We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #58 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Average fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Omni Cancun is just average. Nothing spectacular stuck out and nothing horrible to mention. The pool area is nice, but so are all of the pools at the all-inclusives in Cancun. It's pretty far down the strip away from the shopping and dining and partying areas, so if those are your favorite activities this may be a concern. There is a really cheap, but crowded, bus you can pick up right in front of the hotel. The room was clean, but uninspiring...typical 3-star hotel quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,947
    1,123
    379
    184
    120
See reviews for
1,169
1,267
84
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in Omni with my husband and four year old son. Omni is the best all in inclusive hotel in Cancun, in my opinion. The customer service is great. All the servers in the restaurants and bartenders are friendly and are happy to serve you. Da Vinci food is delicious. Rooms are clean and the housekeepers come twice a day. Room service is quick too. Omni is the only hotel that has a jacuzzi overlooking the beach. Order a mango lilly! Everything went very smooth during our stay. This was the first time we stayed in this hotel and comparing with over all inclusives Omni is a come back.

Room Tip: Travel in slow season like fall or spring
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

So disappointed in our timeshare exchange. Where to start...room they took us to was just a hotel room with shabby couches and slab beds. Pointed out we had exchanged a 1 bedroom, 2 bathroom, so they eventually opened up the other side that had a bed, balcony, bathroom, and empty hole-in-the-wall kitchen. Definitely not gold star. First problem: only all-inclusive at 119 US per day per person, so couldn´t get any food or drinks at hotel, had to go off site or pay for coupons that were ridiculously expensive buffets--so a hamburger would cost each of us $21 US. Umpteen stairs to get up to hotel or down to pools and beach, lounge chairs are not padded and very few places for shade. No wi-fi access unless paying $15 US per day even if you have Omni gold level cuz in a timeshare. If you like to swim in the ocean this is not the place--huge waves and red flags, stay in place on mile 1-5, not here. On the other hand the staff was very nice as they said no, or that will cost extra.

Room Tip: Do not stay on this side of the peninsula if you like to swim in ocean, much to rough, red flags. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Omni, booked through AA.com. My husband and I just wanted a short getaway and this was just perfect. I had read reviews and also heard comments while there, that the people who had come here for years didn't really like it becoming an all-inclusive. If we were to be there longer, I could understand that as you might want to try other places in town and not feel that you were "double paying". But the food was first rate, though culturally, I'm more of a TexMex taster. The non-alcoholic blended drinks were great, and with the mini-bar and room service included, we were pampered everywhere we turned. The beach is partly soft sand and partly coarser sand, but really lovely. All around, a great place!

Room Tip: The ocean view room we had was delightful in the afternoon, but the sun came in too early for me and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just had a great family Holiday at the Omni. We arrived on 19th October 2012 for a 13 night stay. Booked through Hotels4u.com and paid around £1400 for 2 Adults and 1 child All Inclusive for Hotel Only, Extra charge for Transfers. Lagoon / Sea view room including mini bar which was refilled everyday when required and had twin double beds and a balcony and was very nice. Room cleaned everyday with fresh towels and bed linen if required. We could not fault the room for the price paid. Be warned that this is also a Time share complex used by Mexicans / Americans and Canadians so you may be approached when you arrive. Just tell them you are not interested and they leave you alone.Hotel staff are very friendly and professional but be warned, most staff look for the odd tip. We tipped a couple of dollars when by the pool and at dinner in the evening. We found if you did this the waiter did that little bit extra for you and found our drinks especially in the day by the pool were a lot stronger when drinking mixers. They would also bring food to you from the pool bar. Swimming pools are spotless and the hotel is spotless. Restaurants have plenty of choice with a different theme every night of the week.Mexicans seem to like all meats and fish. 2 Tips:- When at breakfast ask for bacon and it will be brought to your table. When at dinner in the evening, if the kids want french fries, just ask and they will be brought to your table.There was no extra charge if Smirnoff / Absolute / Jack Daniels etc are asked for, but if you don't ask then expect the local spirits. Kids club looks well run but seems more suited for kids between 3 - 10 and our daughter was 12 and felt a little old. No real trouble on the beach, asked to buy the odd item, including cigars and typical holiday items. Free internet facility in business centre and wireless available at a charge.Entertainment staff were very good, great with the kids during the day and at night although the evening entertainment only lasted up until 2130, Then the entertainment team would ask if any older teenagers / adults would like to go downtown to clubs / bars escorted with VIP passes including transport which left the Hotel around 2230. All in all Hotel is excellent for families with young and slightly older kids which seem to be all catered for. Dolphininaris and Wet&Wild are worth a visit.We would definitely book again in the future and could find fault with the Hotel. Just remember you are in Mexico. Around 20 Mexican Peso's to the pound. You don't really need US Dollars, because if you pay in US Dollars your change will be in Peso's. Take more Peso's. 40 peso's (£2) worked well as a tip!!

Room Tip: Sea view and pool views look very good. We had an end block, lagoon view / sea view, could not fault...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel room was nice.the food was very good.The service was the best!!Everybody at this resort treats you better than you could ever imagine.Would come back in a heartbeat!The beach was great with wonderful views.WE had a lagoon view from our room,loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I'll start by saying that I stayed at this resort about 10 years ago and that's why I decided to visit it again. We made our reservation through Orbitz. The reservation was for all-inclusive for 5 people and included free internet. Thank goodness I had my printout from the reservation. When we arrived, the front desk only showed a reservation for 4 and no free internet. The staff was great. They made copies of my paperwork, pulled out a 5th bracelet, provided internet code, and we were off to our villa. The villa had a lot of room which we enjoyed.

In regards to the resort itself, it seems it's time for an update. The buildings are starting to show their age. We loved breakfast at La Paloma (best French Toast I've every tasted) and lunch at Pina Colada. We did eat at Da Vinci's but thought it was average. There was a self serve outdoor place to eat, I can't remember the name, but we did not care for it. In fairness, when we went, the normal cook was not there and the guy behind the grill was working very hard maning the grill...but his hands were dirty. Watching him wipe the sweat off his face with his bare hands, then stick his hand in the bag of potato chips and put it on my plate, was a turn off.

The staff was great. Anything we needed, they were on it...even if it wasn't their job. The waiters we had a La Paloma and Pina Colada remembered us each visit and knew our drink preferences after our first visit.

The pool area could use more shade but we loved the pool...and the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.