We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, but that's about all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Krystal Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
You added Krystal Cancun to your Saves list
Krystal Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Kukulcan km 9, lotes 9 y 9A, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 (USD)
Ranked #77 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice beach, but that's about all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Where to start? If you get a room here, and they put you in the far south end of the building, ask for a new room ASAP! We were in the very last room (3211 I think) at the end of hallway. Shortly after unpacking everything, the club next door started blasting their music. Shaking the concrete walls. The balcony door didn't lock, and was adjacent to the building next door with a ladder. The AC was non-adjustable and set at 77!
We asked for a new room and the front desk was rather rude and indifferent (apparently this happens a lot).
We went back, packed our stuff and got a new room (2213). This was about 10 rooms down from our last room. Music was still blasting, but at least the walls weren't shaking. We no longer had a balcony (which we paid for), but instead had sliding 'doors' to a 1 foot deep ledge. The AC in this room also did not work.
The AC in both rooms were LOUD, but hardly any air was coming out, and what air did come out was room temp. Back to the front desk for a new room. Was told they were full, but to come back the next day at noon and they'll get us a new room.

Hardly slept that night due to the noise and heat in the room (we even had the window open because it was cooler outside than in the room). Didn't unpack, since we were hopeful for a new room.

Went back at noon (after having breakfast), they told us to come back at 3 and they'll have a room for us. Finally got a room (1521), AC was working and adjustable. But it was now 2 full beds, instead of a king. Overall, we lost a full day of vacation switching rooms and waiting for another room to be available.

The bar staff were no better than the front desk. Everytime we went to the bar by the pool, the guy would look up at us, and continue what he was doing (restocking the fridge), eventually he came over to take our order. He was quick to drop what he was doing to help the scantily clad young women though.

The 'Hospitality' desk was even less helpful. We asked about bus/cab transit to Playa del Carmen, also info on the hotel (maps, amenities, etc), they basically go into a sales pitch for excursions or try to sign you up for a 90 minute session (probably for a timeshare). Not once did they even attempt to answer any of our questions. After telling them 'No' 3-4 times, their English all of sudden get's broken up and they seem not able to communicate with you.

The wi-fi was horrible. You had to re-login everytime you try to use it. less than 25% of the time were you actually able to connect. And when you were able to connect, give yourself 2-3 minutes for any page to come up, or refresh.

The ONLY friendly staff we encountered were all the bell-hops (especially Eusebio, he was very nice and helpful).

What's good about this place? The location if you want to be close to the bars/clubs. Easy to get to/from Playa Caracol (if you are going/coming from Isla Mujeres).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
6 Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel was the very last hotel situated in the strip on the hotel zone. Meaning is is literally a few steps from the hotel to the strip of clubs/bars. Although I did not get the all inclusive deal for my trip, I still like the rooms and hotel cleanliness. The room did smell musty as previous reviews indicated but I think it's due to the sea proximity. The breakfast buffet was lovely and the beach is right in your backyard. Wifi works great in the rooms and air conditioning works great also. The maids come everyday! I would stay here again and recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank vkim0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Gerente at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
thank you very much for staying in Krystal Cancun

It is good to see you liked the services we provide.

Hopefully you can visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Was booked here for our annual vacation of 12 nts. The hotel is listed as a 4* property. This rating I would seriously doubt and In my opinion it would be lucky to scrape a 2* rating.
We only lasted for two nights and gave up and have moved to another hotel in Cancun.
The staff when trying to sort out issues, become aggressive and to be quite honest just couldn't care less.
So what made us leave this 'hotel'
Dirty rooms, soiled bed linen, rooms smelling strongly of damp. Food awful with condensation and water dripping from the Air Conditioning units onto food and meals. Very Unhygienic. Just the worst customer service experience ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
15 Thank stene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I have been nothing but quiet, heavy tipping guests yet the staff (and especially management) have been worse than a motel 6 run by tweekers (aside from Frank).After 5 times calling for room service at lunch and being hung up on I gave up. At dinner I called a total of 14 times. The manager promised someone would stop hanging up on me and call in less than one minute to at least take an order. No one called. When I kept calling the manager to complain, he never apologized and hung up on me twice. I never raised my voice or caused a fuss yet was given this incredible amount of inconsiderate, unapologetic, and obvious uncaring service. The Kyrstal should be ashamed of themselves and I will continue posting this review elsewhere. This is the first time I've been mad enough to ever even make a review.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
13 Thank Pierce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

When we first arrived we noticed that the lobby was extremely warm. I understand it is cancun, but if you are going to have an enclosed lobby it should be well air conditioned. When we entered our room we noticed it was warm as well. The air conditioning could not keep up with the conditions, considering that the window had a huge gap in it when it was “closed.” Bar areas were understaffed. If you wanted to get a drink it took forever. Also, in the pool area there was one waitress for the entire resort. At one point I went to the snack bar they had run out of baskets to serve food in, and they proceeded to tell me it would be like 30mins until they could start serving again. Water I felt was scarce. There was either no water or it was hot when served to you. That is a serious issue when it is in the middle of July in Mexico. The restaurants served the same for breakfast, lunch and dinner; there was no variety.Overall, my experience at this resort was not very good. I would not stay here again nor recommend anyone to stay here.
I do want to say this the staff was very pleasant and polite

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
12 Thank vacay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Krystal was so much fun! To start off the bellboys are awesome! Julio, was great he gave us some insider tips about Cancun and the hotel. We got the all-inclusive package for 4 nights and five days! I recommend making reservations early in the morning for the El Portero Restaurant (which was delicious). The rooms are good, and the only downfall was that the AC was giving out the last night. The best part about this hotel is its location to the clubs and downtown. The beach, food, and service was excellent!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
2 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here with 3 other couples (all in their 30s) for 1 week. Our rooms could not have been more different even though we paid the same. Don't prepay for ocean view. Just get there and see if you get one anyway and if you don't, ask to switch. Food is decent- except for room service which was wrong each time I ordered and took 80 minutes twice. El Portreo is great with the mariachi band. You are permitted to eat there twice in a week. The main issue with this hotel is that you are on a gorgeous beach and it "closes" at dark (7:30 pm this time of year). With no nighttime activities on property, what else are you supposed to do after dinner? This would have been easier to swallow had the security guards not admitted that it was only Americans who were not allowed on the beach. Dead serious. They told us each night we tried to go on the beach that Mexicans were allowed on the beach and we might get robbed so we weren't allowed to be there for our own safety. The only way around it is if we walked down a dark alley a few blocks down ( in the middle of the nightclub area) and entered the beach from the public entrance. I can't make this stuff up. We were furious. Also, most bars close at 6 and Only one bar is open until midnight. The pool also closes early. Overall, this is a discount hotel. Expect all the service you encounter (if you do all inclusive package) to be "discount" also.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
6 Thank JLWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.6 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.2 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#67 of 179 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
1.4 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#97 of 179 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 2,159 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Cancun
Barcelo Costa Cancun
#53 of 179 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Cancun

Address: Paseo Kukulcan km 9, lotes 9 y 9A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krystal Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Krystal Cancun offers the best of both worlds. It is in the prime area of Punta Cancun - the heart of the activities and entertainment district of Cancun - yet once you step through our doors, leave the hustle and bustle of the world behind as you relax on our stretch of white sand beach, take a dip in our hotel's panoramic pool, or enjoy a massage at the spa or even better, abandon yourself in our beach bali beds. Everything you could need or want is at your fingertips and our goal is to ensure your ultimate relaxation. Our resort's stunning rooms and suites have been designed for every kind of traveler in mind, from our family rooms, which provides more space, to our ocean view guest rooms, to our suites - including the master and presidential suites which have their own private pools! We'll tantalize your palate with a wide range of cuisines in our three restaurants, cool your thirst at our three bars, ease your wallet with our affordable all-inclusive plan, and even handle all of the details for your meeting, conference, wedding, or group event. When it's time to get away from it all, come to Cancun and let us pamper you at the Krystal Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Krystal Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Cancun Hotel Cancun
Nh Hotels Cancun
Nh Krystal Cancun Hotel
Krystal Hotel Cancun
Nh Krystal Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing