We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Krystal Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Krystal Cancun to your Saves list
Krystal Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Kukulcan, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Los Angeles, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Came here on a family trip. As we entered the hotel lobby I knew we were in trouble. The lobby didnt feel cool/air conditioned. Check in was quick and simple. We arrive to our room(2) which had the a.c. working at full blast but it came with a sacrifice, it was very LOUD! The rooms are dirty, smelly and the bed sheets were disgusting! We asked to have them replaced twice due to bug bites and it wasn't until our third request and purposely dirting them, were they replaced. The food was okay. Seemed to be the same'ol bland flavorless food everyday. 2nd day I had a round of stomach aches and throwing up. This ended my apietize. The bar is smelly. The tap handle has a CORONA beer logo on it BUT it ain't Corona they're giving you. Trust me!! Our 2nd day there our room keys had to be replaced. This happened twice. The beach and 5 minute walk to all of Cancuns entertainment seems to be the only con's for this hotel. Overall, the food sucks, service sucks, rooms smell and staff always seem to be in sales mode...oh, if you taste the food and don't like it, there's a really really good taco Restraunt behind the hotel called Rigos Tacos, highly recomend the tacos gringos!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Gerente at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Nothing much to say..

This is an accurate review.

If you like Tacos Rigo maybe we are not the hotel you are looking for.

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    658
    332
    176
    152
See reviews for
473
777
58
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little elm
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I lost my all inclusive bracelet within 5 minutes of arriving... And no I wasn't drunk yet! , and they didn't blink an eye to replace it! - bars on the beach have best service ever! " ask for the SUPER CREW! Jorge, Aracely, and "chocomil"-Manuel! If ur relaxing on the beach they will get u Anything u want in a hurry! I will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newjersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Hotel had the best location I think in Cancun. Next to the party clubs and feet from the beach. Beach was beautiful.we stayed on the 7th floor and the view of the water was fantastic. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly.we had all inclusive and the food was very tasty, but may have contacted some virus had stomach pains toward the end of the trip. Take medication and prepare. Overall great place to stay and lots of activities to enjoy. Was hot in July as expected.

Room Tip: i prefer the higher floors for the scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Gerente at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you so much for this great review.

Gracias for coming over to Krystal Cancun.

If there is anything i may do for you please let me know

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Where to start? If you get a room here, and they put you in the far south end of the building, ask for a new room ASAP! We were in the very last room (3211 I think) at the end of hallway. Shortly after unpacking everything, the club next door started blasting their music. Shaking the concrete walls. The balcony door didn't lock, and was adjacent to the building next door with a ladder. The AC was non-adjustable and set at 77!
We asked for a new room and the front desk was rather rude and indifferent (apparently this happens a lot).
We went back, packed our stuff and got a new room (2213). This was about 10 rooms down from our last room. Music was still blasting, but at least the walls weren't shaking. We no longer had a balcony (which we paid for), but instead had sliding 'doors' to a 1 foot deep ledge. The AC in this room also did not work.
The AC in both rooms were LOUD, but hardly any air was coming out, and what air did come out was room temp. Back to the front desk for a new room. Was told they were full, but to come back the next day at noon and they'll get us a new room.

Hardly slept that night due to the noise and heat in the room (we even had the window open because it was cooler outside than in the room). Didn't unpack, since we were hopeful for a new room.

Went back at noon (after having breakfast), they told us to come back at 3 and they'll have a room for us. Finally got a room (1521), AC was working and adjustable. But it was now 2 full beds, instead of a king. Overall, we lost a full day of vacation switching rooms and waiting for another room to be available.

The bar staff were no better than the front desk. Everytime we went to the bar by the pool, the guy would look up at us, and continue what he was doing (restocking the fridge), eventually he came over to take our order. He was quick to drop what he was doing to help the scantily clad young women though.

The 'Hospitality' desk was even less helpful. We asked about bus/cab transit to Playa del Carmen, also info on the hotel (maps, amenities, etc), they basically go into a sales pitch for excursions or try to sign you up for a 90 minute session (probably for a timeshare). Not once did they even attempt to answer any of our questions. After telling them 'No' 3-4 times, their English all of sudden get's broken up and they seem not able to communicate with you.

The wi-fi was horrible. You had to re-login everytime you try to use it. less than 25% of the time were you actually able to connect. And when you were able to connect, give yourself 2-3 minutes for any page to come up, or refresh.

The ONLY friendly staff we encountered were all the bell-hops (especially Eusebio, he was very nice and helpful).

What's good about this place? The location if you want to be close to the bars/clubs. Easy to get to/from Playa Caracol (if you are going/coming from Isla Mujeres).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel was the very last hotel situated in the strip on the hotel zone. Meaning is is literally a few steps from the hotel to the strip of clubs/bars. Although I did not get the all inclusive deal for my trip, I still like the rooms and hotel cleanliness. The room did smell musty as previous reviews indicated but I think it's due to the sea proximity. The breakfast buffet was lovely and the beach is right in your backyard. Wifi works great in the rooms and air conditioning works great also. The maids come everyday! I would stay here again and recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Gerente at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
thank you very much for staying in Krystal Cancun

It is good to see you liked the services we provide.

Hopefully you can visit us in the future.

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Was booked here for our annual vacation of 12 nts. The hotel is listed as a 4* property. This rating I would seriously doubt and In my opinion it would be lucky to scrape a 2* rating.
We only lasted for two nights and gave up and have moved to another hotel in Cancun.
The staff when trying to sort out issues, become aggressive and to be quite honest just couldn't care less.
So what made us leave this 'hotel'
Dirty rooms, soiled bed linen, rooms smelling strongly of damp. Food awful with condensation and water dripping from the Air Conditioning units onto food and meals. Very Unhygienic. Just the worst customer service experience ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I have been nothing but quiet, heavy tipping guests yet the staff (and especially management) have been worse than a motel 6 run by tweekers (aside from Frank).After 5 times calling for room service at lunch and being hung up on I gave up. At dinner I called a total of 14 times. The manager promised someone would stop hanging up on me and call in less than one minute to at least take an order. No one called. When I kept calling the manager to complain, he never apologized and hung up on me twice. I never raised my voice or caused a fuss yet was given this incredible amount of inconsiderate, unapologetic, and obvious uncaring service. The Kyrstal should be ashamed of themselves and I will continue posting this review elsewhere. This is the first time I've been mad enough to ever even make a review.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krystal Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Cancun

Address: Paseo Kukulcan, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krystal Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Krystal Cancun offers the best of both worlds. It is in the prime area of Punta Cancun — the heart of the activities and entertainment district of Cancun — yet once you step through our doors, leave the hustle and bustle of the world behind as you relax on our stretch of white sand beach, take a dip in our hotel’s panoramic pool, or enjoy a massage at the spa or even better, abandon yourself in our beach bali beds. Everything you could need or want is at your fingertips and our goal is to ensure your ultimate relaxation.Our resort’s stunning rooms and suites have been designed for every kind of traveler in mind, from our Family Rooms, which provides more space, to our ocean view guest rooms, to our Suites — including the Master and Presidential Suites which have their own private pools!We’ll tantalize your palate with a wide range of cuisines in our three restaurants, cool your thirst at our three bars, ease your wallet with our affordable all-inclusive plan, and even handle all of the details for your meeting, conference, wedding, or group event.When it’s time to get away from it all, come to Cancun and let us pamper you at the Krystal Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Krystal Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Cancun Hotel Cancun
Nh Hotels Cancun
Nh Krystal Cancun Hotel
Krystal Hotel Cancun
Nh Krystal Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krystal Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.