We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice all inclusive resort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Save Saved
You added Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #68 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Bayport, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice all inclusive resort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This resort is an excellent all inclusive resort especially for families.( not for singles- there is no night life at all without leaving the premises.) We were 7 people and we booked very last minute through Costco. We got an amazing deal and were not disappointed. We have been to many all inclusive resorts over the years, and this was one of the better ones. It is very clean and the grounds, beach and room views are magnificent. The staff are friendly and accommodating, some more than others. Most staff knew only basic English, and many staff knew none at all. As far as food, there are two sit down and restaurants for dinner both that need reservations. The buffet for breakfast is amazing and the taco hut and Sushi bar are exceptional. The dinner buffet gets old quick, but the food is good.

The drinks were delicious and plentiful. One thing noteworthy is that if you are use to Sandals or Beaches where tipping is absolutely not allowed, this all inclusive allows and expects you to tip for everything. Not a 20% tip, but something is expected.

All in all, we were thrilled with our trip and would return again. One problem is the AC in the rooms. They do not keep the rooms very cold. It was fine for us in January, but there was no humidity.

Room Tip: You definitely want to request Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,009 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,542
    899
    301
    165
    102
See reviews for
891
1027
67
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was another last minute booking for me. I was last in Cancun in August '12 with my daughter who vacationed with me yet again. I've stayed at the Omni Cancun in the past and it was available on Thursday when i made the booking. The last time I was there was after Hurricane Wilma. With the beach back to what it was pre-Wilma its makes the hotel a wonderful family spot. The pool was nice. The beach..even nicer. They have waiter/waitress service on the beach and they are attentive. Top shelf booze, beer & food. Rooms were updated, clean and comfortable. The Jacuzzi bar & lobby bar were a nice place to get social with the other guests. The staff is also friendly. There is nothing bad I can say about the Omni Cancun. They work hard to keep the clean image. Keep up the good work.

V. Palazzo. Staten Island, NY

Room Tip: ask for the ocean side. Rooms i'm sure are the same. But the view speaks for itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Arrived at the Omni on 6th January. Weather helps of course but the cleanliness and very happy cheerful staff made our week superb. Room was spacious and had 2 double beds nice bathroom and separate sink area. I love to swim before breakfast in the pool and it was beautiful and very clean.( I've never seen a pool attendant actually clean the pool by being in it with his googles and hoover/cleaner). Breakfast has lots of variety and chefs to cook your eggs. Lunch can be taken in several different restaurants all very good, our best dinners were in the DaVinci a la carte and the Indonisian (only because we enjoy being served rather than a buffet). Waiting staff were always so obliging and service was the best. So sorry to leave, wish Mexico was nearer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We traveled for a week arriving on December 22 2012 along with our 2 teenagers (13 and 15). The check in was very quick after a 15 min bus ride from the airport. We had requested 2 rooms close ton each other and our request was meet. The rooms were clean and well furnish.
The loby, pools, beach were clean and beautiful. We paid for an all inclusive and we received that. The drinks were ok but non consistent. ( Jose at the beach bar was excellent).
The food was good I appreciate the a la carte in morning and at lunch. The negative point was the diners: the buffet was good. When I went to see the concierge to reserve the a la carte diners I was inform that since we had kids we could only go to the 6pm service. I said ok but we were Dec 23 and the closest date he gave me was Dec 27 at the Indonesian (it was excellent best food on the resort) I then ask to reserve the italian but was told that there was no more space for the rest of the week. It was too bad paying for a 4 star and getting to go to a la carte diner once in a week. I would recommend this hotel, it's quiet and the food is good (sushi bar, fast food, mexican...). The beach and ocean were excellent. What I enjoyed was the free wifi for Omni members and the location being right on the bus route and a short walk to aqua-world

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

An enjoyable trip of 2 Weeks in total was had by all however..... the initial Room Debacle on Check-In was a shame.... We moved rooms twice - The first was damp and smelly and the 2nd had only 1 x King Sized Bed - Alas we have 2 x Kids (10+12).. the 3rd attempt was an unsaleable room with Pull-Down Beds and a Sofa Bed Set-Up - With NO BALCONY - Not Great - but after a while we just wanted to get on with our trip! What's more surprising is that they wanted the room vacated by Noon as 'They had guests coming in who wanted that room' - Err. I think not.

The Hotel has a major floor in the Food Department - well to be fair.. this was mainly in the Main Dinning Area which was more like a canteen. Brightly lit and without soul or a place you really wanted to send much time in - A shame really as Food, Drink & Relaxation is part of most folks holiday....

We would return but only if they maintain realistic prices... failing that - watch this place drop in popularity!

Room Tip: The Rooms Need Refurbishment - What more can I say....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The staff is so so so friendly; so welcoming and inviting. The best food is at the taco hut by the pool and the dining by the pool for lunch and dinner. Also the dining by the beach during the day is great. The food is not the highlight of the trip though, very bland and not many choices in the main dining hall. Two of my friends are vegetarians and they struggled with choices. Our room was great and the bed was very comfortable. We had a lagoon view, which was great for sunsets. We were at the end of the hall and it was so quiet. My friend and I received massages at the spa and it was perfect! My friends and I spent most of our time at the beach which is steps away from the hotel. The service on the beach was perfect and the beach front was very clean. We walked the beach both ways and we found we had the cleanest beach spot! Our day trips planned by the hotel were great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at the Omni Hotel over New Year's Eve, (four days). The hotel is beautiful, and has great restaurants and bars. Pools were slightly chillier than I like, but the ocean was perfect! Big Jaccuzzi with a swim-up bar was lots of fun. We had a lagoon-view room, because the ocean-views were all taken. The lagoon view is very nice, and we could see the ocean from our balcony. Our two-double-bed room was clean and spacious. It is not the room pictured at websites. It is much larger and nicer. The one shown is actually a bedroom in a villa. If you are considering this hotel, be sure to look at guest pictures on TA for the best information.
Employees really strived to make everything perfect. Buffets were good, the Viva Mexico, and Sushi Bar were great for lunch, and the reservation restaurant Da Vinci's, was truly outstanding.
For NYE, Omni offered a party in a ballroom for an additional $80pp. Since it is an all-inclusive resort, we didn't see any reason to pay for that. There was also an outdoor festival by the pools with free blackjack, face-painting for kids, and other activities that we attended after a great dinner, instead.
The only downside, I noticed was that people "claimed" the beachfront chaise lounges early in the morning, and many never used them. It made it more difficult for those of us who wanted to lay out on the beach. Fortunately, the beach cocktail waitresses were good at helping to find lounges. (Reminded me of cruise ships.)
I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!! Highly recommended for everyone!
BTW: After 4 days, we moved down the beach to an adults-only resort. It was not nearly as nice as Omni.

Room Tip: I would probably pay extra next time for an ocean view. It is really spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#24 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#35 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.