We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque location, clean hotel and fabulous staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #60 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Picturesque location, clean hotel and fabulous staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The omni cancun is set on the beautiful white Sandy beach on the Caribbean Sea. We stayed in a standard bedroom, which had two double beds, a coffee making machine and a free mini bar which was restocked daily. I would describe the rooms as 'nice' but not special, having said that, we didn't spend a lot of time in there and the air conditioning was very welcoming. The hotel, pool areas, bars and restaurants were all very clean.

The entertainment staff were fabulous. A special mention to Luis and Carlos, who were good fun and do an excellent English accent! I loved the little anecdotes Carlos would give when doing the quiz.However, in the evening I would have liked to have seen the entertainment start later. It started at 8pm and finished before 10 pm. I would have liked it to have started at 10pm, so we can have dinner, be entertained and then go into the lobby bar for a nightcap. I was travelling with a 14 year old boy and there was not very much going on for him either.

The food and drink choice is excellent. Kukus jacuzzi bar on the beach is a great idea. The Paloma restaurant is busy, but the staff are very helpful. The only criticism is there are not any tea / coffee stations, where you can help yourself. The manager of the Paloma restaurant made me feel as if I was a nuisance when I asked for a take away coffee in the morning.

However, the restaurant we used mostly during our stay was the Piña Colada on the beach. The breakfasts were very tasty and the lunch menu was the best, we were able to dine on steak and cava! We booked and ate at the deva restaurant too. The staff at the piña colada / deva restaurant were all excellent and very attentive, our drinks were continually topped up. However, a special mention must go to Luis. He was absolutely brilliant, his English was excellent and when the children were asking for food off menu, nothing was too much trouble. He was our favourite member of staff!

We released baby turtles into the sea as part of the hotel turtle conservation programme. We also saw a large turtle laying eggs on the sand in the evening and the security guard ensured the turtle has plenty of space to lay her eggs. The hotel takes it's turtle conservation programme very seriously and we felt privileged to be part of it.

I would say the best thing going for the Omni Cancun is the staff, they have a lovely 'can do' attitude. From the reception staff, porters and the pool towel man, along with staff I have already mentioned. I would return with young children or as a couple / with friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel A, General Manager at Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear DJ Y:

Thank you very much for sharing with us such a detailed review of the OMNI Cancun Hotel & Resort.

I am very glad to learn that your stay at the OMNI was a very positive and memorable one.

We are proud about our service and passion involved in our daily work, and specially we feel so happy when we contribute to make our guests stays a fantastic experience.

I will share your kind words with our service staff and specially with Luis.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon at this su "casa" in Cancun!

Once again,

Thank you for SHARING!!

Michel Albahari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,647
    945
    315
    168
    105
See reviews for
970
1,075
70
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longford, Longford, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I apologize in advance for the following long review .I traveled in a party of four with one tennager we stayed at omni from aug7th for 2weeks.on arrival to hotel we were happy with enterance bell boy meet us and gave us a warm welcome shows us into the lobby.there we had a speedy check in but no welcome drink :( having stayed in Cancun twice before this was new to us after a long flight it would ave been nice .bell boy brought us to our room gave us a very quick overview of what was on offer.
Rooms_ clean basic nice balcony with seating we were on the lagoon side fab view no info on the resort on what was on offer or a map .I have stayed in other 5*resorts with much more info provided.
Food/drink _buffet served breakfast/lunch/dinner foods was good with varied choices .we ddidn't care for dinner poor but you had other options davada on beach you had to make reservations was very good probably the best .davincini adult only good food but we felt very rushed.we tried the LA vista $29pp so not worth it don't waste ur $ poor food and very rushed don't see the point in this restaurant. You had Mexican and sushi beach grill all great food cooked to order .
Service_this is what makes the hotel the staff work really hard and always with a smile .we found service on beach and pool side the best never without a drink or food .the cleaning staff in the room could learn a lot from these guys very poor room never cleaned right bed were made and that's about it floor never swpet and the balcony didn't exist .we had drop a paper on first day under the bed still there on day 14 along with a lot of dust......
Thank you to the following for great service herlinda bernabe Gilberto pool area .Beatriz Consuelo love u mom's Eric beach .sorry we didn't get to say bye to Oscar ignacion as hotel began to lay off staff and closed some restaurant down for day shame some great staff.Luis Benny entertainment grill alaso happy kept us entertained and lots of info.
Lobby could do with a good clean white drapes full of dust near black....
Beach was amazing clean beautiful waves strong lifeguard always on duty.baby turtles let out to sea at 7.30 pm just great.
Would cost Cancun again but won't stay in omni better hotel on offer for what you pay.all in all we had a great trip we made the best of it and met some great people.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort is absolutely incredible. There is no reason to leave this hotel. The staff is unbelievable, from the front desk to the waiters,to the entertainment crew...This is our 2nd year in a row coming here to this resort and we can not wait to return. You will be in awe! These people are FABULOUS!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed here for two weeks we thought it was okay and that it needed some work but we did enjoy it , the food was okay the breakfast was normally the same dinner was always different and that was nice to have a change they always had entertainment at night but i think it started a bit early and finished about half ten, so we normally missed it. i don't think the pool was deep enough they should of had a deep end and a shallow end i know they can't have a really deep end as of health and safety issues. They had a lovely beach and that was probably one of the best parts, they had a beach jacuzzi bar that shut about 6 which was a bit too early as that was when we wanted a drink so we had to go into the lobby bar which shut at 1 am, but we did think it was good hotel overall.

Room Tip: you probably want to get rooms from 1 to17 does not matter what floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful stay in Cancun at the Omni.
I had read all the previous reviews and felt confident in choosing this hotel.
All the usual aspects of a hotel stay we're excellent - the rooms (only 498), cleanliness, food, drinks, view, pools, the beach. But most importantly (even more so than the excellent service that everyone reports) was the
Location........ Beautiful and amazing beach and easy access via local bus ($1 for any distance), friendly lifeguards who are also turtle midwives and do a wonderful job.
Personally service has not been a top of my list for a holiday, but at the Omni it is second to none. With friendly, helpful and caring staff who go out of their way to look after you - even to the extent of carrying your plate to your table. We found it difficult at first, but it ended up being a game in our family of who could make to the table with plate in hand.
Anybody looking for a small, personal AI hotel can't go wrong with the Onmi resort Hotel & Villas.
Thank you Omni for an amazing holiday.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First off, I wish trip advisor would allow a 4.5 rating. My stay at the omni hotel was better than very good and slightly short of excellent!

First impression is the hotel is very nice aesthetically - colors,style, etc. We arrived mid afternoon and were immediately greeted by David, the concierge. He took our bags and directed us to check in. Check in was a breeze. We were given our room keys and an explanation of the resort and it's amenities. Very importantly... There was NO timeshare pressure from the folks there (as a matter of fact, my family didn't even get stopped in the airport by tour solicitors... Straight through to our transfer bus)! Once in our room, we we not disappointed. We had a bay view side room, 2 double beds (queen beds would be nicer but we managed). Refrigerator was full with bottled water, cold beers, bad a variety of sodas. Never had a problem with refills of the fridge daily.

Food was good to very good the whole stay. La Paloma - The buffet had decent variety and I always found myself making multiple trips back up. Viva Mexico does a nice job with tacos. - pastor style was the way to go for me. Pool bar area makes great wings, fries, etc. Was good to have that stuff in the afternoon with some cold beers! Sushi bar was also very good. Many different varieties on the menu and enjoyed getting it now and again. My daughter had it most days!! Piña colada along the beach had great views and a nice variety for lunch! Had soups, fish, burgers, and other things all of which they made well!! In the evening, the restaurant turns into la diva, which also served wonder dinner. DaVinci had great ambiance. Food there was good but not out of this world. I had the osso bucco which I've definatley had better but again, not bad. Wine is not served by the glass so you need to order bottles , which you are charged for. Like any place, average wine is pricey (30 bux for a $10 bottle) but no surprises there. La vista was GREAT for breakfast! Same food but different view and atmosphere for breakfast. Omelette station, cereal, fresh juice, mini buffet. Always a good start to the day. Servers were always great helping out! For dinner, an up charge to eat there (not sure why that is the case) really should not be. Food was good. Had the rib-eye... Good not great! Nice presentation, goood bread, good appetizers, good sides. Server was great and nice atmosphere. Unfortunately, one of my girls drank too many Shirley temples as food was being prepared and didn't feel so well when food arrived...so had to cut the night short...Would have liked to dine there again. All in all you won't be disappointed with taste, variety, and atmosphere. Even a picky eater should be able to find something they enjoy at every restaurant in the resort.

Beach
Ocean was calm for 8 out of 10 days there. Beach was clean of debris and for the first 7 of 10 days there was barely any or no seaweed at all. Water was calm 8 out of 10 days. Last couple it got a little rougher and seaweed was noticeably more abundant. Unfortunately, if you want beachfront cabana, u need to get up early and get your towel over some chairs ( same for the pool if you want a chair with shade). I hate this but it is everywhere. Hate seeing a towel sit in a chair and people are burning... So I got up early each day! Ok with that as sunrise is beautiful!!

Bars
Bartenders did a nice job serving drinks and food. Always tried to tip something and they were appreciative! shout out to Eric and Alejandro to name a few. Lobby bar, beach front bars, pool bar... All good folks working back there. Never had to wait long to get a good drink!!

Entertainment
Shows were good. Michael Jackson show, omni king and queen challenge. Dancing, and a few others stick out in my mind. All fun and worth viewing! Guys at the pool running daily activities were fun... Shot targets with Benny, Antonio with my aqua aerobics... Love doing that each day... Neeeed more folks trying it., Ponch doing yoga - my wife enjoyed, and Marco who emceed shows and stuff around the pool - all good guys making the days and nights fun. Music around the pool was decent. Could have had some female staff too in the forefront doing some of these things.

Kids club
Initially my girls (9 & 10) didn't really want to go but once they did, they had a good time and asked a few times to go back and do activities, hang out with other kids, do crafts, etc. The girls working there were very good with the kids and deserve credit for keeping kids busy most of the day and evening.

Turtle program is awesome. We got to see eggs hatch one day and release the turtles into the ocean one evening. When you are there, hopefully u can experience this as it was one family memory we will not forget..

All in all everything about the resort was wonderful. I would highly recommend and am strongly considering coming back next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another wonderful experience at the omni cancun. This was our honeymoon, and it was perfect. From the complimentary upgrade to the 20th floor water-view to the amazing couples massage at the spa, we enjoyed our stay to the max. Thanks to Gaby and Jasmine for the relaxing start to our final day. We highly recommend the massages as well as da Vinci, sushi, and la vista restaurants. The staff is so pleasant and the drinks are cold and strong all over the resort. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#33 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#60 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.