We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but has drawbacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Save Saved
You added Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #74 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but has drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at the Omni through a resort voucher program that we purchased through Groupon, so we got a crazy good deal on this hotel ($400 for 7 days - more on that here: http://www.groupon.com/ch/getaways/deals/ga-resort-stays-vouchers-kansas-city-mo)

Pro's: It's a very nice hotel. The lobby is beautiful, the pools are great and kept up. The staff is super friendly and folks are always cleaning. The rooms were also nice - we had a standard room with two doubles. Beds were comfortable & there's a fridge and microwave, which we utilized. Ocean access was really nice. Front desk staff is great.

Con's: If you aren't on the all inclusive meal plan, it's very difficult to eat at the hotel. The all inclusive meal plan is expensive ($120 per person per day, or if you get it multiple days it's $80 per person per day when they quoted us). If you want to just purchase something from a restaurant there, you have to go through a big hassle. For example, we were at the pool and wanted to buy lunch there, but you have to go to the hotel lobby and buy this all you can eat coupon, instead of just being able to purchase a taco or something.

They also charge you for EVERYTHING - internet was $15 a day, and when I went to buy sunscreen at the hotel shop (50 SPF bottle of Coppertone) it was $340 pesos (about $30 US dollars). That is CRAZY.

Jacuzzi wasn't really a jacuzzi. It was about 75 degrees and felt like bathwater (ewwww).

Bit of a hike up and down to the bus stop (lots of stairs and not exactly well lit at night).

Watch out for the time share sharks in the lobby and pushy tour folks. One older woman, her name is Susie, was SUPER pushy with myself and my husband. She asked us if it was our first time in Cancun when we were on our way out of the hotel to eat lunch downtown (since we couldn't eat at the hotel without purchasing the all inclusive package that was way overpriced). We politely said it was and tried to leave, but she kept pushing her tour packages then started yelling (yes, yelling) "Why don't you tell me the truth! You are going to meet someone you met at the airport!" Ummmm....what? Weird and super irritating.

Finally, we went on spring break week, which we expected some spring break party folks. I would say about half the hotel was spring breakers and half was young families. Not exactly a romantic environment for couples.

Overall, it's a nice hotel with some drawbacks. We got a crazy good deal, but I wouldn't pay more to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,905 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,479
    866
    295
    163
    102
See reviews for
843
1002
65
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed the week of march 3-10, first 3 days were incredibly windy but that has nothing to do with the hotel. Hotel and grounds including the beach are spotless. Rooms are nothing fancy but very functional, who comes to mexico to spend more time than needed in their rooms. the bed was fine and way better than the Riu where we stayed last time. Food was very good with alot of variety, and numberous options avaliable. Service was wonderful and seemed very genuine, smiles and "hola" from all of them. pool and beach wait staff and bartenders were first class and work non stop to please you. the change over to all-inclusive has angered lots of the vacation club owners,maybe for good reason but they should really keep their negative feelings about this to themselves, as most of the others booked this resort for the all- inclusive. for your information this is a franchise omni so there are bound to be differances remeber you are in a different country.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Omni is a great choice when choosing to stay in Cancun. Only 15 minutes from the airport, you can hit the beach soon after landing. The resort has several pool decks, two swim up bars (one with hot tubs), plenty of beach and pool side sitting and great service. I mean great service. If things are broken, they get fixed fast. Everyone is so nice and friendly - this is their best quality of many. A must stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012 via mobile

Well this was my third time to Mexico, and we had gone with 5 people total.

Beach: the beach overall was clean! The waves were very high (red flagged all week). Long and wide and lots of chairs and huts!

Pool: it was cold but clean. There is two big pools and one jacuzzi, and a kiddie area!

Food: the food was amazing! Room service was fast and was available 24/7. There is 2 a la carts. I loved both but my favorite was Da Vinci. The lobster was $35 us dollars extra (200grams).

Rooms: the water would not go down in the tub or sink! The beds were very comfortable! We had two double beds with 3 people in our room! Honestly the only thing that really bothered me was the hallways! It was very noisy! The doors banged so loud that my heart would almost fall out of my chest all times of the day/night!

Would I go back to Omni?! Most likely not but it's a great resort for couples, and older couples! There was no disco on the resort but downtown cancun is 15 min away!

Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

First I would like to start by saying that this is our second all inclusive experience. The first one was another "5 star" rated record in Puerto Vallarta. As a result of the previous experience comparisons were inevitable. There would have to be some major improvements for me to give he Omni 5 stars.

The Pros of this experience:

1. This was a reasonably priced All Inclusive

2.The room was simply amazing. We chose an ocean view room that was nice but had double beds. When we moved to one with a king size bed it was spectacular. It was an end unit which was great. While it wasn't directly on the ocean (the pool was in the way) the view was expansive.

3. Room service was excellent. We had some Mexican snack items and beer and it was just fine. No complaints at all.

4. Staff were generally helpful but it sometimes seemed that the coordination of staff was a bit lacking. For example one person would ask you if you wanted a drink and then go off and get it for you. A moment later another person would ask you if you wanted a drink. Sometimes "over service" can be a bit annoying.

5. The sushi restaurant (by the pool) was extremely good. I think most people were in agreement with that.
The Cons of this experience:

1. The specialty restaurant food was mediocre at best. While I have to say we are a bit spoiled with many of our restaurant and food experiences, my conclusion is based on my inevitable comparison of the last All Inclusive we went to. (At that one I have to say that pretty well every meal was perfection and the food I would say was the highlight). At Omni there were 2 specialty restaurants (Da Vinci - Italian and Pina Colada - Indonesian). They were absolutely mediocre. Sorry Omni!! Perhaps this feedback and feedback like it will encourage some changes.

2. The buffet (lunch and breakfast) was often quite good. There were a few excellent dishes on occassion and I have to say that there were times that I thought "Now if that buffet dish was one of the specialty restaurant meals I wouldn't complain!"

Finally, I would have to reiterate that our previous all inclusive experience spoiled us for this one. Omni is quite a good place and I would certainly see it as a great place for families.

- Many steps above mediocre. Quite a bit below perfection.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room facing the beach. Be prepared for quite a bit of noise though since facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Excellent service all around, but few flaws such as:

We had to change rooms because of construction noises during the night! Went to complain at 4am and had to bring the manager back to our room to prove the drilling and hammering noises.

Reservations at Da Vinci and Deva are at only 6pm if you have children! This was not mentioned anywhere.

On the positive side, the service is excellent, premises are clean and food is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We just spent eight nights at the Omni and were pleasantly surprised.We normally stay in Puerto Morelos area (Secrets Capri or Grand Sunset Princess) but needed to be in Cancun
for a business seminar at a nearby hotel. From the arrival to departure everything was first class. We were given a nice upgrade in room category at no additional charge for being an Omni Select Guest Member(you should go online and sign up for it free of charge before traveling) and started eight wonderful days at the Omni. Food was abundant and excellent at the buffets as well as the ala carte restaurants. Da Vinca(Italian) was our favorite. The staff made our stay even more wonderful. After the first day the knew our names and treated us as if we were family. Carlos and Miguel in the buffet restaurant gave us great service and were extremely helpful with bus directions and Cancun advice in general.
After more than twenty trips to Mexico we will always strongly consider the Omni Cancun for our next Cancun resort.

Room Tip: Sign up for Omni Select Guest awards program. Free signup online Omni's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#24 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#37 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.