancun to relax and that is exactly what we did. First the Omni was absolutely stunning, the Concierge and front desk staff were friendly and even upgraded us to an oceanview. (Dont stay here without first signing up on the Omni website to become a Select Guest member, it will take you 2 minutes and you get lots of freebies and better service, upgrades, etc.) The room, bathroom, balcony and view were all beautiful.
Now I get to my first complaint, they say that tips are included but they really aren't. We tipped our driver, anyone that handled our bags, anyone that came to our room, housekeeping, bartenders, waiters, etc. We ended up spening almost $200 in tips for 5 days, way too much. I read all the reviews and only took ones and fives because they only give change in pesos so make sure to have plenty of small bills.
This is an all inclusive resort for some and not for others. We picked the all inclusive plan but there are a lot of rules that we didn't like: you cannot get food at a restaurant and take it anywhere else (up to your room, to the beach, to the pool) that felt really restrictive and we like being able to have a meal and take our dessert with us or take a crossiant out to a lounge chair on the beach which is not allowed. There is a mini bar in the room that you get charged for using even if you're all inclusive. Bars dont open until 10am, which doesn't sound that bad but you cant even get a bottle of water until 10am so we had to stock up on bottles the day before and keep them in our room.
All that being said, room service was amazing and we used it a lot. Most people are very friendly but there is a language barrier so they dont try to engage you very much in conversation and I actually know a fair amount of Spanish and it was still a little challenging at times. The ocean was pretty rough so we werent able to get in very far but it was beautiful. Another big problem was that none of the lounge chairs at the entire resort (beach and pool) had cushions which doesn't sound that bad but if you're lounging and reading a book for hours, the plastic strips are rather uncomfortable. The time share people never bothered us, people selling stuff on the beach never bothered us. Very relaxing time.
I've heard a lot of people say the food isn't very good but I thought it was incredible! We had room service for breakfast every morning, Pina Colada for lunch (fish tacos are yummy), La Paloma was mostly buffet but you can order off the menu too. Da Vinci was a wonderful experience, great food, great atmosphere...very romantic!!!
Pools and jacuzzi are awesome, pools aren't heated but once you get in, you're fine in about 30 seconds. KuKu's jacuzzi bar was the best place at the whole resort. Last but not least, we are a young married couple and were hoping to at least find people to chat with but since it wasn't adults only, it seemed that most people had families or other stuff so we never really made any friends. There was no night life to speak of eventhough they had live music in the evenings only a handful of people were there.

We decided our next vacation will be somewhere where you can grab a floatie and hang out in a calmer ocean, adults only, super all inclusive, more English speaking people. We loved the upscale feel of Omni so we want to include that as well. We got a great deal at TravelbyJen.com which we found on Travelzoo so it was definitely worth it for the price.

Shout out to a couple of our favorite people: Jesus the Concierge, Alejandro and Carlos the bartenders, Marco and Ubaldo the activity directors and the entire staff at Da Vinci.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,890
    1,084
    361
    180
    116
See reviews for
1,111
1,234
80
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

The Omni is the perfect place for our family vacation. As grandparent of an 8, 12 and 14 year old and my daughter and son-in-law, I am so impressed that everyone in our party was so well accommodated and safe and comfortable. Food service was easily available whether at poolside or elegant dining. Staff was attentive and eager to help. Our rooms were impeccable and any request was attended to immediately and efficiently. Poolside/oceanside massage by very knowiledgeable and resoectful hands ws a great treat. It is a great family place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okcowboy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

The service is good (not 5 star, maybe 3), the rooms are nice. pools are NOTt heated, and only usable for the brave, and the two hot tubs are at best 90 degress by late night. They are shut off after 5PM, so cold all evening and all day long. The floors in all rooms are marble, so you can hear every footstep, furniture scraping across floor, noise, etc above your room, so forget sleeping past 8AM. There is no bar with dancing or "action" for singles, except fo the tiny lobby bar by the registration, with 5 stools to sit at. Activities are limited to corny "hawaiian dancing" complete with cheap trinckets for sale, and loud Mexican music, during the day around the pool, with "music title guessing game", by rude DJ. Drinks and service are norm, and the ocean is far too rough to swim in, with steep "cliff" to get to it. (red flags out at all times). Food is very average, with room service having the best selection and flavor. Stay away from Da Vinci and the other one by the stairs. Terrible, slow service, poor food quality and selection, and expecting tip, even with all inclusive package. Hotel is built on big hill, so it is necessary to climb stairs about 300 yards to get in or out. Overall, a three star, average stay, which would have been better spent, and much cheaper, in Miami, or Fort Lauderdale. Also, the airport, timeshare pressure salespeople, and customs, make this trip far less than it is worth, considering all the options available in the US.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear Omni Cancun Guest,
Thank you for your feedback through this forum, regrading your stay with us at the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas.
We were dismayed by your comments about the destination and our resort and are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your experience in Cancun.
Unfortunately, this was not the vacation you were looking for.
Sincerely,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We're writing this on our last full day here at the Omni Cancun, and we wanted to be certain we shared how much we've enjoyed our experience here.
From Nicolas greeting us with "Welcome Home!" at the front door after a grueling two days of travel, to the front desk accommodations they made for us with our lovely, ocean view room, to the fastidious housekeeping (plus, when we mentioned we'd never had a real honeymoom, they fashioned a sweet two-swans-forming-a-heart "towel sculpture" on the bed), to the always-attentive and gracious server staff -- this was a business/leisure trip that definitely surpassed my expectations (if not my husband's, who's visited Mexico a number of times (smile)).
Although of course the hotel is one of many along the water, the travel up the bluff to enter, either in a vehicle or walking up the stairs through a jungle and waterfall landscape, gives a sense of seclusion. Also during our eight-night stay, we enjoyed two different shows they presented -- one a circus-type show, the other a dance presentation of different Central American/Carribean countries -- where there were also vendors provided. Perhaps not completely traditional, but very enjoyable.
And waking up each morning to an intensely turquoise ocean on a gorgeous beach (where one of our favorite choices of restaurants in the complex is located), will be a memory I'll think of often when we return to an unusually snowy Washington State tomorrow.
We arranged for the all-inclusive package through Costco, so the trip was also a real value.
The only less-than-excellent ratings are because we were about 20 minutes away from the hotel where the business conference was taking place. But the 85 cent bus ride there and back was easy and efficient. And I can't think of one encounter with the local people here that wasn't warm, with an unaffected courtesy.
Would we recommend this experience to others? Definitely!
Thank you, Omni Cancun!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

I loved it, the food, the service, the room were great. I had so much fun, activities at the pool, excellent music, and wild nights out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

The service was fabulous! We enjoyed the poolside servers, Elsa and Herlinda as well as Francisco. We really enjoyed the poolside MC Juan! We had such a relaxed, pampered vacation in Cancun. The Omni surpassed my expectations, it was very clean, the staff was very friendly and generous. I felt quite comfortable walking around the resort, there were plenty of uniformed staff members looking out for everyones safety at all times. I would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend the Omni Cancun!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Never been to Mexico before and was a bit apprehensive about Cancun, planned to stay at another resort but got such a good deal on this hotel that went for it, and I'm so pleased we did. We had a lagoon view room, and we think that was better than ocean view as you could watch the world go by and had an excellent view of the lagoon (surprisingly!) and could watch what was going on there too. Good storm watching , fascinating to see the storms coming in over the lagoon and Cancun disappearing and coming back again. Only negative is the noise from families and their kids early in the morning, maybe a child free floor would be good. Or maybe parents telling thehir children to be quiet!
We liked being a bit out of Cancun downtown, and the buses were so regular and cheap it was easy to get about.
Every member of staff was excellent, they clearly have a good training programme and service was excellent. We loved the beach jacuzzi, but beware the tequila measures! We did all inclusive, and apart from a dodgy meal in Da Vinci's, which was just horrible and which they exchanged immediately so can't fault them there either, food was excellent.
Beach service was great, lovely people and Pina Colada food great.
Altogether we really enjoyed our holiday, odd being one , if not the only,of the very few British couples in the hotel but that's also probably an advantage! Mainly Americans and rich Mexicans so far as we could see.
From what we saw of beaches neare to Cancun, we thought 'our' beach was much nicer, good waves and some good swimming/bobbing about! Highlight was putting baby turtles into the sea on our second night, they'd hatched at the back of the beach, fabulous and really well supervised by the lifegaurd. Don't think this is a guaranteed experience though, we were very lucky. Igaunas were great too.
Would stay again in a nano-second.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#34 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.