We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #58 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

First I booked this in January for a march trip. Had email confirmations as well as a phone call. Made guest requests of 2 beds in each room ( 6 people 3 rooms / 2 in each room) I am also a select gold guest which their site offers that gives you several amenities such as choice of drink to be delivered to you in the AM and free wifi (when the wifi decides to work) we arrive and are told oh we only have rooms with 1 bed sorry... I whipped out papers saying what I paid for how much in advance and my request. They followed up with oh that's a request not mandatory, touché. So they said "we can move you to another hotel 5 minutes away which is way higher class for 2 days and upon your arrival well give you a villa" we accepted. The hotel they sent us to was GARBAGE!!!! Grand paranassus STAY AWAY!!!!! Back to omni, they followed through with their word. Picked us up got th villa. Now here comes the good. The property is amazing and clean the food? Plenty of choices little places to eat all over on the beach piña colada is great and at night it changes names still great. The food is good no complaints. Service is great they work for you, we tipped, it's amazing how a few dollars can brighten a workers day and they'll make sure you're ok! Villa is awesome. Omni isn't bad and honestly will return next year. Only scary part is that they may move you around, couple workers said they've been doing that the passed year. Works in a sense of well move the guy who pays the most to a cheaper hotel pay for the room and still make money and they'll rent out the room you paid for, when you return they'll give you a villa no one paid for. I mean we sucked it up for 2 days to live like kings the remainder of our trip. Other than that issue which is pretty big the place is great

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,837
    1,042
    347
    179
    117
See reviews for
1,078
1,198
76
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is beautiful with it's views overlooking the ocean and seems to be well managed. The staff are very helpful and will go out of their way to assist you. There are ample food choices and the pools and beach are superb. The property is very clean. I didn't try the spa, but will next time I am there. I loved the ambience. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose to spend Thanksgiving week at the Omni. We did not do the all inclusive because there are so many wonderful places to eat off campus. The weather and beach couldn't have been nicer. The spa was more expensive and horribly underwhelming in comparison to my previous experiences in Mexico. I would go off site for spa services. The breakfast buffet was to die for! It was excellent every morning and I wish I could take some of their recipes home!! Pool side food was so so and the drinks were weak. They had an excellent canopy on the beach that could be rented for the day for about $25 American dollars but they serve limited menu items. It's worth the money. The Omni Kids Club was my daughters fav thing. It was a bit proxy at $25 per day but the activities and new friends were priceless! The live music and shows after dinner were exciting for the little ones. The staff was wonderful, the rooms were excellently cleaned and we had no real issues but will probably not be back just because The Royal Sands fit us a bit more. Some things that the Omni did offer was on site photographer (that does come down on price if you take too long to select your pix) and the concierge was able to set my hubby up with a local fisherman for some fishing in the flats. It is a good hotel for families with kids and on a budget whom want to spend most of their time an meals at the resort. All wonderful things just not the perfect fit for us!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagram, Afghanistan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well, we were quite surprised when we came to this resort as we were worried. Before I start the negatives I will touch on the positives. So far, this has been the nicest beach and the bluest water out of all of the resorts that we have stayed at. The beach was not rocky, you could walk into the ocean with out stubbing your toe or slipping on coral rocks. We were very happy with the beach, however this trip it was very windy and we were not supposed to go into the ocean because of the waves, we had our children with so we did not enjoy the ocean as much, which was sad because the ocean was warmer than all of the pools. Our room was fantastic with a fantastic view of the ocean, we did stay in a Villa I can not comment on the hotel rooms. But our villas was 3 floors, with 3 bedrooms, and 3 1/2 baths. Each bedroom also comes with a sundeck and patio furniture. The only thing that would have made the villa better would have been a private butler. We were happy with the villa for being able to be seperated from the kids having bedrooms with locks on the doors. The kitchen cabinents in the villa are ugly but big deal we did not use the kitchen. Our villa came with complimentary wifi for only 2 devices, and we could stock our fridge with whatever beer, juice etc.. that we wanted. I have read there is no other internet or free internet in the hotel. Now...what was bad about this hotel was the restaurants. They had two sit downs, one you could take children and one you could not. They also had a buffet, a pool side bar, along with a taco and sushi stand. But for dinner it was just buffets every night. This was the downside to this hotel was the eating. If you want a nice meal, we went out across the street from the hotel to the captains cove and had delicious fresh red snapper and carribean lobster. The beach i give this hotel 4 stars, the view of our room I give 4 stars, the restaurant options 2 stars.

Room Tip: we had a villa on the even number side it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Omni Cancun during the 1st week of February 2013 and had an amazing experience. The resort is very well maintained, staff are very helpful and we really loved the resort. We are vegetarians but the staff there helped us by customizing the meals for us.
I would definitely stay in it again if possible.

Room Tip: Take a room on the higher floors. Beach view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I happened to go during spring break and this place is more of a relaxing resort. There are still spring breakers but its a great mix of party goers, families and couples. I liked the resort, but the partner I was with didn't like it as much.

It's definitely not a party-it-up resort.

Bus drive about 15 minutes from the main entertainment strip.


HIGHLIGHTS - clean, nice rooms, great service, food was good at buffet, people were great, nice big beach, nice pools, amazing sushi bar, not busy during the day (lots of pool chairs, beach chairs and beach space), convenience store and pharmacy across the street is significantly cheaper than the resort, fast bar service (barely had to wait long for a drink, unless we ordered on the beach)

LOWLIGHTS - no 24 hour bar(can't get alcohol past 1:00am), NO DISCO to dance, nightly entertainment was mediocre at best, a la cartes were worse than the buffet, the Mexican restaurant wasn't that great, very small lobby compared to other resorts, no liquor in the room, most desserts were not good at all, only food available after 10pm can only be done thru room service (not even a nacho stand after 10),

TIPS - I personally liked the buffet better than both a la cartes. But Italian a la carte much better than Indonesian one.
At this resort we didn't have to wake up crazy early to get a beach chair on the beach! So sleep in!!!

Also, I wanted to be very thorough. I did put a lot of lowlights but take it with a grain of salt (eg: everyone doesn't need to eat OR drink past 1am lol).

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was looking for a quiet, warm spot in the sun and the Omni more than delivered. The hotel was immaculate, and I often caught the scent of bleach as maids were cleaning. The beds were comfortable and despite Cancun's party atmosphere, I rarely heard other guests. (This may be different during spring break -- there weren't a lot of partyers in the hotel in February

I mostly travel for beaches, and the one at the Omni is georgeous, however, the surf was very strong and red flag warnings were up all week, warning swimmers to stay out of the water. Many people ignored the warning and lifeguards were present to tow in those who got in trouble. If traveling with children, I would keep them out of the Carribean... it's just too rough.

The food at the buffets was pretty good. If that didn't suit, there was plenty of variety in food at various other spots throughout the hotel -- beachside, poolside, and included room service. I ordered room service a few times and service was prompt and the food was good. Drinks were plentiful, and average strength.

Hotel employees were very friendly and helpful. I would travel to the Omni Cancun again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#32 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.