We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krystal Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Krystal Cancun to your Saves list
Krystal Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Kukulcan, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Midland, Michigan
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Krystal was 5 star!!!! My family stayed for 9 days leading up to Thanks Giving 2011 in the U.S., and we had the best view of the ocean in all of Cancun(I have stayed at 4 other locations in Cancun in the past 15 years). The location is perfect for those that want to excitement, people watching, relaxation, ocean swimming(felt safe in ocean with 3 and 4 year old), staff was superb, safety(for those in US concerned about vacationing in Cancun, Mexico), modern rooms and poolside ocean view.

I highly recommend Krystal for those new and seasoned to vacationing in Cancun. I am looking forward to my next vacation at the Krystal resort!!!

Room Tip: Select ocean view at Krystal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management11111, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thanks for reviewing Krystal Cancun on TripAdvisor - your review is going to help other guests make the best selection for their vacation. The staff and management love to receive the kind of review you posted, because it shows our hard work and dedication to the guests is noticed and appreciated. Each of the staff members at the hotels we operate are working in the hospitality industry because the rewarding praise and smiles we receive when we do our jobs.
Thanks again for the review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    677
    339
    178
    155
See reviews for
480
798
62
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Husband and I travel 3-4 times a year to all over Mexico. Krystal line disappointing, paid for ocean view, first room wasn't. We complained put in another room, the smell was gagging me and when we opened the balcony doors the construction noise was extreme. Like being in a dentist chair. Looked at two other rooms bad smell, finally received ocean view room away from construction, but was definitely like pulling teeth to get what we paid for in the first place. The resort is under major construction, what a nightmare. Food edible, not good, not poison. Hotel had no straws because they were arguing with the straw making company. Can't make this up, this is what we were told. Lady at check in/out couldn't crack a smile for anyone. Of course don't blame her, she probably listens to complaints day in and day out. Stayed at Krystal in Ixtapa, Mexico, it was bad too! Great location, beautiful view of the ocean, that's it! Also went on time/vacation share packages, really really bad! The first guy told us they wouldn't take any more than 90 minutes of our time. And he didn't, but the two thugs after him did. Holy cow, they just wouldn't let us go. And the lies.....worst time share ever. These guys couldn't sell water in the desert. One guy proceeded to tell us how his wife was friends with the owner and he talked about how the owners were so concerned about their customers enjoyment and trying to do their best to sell best vacation experiences, wow just a terrible joke! How about trying to ensure your customers get what they paid for. How about treating your employees good so that they care enough to do a good job.

Room Tip: Be prepared to fight for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management11111, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank-you for the review of Krystal Cancun - its very true our resorts were under construction during the late summer extending into early winter in an effort to make our hotels more comfortable to our guests. And did those efforts ever pay off!
At the Cancun property, the new decor looks amazing and are receiving rave reviews from the guests. What took a little longer than expected, the new/renovated/updated lobby and rooms looks much better than our old design.
We extend our apologies to you regarding the inconveniences you were put through on your vacation when you were expecting relaxation and tranquility.
The management and staff invite you back to the hotel to review the changes from the construction - we're confident you will view the new improvements as a welcome addition to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed here first in november (C-building) and in december (B-building) and quality wise... the latter stay was better but still the room was pretty worn.
Improvement work is on going and is well needed.
The buffé was good value as we did not pay anything for the kids and the food was better then the regular resturant.
Beach is nice and the service at the sun beds were good.
The reconstructions increased over time an as we left basically the entire pool was hidden behind boards.
Our rooms faced the sea and the view was great.
No free drinking water on the hotel room and sometimes we only had luke warm water in the shower.
It is a close call but I decided be a bit generous and to give it an average grade...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management11111, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank-you for the review of Krystal Cancun - at the time our hotel was under construction and some of our key facilities and features were unavailable or limited access.
We're now witnessing the work from the construction and renovations are a welcome addition to the resort, as guests absolutely love the new decor.
On your next visit to Krystal Cancun, we invite you to check out the new decor and tell us what you think in a future TripAdvisor post!

Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011 via mobile

I had a great time here, rooms were modern, food was delicious, and close to party scene. And Denise party coordinator was the best!! She made my birthday very special and was literally amazing at her job. She made sure we all had a great time!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management11111, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thanks for the review of Krystal Cancun - we are right in the middle of Cancun's nightclub district and within walking distance to many of the finer clubs and bars in Cancun. Our location being so close to the clubs make our hotel a great option for visitors looking to enjoy the nightlife in Cancun, like yourself. With the help of Denise, one of our party coordinators make sure those looking to party have the best time possible.
Please tag us in your photos - or upload them to our page.
Thanks again for the review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

this is my 3rd time in krystal...you cannot beat the location for this hotel..its few step from the action, all the night clubs and lounges..i stayed in krystal club..the rooms there were ocean front and modern..i got the all inclusive so even the room service was included...the food was awesome !!! i cannot stop talking about how friendly and nice the staff were..esp denise with the animation team, she really took care of us in the morning and even when we went out at night.. ..everyone seems to know her in the club area and we always got the best tables and best service there..she was awesome !!!! i def recommend this place in cancun..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management11111, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank-you for reviewing Krystal Cancun - our hotel staff love to receive the praise from our guests. It shows staff members, the management, and those thinking about staying here how valuable our staff really is. It takes a certain type of person to work in the hospitality industry - outgoing, happy, confident, personable, friendly, fun, and a positive work ethic all are required to shine in the hospitality industry.
Rewarding those with such traits with a positive workplace, job stability with benefits ensures our staff members will shine with positivity when working, and that this will be passed onto our guests in the smiles they receive from those working here.
Thanks again for the review of Krystal Cancun, and we look forward to seeing you on your vacation #4 here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Went with friends to thier time share at this place. Promised a ocean view, got a parking lot view. When we asked were told to come to a sales pitch with a free breafast, got ocean view two days later in hotel rooms, not time share rooms. We bought food to prepare in the time share kitchen and of course none in the hotel rooms.

rooms-below average, sparse, cheesy decor.
beach-would have been nice but construction going on all day, could not hear a thing. bad errosion up to a eight foot straight drop to the beach.
construction-fast? they were hand mixing cement and using hand chisles to remove concrete, thats not fast, its cheap.
food-below average buffet, breakfast was $17 USD for coffee and omelet.
Service-some good Marie and Ichiro, some bad, management awful.
Building-leaking ceiling in lobby (without rain?) towels on steps. No ice machines on any floor. Cold water many times instead of hot. AC not working in one room and hardly working in the other. When in time share section, fridge was not working, only freezer (of course none in hotel rooms). No lugged covers on beds, never seen this anywheres, even Super 8 has them. Need a form to leave which no one tells you until your transportation arrives.

We own and have been to many time shares, this is the worst we have been to. If your looking to buy check any other place and compare. PS-our friends were told they would go to the "tower" when it was built in a "year or so" 10 years later it was built and they were told they would have to "upgrade" to go to the tower. PS-don't sign anything, the contract states that when you sign you can not change your mind. If that isn't a red flag, what is? Last a "free breakfast for a time shar presentation? What a insult.
Staff-many were very good, but sales people and mamagement just gave promises, our friends had several meetings schedule and the person would not show up or would give another time or say they were busy.
Constrution 2-everywhere, the pool, rooms, most buildings, it's noisy, dusty and loud and the ambience is ruin. As we rested on the beach four workers a cement saw was six feet away cutting a line in the concrete. PS-those are not "new" balconies, they are moving the wall back three feet (making the rooms smaller) to create the balconies.
Entertainment-none, some bingo games for 1/2 hour some days, thats it.
PS-lobby bar never had anyone at it for the week we were there.

Room Tip: only time share rooms are connecting, not the hotel rooms. To tell the difference there are "m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 via mobile

We just returned from our short 5 day vacation at the Krystal and I can only praise them! I was beyond happy with them from the moment they let us check in EARLY..(really early 9am) to the moment we checked out! The rooms in the newer tower are beyond BEAUTIFUL - very modern, comfy bed with a balcony and view of the gorgeous beach. Yes they are doing some construction but only to improve! The noise did not bother us one bit. We found ourselves tuning it out or we were simply having way too much fun to worry about such a thing. The hotel staff were all AMAZING AND SWEET and very friendly ... Our waiter Salvador was great -we seen him everyday and he always took good care of us. Julio also was very sweet and gave us lots of tips during our stay. We did not eat at the buffet only because we wanted to try outside food. The hotel is conveniently located literally 2 minute walk from all the nightlife - restaurants and shopping! This was our 2nd trip to Cancun and I must say the best so far! I am so happy with how great the hotel turned out to be and how much fun we had! All excursion agents (aquaworld) where right on site whether on the beach or on the hotel grounds. So convenient! There daybeds on the beach are so comfortable and were definately my favorite!! I loved the beach - the waves were alot calmer then any other area in Cancun . Maybe because of the barrier they built. I cannot wait to book again and again with Krystal!! Thank you all for making this birthday trip unforgettable!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krystal Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Cancun

Address: Paseo Kukulcan, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krystal Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Krystal Cancun offers the best of both worlds. It is in the prime area of Punta Cancun — the heart of the activities and entertainment district of Cancun — yet once you step through our doors, leave the hustle and bustle of the world behind as you relax on our stretch of white sand beach, take a dip in our hotel’s panoramic pool, or enjoy a massage at the spa or even better, abandon yourself in our beach bali beds. Everything you could need or want is at your fingertips and our goal is to ensure your ultimate relaxation.Our resort’s stunning rooms and suites have been designed for every kind of traveler in mind, from our Family Rooms, which provides more space, to our ocean view guest rooms, to our Suites — including the Master and Presidential Suites which have their own private pools!We’ll tantalize your palate with a wide range of cuisines in our three restaurants, cool your thirst at our three bars, ease your wallet with our affordable all-inclusive plan, and even handle all of the details for your meeting, conference, wedding, or group event.When it’s time to get away from it all, come to Cancun and let us pamper you at the Krystal Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Krystal Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Cancun Hotel Cancun
Nh Hotels Cancun
Nh Krystal Cancun Hotel
Krystal Hotel Cancun
Nh Krystal Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krystal Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.