We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you say Nice Hotel?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krystal Cancun

Save Saved
You added Krystal Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Krystal Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Kukulcan, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Can you say Nice Hotel?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I checked into the hotel very late ion a thursday night and after a long day of travel was met with a complimentary drink... warm but good. The main lobby was gorgeous as in the pics and the room in TOWER A was great.. I had to request face cloths daily because there were none when we arrived in the room. Also i needed the bathroom cleaned daily because of the ceiling shower head the floor kept getting wet and the bathroom smelled..

Room Tip: I was in Tower a im not sure what Tower b looks like
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for writing down a review in tripadvisor.

I want to follow up into this.

Could you please let me know your travels dates? So i can check the issue you mentioned directly.

Thank you.

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    562
    536
    270
    135
    117
See reviews for
374
628
48
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I just returned from "my home away from home", which is the Krystal in Cancun. The hotel may not be the newest and most modern, but you cannot find a better location and more friendly staff anywhere else. I know so many of the employees, from the janitor (Juan Carlos) to the General Mgr. (Senor Luis Medina). Everybody does their best to make you feel comfortable and at home.
The activity staff (Oscar, Mauricio & Ximena) are always there to help you, just like the bellboys (Rafael, Gabriel & Julio). I can always count on the waiters Balam, Venusciano, Fernando, Asterio Jorge & Maria to give excellent service. The same goes for the bartenders Xavier, Jorge, Aida, Christian, Manuel, Cecilia in the Lobby Bar and Norma and Linda outside in the pool area. I also want to mention Cynthia and Alex in Timeshare doing a wonderful job. My very best friend is Patricia in the Club Krystal. She goes out of her way to make you feel at home and help you with any problem. This trip her temporary assistant was Mauricio (Luis had left). I would recommend him for this job in the future, because he is friendly and does a good job even under pressure on Patty's day off. Lupita also has become a good friend in the evening shift at Club Krystal, because she keeps me entertained, when I am there all by myself. I am always glad, when Clementina is my maid, because I never have to ask for anything. She does her job consistingly well. The last praise I have to give to the Azteka Band. The drummer Mike Santana recognized me after 30 years not seeing him and even knew my name. I was impressed and happy. It reminded me of my younger years, when there was continuous music in the Lobby Bar. I am glad they are back for a few evenings each week. Having the Caribbean night outside with the music is a great idea of the new Food & Beverage Mgr. Vicente. Also the Mexican decorations in Aquamarina make it look more authentic and friendlier. Before I end this long review, I want to thank Sr. Ernesto Orozco and Sr. Medina for their continued friendship and great job at the Krystal. With such a perfect location and wonderful staff I have to call it my "Home away from Home". If I forgot to mention anybody blame it on my old age. I have been coming to this location for 30 years and will continue to do so my health permitting it. A big THANK YOU to all.
Monika Philmon from Houston, Texas

Room Tip: I prefer staying in Tower B on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hola Ms. Monika!

This is Paris... Omg.. It is so nice to receive this amazing review, i have sent ti to everyone in the hotel. Actually we have it a big wall in the human resources area.

You are such a nice person and we really want to thank you for coming in here twice a yar and straying 10 days each time.

You are a great repetitive guest and we like you a lot in here... YOU KNOW IT!

See you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtice, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Mauricio was aún exceptionally good activista director ! The service has bien excelente! Water And beach beatifico! The room was very clean And the maids día their Job very well. Food is diferentes, but delicious. All the staff have been very nice And helpfull. Walking distance to all the shops was perfect, And Starbucks was a plus :). Loved how bar opens quite early, And how they are very genéricos. I would recomendados Krystal to my familia And friends! Thank you for all your hard work, very appreciated!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing these excellent commments of Krystal Cancun.

We are very pleased to see you liked our services and the product we offer.

I will tell Mauricio that he is doing a good job.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We purchased the romantic package, not all inclusive, but with the breakfast buffet and cake and champagne. We stayed in the newer building, and the room was lovely, and clean. We could barely communicate with the front desk clerk, and if he told us that OUR free breakfast was on the 8th floor, NOT the main restaurant, we didn't comprehend him. So we ended up going to the main restaurant, where the breakfast was very good, but cost $20 a day, which we hadn't expected. When we talked to someone at the front desk, he just smiled and shrugged.

Room Tip: You can't get a better view than in the newer towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.

I will check these theme you mentioned with the front desk agent who checked you in.

When guests reserve the krystal Club tower (new tower) it includes a continental breakfast in the club lounge plus wine and petit fours and snakcs during the evening.

Also guests have a $10 usd credit for the main buffet restaurant.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I had never been to Cancun so when I saw a good all-inclusive deal on LivingSocial I thought it would be a fun, quick, cheap getaway for our first anniversary. We came to quickly realize that some deals are too good to be true. We were disappointed when it took 4 trips to the front desk before we got a clean room. We didn't get the king bed we were expecting (to be fair the hotel did seem close to sold out) but to have to trek up and down multiple times in order to get a room that had been cleaned and didn't have workmen in it seemed more than excessive. Upon getting a room that was clean, I was again disappointed in the overall quality of the space. There was black near every duct in the room which had me concerned, and the drop ceiling in the bathroom seemed to potentially have mold. I totally understand humidity being a major issue here...but it just seemed there was a lot of delayed maintenance in the rooms.
I was generally unimpressed with the food options until we discovered the off-property Mexican restaurant where you are required to make a reservation. That food definitely exceeded the other options.
We also found the timeshare folks that were in the hotel to be terrible. First they dressed in uniforms close to those of the actual hotel staff which is confusing. Then they tried to sell us a deal in spite of the fact that we had an all-inclusive. If we hadn't realized they were likely trying to get us to agree to a deal pitch we could have ended up like other folks having to sit through long discussions of timeshare opportunities over breakfast which would have absolutely killed the vacation.
Overall - the hotel was unimpressive, we did enjoy the hotel bar staff at the middle outside bar and a couple of our waiters. I think we quickly realized we prefer a boutique hotel in a little town that's up and coming to the resort hotel in a tourist trap city.
That said, the beach and the water nearly make up for everything else. The surroundings were stunning...if only our room could have been as well...

Room Tip: Definitely make sure you know what you're going to get. Be explicit about what you're lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review.

I am sorry for have not succeded your expectations. I have checked this theme and unfortunately the front desk agent assigned you a room that was not for guests use. We have already took action of this issue.

Please let me assist you for any information.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We bought a Groupon for this hotel and after reading some of the reviews I was nervous but the hotel turned out to be great! If you are not a hotel snob, then this is a perfect resort! We stayed in a club room on the 3rd floor. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the views and balcony were amazing! The bed was large and comfortable. The 2 things I didn't like about the room was that we only had the mirror in the bathroom, no full length. But when I visited our friends' room they had a full length mirror so maybe it was just ours. The 2nd was that you needed your room key to turn on the power in the room. It always made me nervous because I didn't want to walk out of the room and forget it was in the power slot.

We ate at the breakfast buffet in Aquamarina, which was decent and to be expected of an all inclusive breakfast buffet. I thought that had a lot of choices including a made to order omelet station. We tried the room service as well and thought everything was pretty good...my husband loved the chicken fingers lol! Club sandwich was good, pasta was good, quesadillas were standard. Didn't try the other restaurants and I was disappointed because I didn't get to try the sushi bar.

We ate at El Mortero one night, pretty good food but we tried to make a reservation and they told us it was too late so we went anyway and the guy at the door gave us attitude but sat us anyway and the place was pretty much empty! Not sure why it was such a hassle. I had the sangria, guacamole, and chicken fajitas...pretty good.

The location is fantastic! Walking distance to tons of restaurants, shops, clubs, etc. Perfect!

The beach was amazing! Pool was great too! Daniel by the pool was great! Bringing us drink after drink, sometimes without us even asking!

It was a great trip. I didn't hear any music from the clubs at all from my room (I think we were in the B building. I would definitely stay here again...for the price, you cant go wrong!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the club room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write down a review from us.

Afet reading your opinion we can see youliked the services we have in the hotel. It was an honor being part of your recent holidays in Mexico.

I kindly appreciate your preference. I will check with the room division manager why we don't have the mirror you mentioned in that room. like all the other rooms do.

Hope to see you soon in a near near future!

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

we got a great deal we didnt buy the timeshare vacation deal. we spent 5 days there what a wonderful time i had the food was great the staff was super super great a very special thanks to Cecilia and Christain the bar teneders in the lobby keep up the good work and also to the waiter Jorge what a awsome guy hope to see you all again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Very brief and amazing comments.

Gracias for visiting our country... We are glad to read reviews like this one.

Krystal Cancun it's waiting for you!

=)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Krystal Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Cancun

Also Known As:
Krystal Cancun Hotel Cancun
Nh Krystal Cancun
Nh Hotels Cancun
Nh Krystal Cancun Hotel
Nh Krystal
Krystal Hotel Cancun
Nh Krystal Hotel Cancun
Address: Paseo Kukulcan, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#71 Business Hotel in Cancun
#71 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krystal Cancun 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Krystal Cancun offers the best of both worlds. It is in the prime area of Punta Cancun — the heart of the activities and entertainment district of Cancun — yet once you step through our doors, leave the hustle and bustle of the world behind as you relax on our stretch of white sand beach, take a dip in our hotel’s panoramic pool, or enjoy a massage at the spa or even better, abandon yourself in our beach bali beds. Everything you could need or want is at your fingertips and our goal is to ensure your ultimate relaxation.Our resort’s stunning rooms and suites have been designed for every kind of traveler in mind, from our Family Rooms, which provides more space, to our ocean view guest rooms, to our Suites — including the Master and Presidential Suites which have their own private pools!We’ll tantalize your palate with a wide range of cuisines in our three restaurants, cool your thirst at our three bars, ease your wallet with our affordable all-inclusive plan, and even handle all of the details for your meeting, conference, wedding, or group event.When it’s time to get away from it all, come to Cancun and let us pamper you at the Krystal Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Krystal Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krystal Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.