We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience. Ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Krystal Cancun

Save Saved
You added Krystal Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Krystal Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Kukulcan, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience. Ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you plan to stay at the Krystal Cancún, beware of the cheating staff! It started out great, warm welcome at the entrance from a guy "Alex". Afterwards we had to go to 8th floor to the "VIP check in". After the check in we went to our room with an ocean view (really nice), and an OK nice room and bathroom and flat screen tv (didn't use it, so don't know if it really worked or not). Shortly after we recieved a bottle of champagne and a cake to share (apparantly they thought we were on honey moon - tell them the same when you book, then you'll probably get it as well). The view from the 8th floor where we had breakfast is really beautiful. The bali beds on the beach are also worth getting up early for. But from this it just went down hill:

- The hotel is located in the "cheap end" of the hotel zone, and our room with the beautiful ocean view was fine, but the hotel's nabours are really loud - partying all night and day. But if you're into loud music 24/7, this is perfect for you.

- We booked a table at the Italian restaurant, but when we came back we couldn't get a table outside as we asked for. Why? We couldn't book a table (why not just tell us this when we booked it?). We were seated inside instead, but shortly after we were told to find another table, because the table we sat at were taken/reserved (what!?). After a short discussion we kept our table. At the end of the service the staff put 50 Pesos on the cheque as a tip. We always tip when we think they deserve it, but we want to decide the amount for ourselves, this was SO rude and wrong (confirmed by the front desk manager later on). So be sure to double check your cheque before you pay!

- The beach bar (which is really expensive and has a really bad service) didn't give us our change when we ordered to Coronas. We had to yell at the staff to get his attention and ask for our change back. Took him about 5 minutes... And then he didn't even give us all our money back, so we had to ask him again for ALL our change money back. They had a seriously bad attitude!

- The other restaurant charged us for two large bottles of water for our lunch, we only had to very small bottles. After the two other incidences we were not sure wether this was a fortunate mistake, or another attempt to rip us off.

- The 2nd morning we were woken by some really loud knocking on our door at 6 in the morning (when we were sleeping), and some rude staff member (maybe a security guard) yelled something in mexican, something about "ropas" (clothes), so we went outside and took our 3 pieces of clothes inside (were hanging on the beach chairs outside to dry. After this they went away again. Great. Maybe the hotel should tell their guests not to hang clothes outside, or at the least wait untill we are awake, no need to wake us up about this!

- The last day we wanted to complain about the unfortunate events above (except for the music, this wasn't their fault) and spoke with the front desk manager (asked for the hotel manager, but he wasn't available). He was sorry about the incidents and called the restaurant and bar manager who didn't even looked at us. He told him about the incidents and he went to talk with the staff (so they said). The front desk manager then asked us to write the incidents down on a paper (we had just explained it to him for 15 minutes). But okay, we could write the things down and bring the letter back later. We went to our room to get our money for lunch (anywhere else but at the hotel), but couldn't get in - none of the key cards didn't work! The housekeeping were right next door, so we asked them if they could let us in, which they did (without any asking - bit scary of the lack of security). We went inside and got our money and went to The Hard Rock Café for lunch. When we came back we went to the reception to tell them about the key cards, and a lazy, not very happy, woman scanned the cards and gave them back: "Now they work". Ok, great. We went outside to relax by the pool for some hours. After the last dip in the pool it was really cold and the sun came down so we wanted to go to the room for a nice warm bath... But did the key cards work? NO. We went to the reception AGAIN (all wet and in shorts and bikini - the clothes were inside the room now that we couldn't leave it outside). The same grumpy lady in the front desk asked a colleague to go with us to our room to fix the door. Took him about 45 minutes to get us in. I wanted to get some fresh air inside, and then realized, that the sliding door was unlocked and we didn't do it, could only be the housekeeping that forgot to lock it. Not cool! After all this we wasted over 1 hour of our last day of our vacation and didn't want to waste another minute on the hotel writing the complaints. But here you go! And after all this, they still made us pay for the two really expensive bottles of water we drank in the room...

Other smaller things we didn't complain about: dead cockroaches on the floor and boring breakfast selection. The only true and friendly staff member was one of the guys who handles luggage - unfortunately I don't remember his name, but he seemed "real" and wasn't trying to steal our money.

Room Tip: Ocean view is recommended, also in the new part of the hotel (heard the old part is really bad).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I want to apologize for the bad service you experienced with us.

I have follow up all the issues you mentioned and some of them i just couldn`t find it or never existed... but others i have already taken the correct meassures. I assure you these problems won't happen again.

Please allow me to assist you directly,

lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    562
    534
    270
    135
    116
See reviews for
373
626
48
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been coming back to this hotel for over ten years. The beach is great since they reboot the beaches on Cancun. They have an excellent pool. The hotel is great for families and is walking distance to the Cancun nightlife. The breakfast buffet is reasonable and very good. I have stayed in 2 bedroom ocean front rooms which have the best views I have ever seen. Beats Hawaii. The turquoise water of the Carribean is incredible. The two towers have balconies o the rooms facing the ocean. Make sure t get an ocean view room. They have been upgrading this older hotel. They built a new tower a couple of years ago and added balconies onto the original tower.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Wow!! Thank you very much

I really appreciate you preference and loyalty.

Yes have rebuilt different hotel areas and rooms. As well new changes are coming this year.

Feel free to contact me directly for any assistance.

lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I would rate this hotel "5 stars" if it wasn't for one of the restaurants we ate at. (More on that later:)) First of all, the beach/pool area is fantastic! We had been in Cancun for 7 days staying at a rented villa, and then 4 of our parties came to te Krystal Cancun for 3 additional nights. We booked 4 rooms and all were in great condition. We loved the sound of the waves coming through the patio doors in the morning and at night! The people at the "Best Day" tour desk were excellent! They set us up with some great tours and were super courteous. The rooms were cleaned on time and very well! Beds were great! Okay, now the restaurants. They need more, and we had a bad experience at one of them. (Can't remember the name but they cooked part of it out on the beach and it was a buffet.). My husband and I went and paid about $60, and all we had was some small dessert off the buffet. Nothing else. The food did not look good and the service of the people cooking was lackluster. We were very disappointed we had waisted our $$. We didn't eat in the hotel after that, so that was a little disappointing. We did go to VIPS which was right across the street and they had several good items to offer at good prices, more of a family restaurant option. So overall a great stay, but I wish we had our $$ back from that one dinner! LOL BUT we will be back to this hotel next year!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your time.

I am sad about hering that we felt shortly in oyur expectations.

We have benn changing our menus based in out guest's feedbacks and we are about to opne 2 new restarants in the next months.

I have addressed this review to the Chef and the foods and beverages Manager.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from 7 nights at the Krystal Cancun, had a great time, all the staff there were great, especially a man named Mauricio he makes sure your well looked after when your heading out to party or just laying by the beach. Bravo Mauricio!
Tip him well ladies and gentleman

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for writing down a review on this website.

I will tell Mauricio about this review. He is doing an excellent job.

We really appreciate you preference.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had a great stay at the Krystal hotel on Dec. 19th-24th. Irwin at the front desk and Gabriel (bell desk) were wonderful. Irwin made sure that I was pleased with the room i got and was comfortable. He and Gabriel were extremely patient during check-in. I am very grateful. The staff was nice. The Club room I had was great. The price was very fair and the view was amazing. The concierge was wonderful tool. Luis there does a great job and was very nice. The beach is also amazing. I highly recommend this hotel to those on a budget looking to spend a lot of time on the beach and partying. It's right next to all the best night clubs!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Club room which has renovated ocean front view and access to the concierge where a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Gracias for your great feedback.

I am very glad you liked the services we provide and like you said we offer an excellent product and a low price.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Travelers
- family of two teenage girls
- grandparents

Why I choose Krystal
- hotel zone location
- not high-end, not low-end, something in-between

Staff
- friendly and nice
- no timeshare sales pitch
- priority to Spanish-speaking guests

Food
- Aquamarina: breakfast and dinner buffet was great (mix of Mexican and American)
- Las Velas: lunch buffet (pasta, burger, pizza, fish, etc) was good but we weren't really hungry...
- Lobby bar also serves fresh prepared sushi
- El Mortero: we had complimentary dinner here and my steak and dessert was awesome
- food is good but if we'd stayed longer than two days, we may have gotten tired of it
- service is slow but it's ok since we were full pretty much all the time (first time at AI)
- drinks were weak so I mainly drank wine

Location and within walking distance
- beautiful beach
- Coral Negro flea market
- small expensive mall with small food court (I think I saw a Subway there)
- pharmacy and convenience stores
- many clubs and adult-themed restaurants (not children-friendly?)

Room
- very clean
- a little old
- free in-room safe
- free WIFI
- free mini-bar and water

Facility/other
- everything was spotless
- pool was a little old
- one volleyball, no net
- no boogie boards for rental
- beach lounges and daybeds are nice but limited
- two pool tables indoor and one ping-pong table outdoor
- hammocks under patio

Only complaint
- noise from a club kept us up until morning, but ONLY ONE night and only in the North Wing (grandparents in South Wing didn't hear the commotion)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

I liked your review a lot. It seems pretty original the way you write it down.

I am glad to see you guests have good stays and they are recommending us.

Muchas gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We should have gone with our gut, however we did not. We decided to attend a timeshare presentation.....big mistake! If it was only 90 minutes we probably would have bought in, however it was over three hours and a series of four individuals picking at us like a carcass. The hotel is one of the originals 20+ years old and the rooms smell of it. They do have a prime beach location if you want to be in the middle of the "hotel zone". During our tour we had a "cafeteria" style breakfast, the main dinning room was loud and impersonal, the food was unappealing. The rooms were very dated and the hallways reminded me of a dormitory. The views from the top floor rooms were awesome, however once in the room I immediately smelled a moldy odor. Krystal needs to invest seriously into "first impression" renovations.... This will definitely help with timeshare sales. We would never stay at Krystal, however it was linked to the international RIE directory.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Krystal Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Cancun

Also Known As:
Krystal Cancun Hotel Cancun
Nh Krystal Cancun
Nh Hotels Cancun
Nh Krystal Cancun Hotel
Nh Krystal
Krystal Hotel Cancun
Nh Krystal Hotel Cancun
Address: Paseo Kukulcan, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#71 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#71 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krystal Cancun 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Krystal Cancun offers the best of both worlds. It is in the prime area of Punta Cancun — the heart of the activities and entertainment district of Cancun — yet once you step through our doors, leave the hustle and bustle of the world behind as you relax on our stretch of white sand beach, take a dip in our hotel’s panoramic pool, or enjoy a massage at the spa or even better, abandon yourself in our beach bali beds. Everything you could need or want is at your fingertips and our goal is to ensure your ultimate relaxation.Our resort’s stunning rooms and suites have been designed for every kind of traveler in mind, from our Family Rooms, which provides more space, to our ocean view guest rooms, to our Suites — including the Master and Presidential Suites which have their own private pools!We’ll tantalize your palate with a wide range of cuisines in our three restaurants, cool your thirst at our three bars, ease your wallet with our affordable all-inclusive plan, and even handle all of the details for your meeting, conference, wedding, or group event.When it’s time to get away from it all, come to Cancun and let us pamper you at the Krystal Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Amex, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Krystal Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krystal Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.