We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Save Saved
You added Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8, Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were there in May and I must say the staff were wonderful. Extremely helpful and friendly especially Vania from recreation. She made sure everyone had fun and got involved and by the end of the trip she was a friend.

Food was good and eve shows were great.


Had a wonderful vacation!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Having you as a guest has been a complete privilege and honor. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and for sharing your experience with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon and please remember to follow us on Facebook for updated resort and destination information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    262
    82
    58
    60
See reviews for
306
217
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Well, this is a hard place for me to review, because it there were so many great things, but also things that need work.

The Good: The people make this hotel. The hotel staff is incredible. Edwin in the restaurant. Vania, one of the most beautiful women I have ever seen in my life taking care of the kids so well, and then being so nice day in and day out. The cleaning staff always doing such a good job. William, my concierge, just an incredible person who helped us so many times throughout our trip. I could go on and on, the people were just incredible!

The Bad: The timeshare presentations, which we agreed to because it was our first time (our mistake I know) and wanted to actually learn about the property. We agreed to 90 minutes, and it went about 4 hours. We tried continuously to get out, but we couldn't because they were really trying to "hard sell" us. We kept trying to go, but to no avail. Finally, we insisted we were not going to change our mind.......and it finally ended. Also, we ran into a bit of a problem with our room and they didn't want to move us. We came to our room and it was infested with bugs. I don't blame them as that happens in a place like Cancun. What was disappointing is that they didn't want to originally change our room until I really got upset. It should not have come to that.

Other stuff: The rooms are pretty average. This is not 5 star. The rooms are decent, but can use a bit of an upgrade. Some of the decor is old and worn. The food in the buffet is really average. The ala carte restaurant though is great! The service is impeccable. The Lobster dinner was also very good.
The pool is nice, but typical of Cancun the water is very hot. Beautiful grounds, right on the Marina. It is not ocean side, you are on the Marina......so don't expect waves and so forth. Love the fact you can go to their sister property, which was more our speed and a little bit more upbeat. The Marina is a little more mellow, but still nice.

All in all, a great stay and we met some great people. Lastly, the entertainment staff is awesome! Really made our stay. They put on a great show on Friday night and it was fun to get to know all of them. They really go out of their way to entertain you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It is a pleasure to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us and most particular the service provided by our valuable team; they truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you,

We look forward to hosting you during your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel is amazing and I have to say that it was the best hotel I stayed in only because the food is extremely delicious, the staff are so nice, friendly and polite which is why I made friends with quite a lot of them especially Vania the hard working lady who takes really good care of children during activities. The hotel produces good many good things like the show happening at night, the performers are brilliant out there and what really made my day is by going to the pool and relax while the sun is active and also the hermosa female singer singing every night whatever her name is sang beautifully like a Mexican star, well I always thought she was gonna any if my favourite rihanna songs but it doesn't matter its hard to sing it even I can't sing it haha. Special thanks to Aldrin and the other restaurant and dinner crew for making our stay enjoyable by fully supporting the best boxer in the world Manny pacquiao which is a surprise haha, special thanks to the room cleaners for making our room tidy and clean and special thanks for the concierge workers helping us with the travelling and a big thank you for one of the workers Alba for finding our family an amazing tourist attraction for to visit and the one she told us to visit was the wet n wild. The hotel also has got a really fast WiFi, lots of activities, 2 pools, massive rooms with a big TV and room service which is why the hotel is awesomem I really love Cancun its like heaven the weather's fantastic the beaches are beautiful and colour as a blue sky, tourist attractions are far much better than the ones I've been too, shopping streets are great, hooters was the best place to visit, everything around Cancun is tropical of paradise. It was the best vacation we ever had and we might plan to visit their again and stay in the hotel or and if we are it will be the best moment of my life

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We would like to thank you for your valuable comments regarding your stay at Sunset Marina.

We are very pleased to know that you had a great stay and our team will be happy to receive your kind words. Thank you for pointing out every aspect of your stay and look forward to your prompt return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATELLITE BEACH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The staff at the Sunset Lagoon was amazing. Nadia saved the day. She hooked us up with a great all inclusive Package that we fully enjoyed. The resort was beautiful and we visited the other 3 resorts that are also available for our enjoyment. The only negative I can honestly say was the occasional timeshare and vendors trying to push you into a purchase.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We are pleased to read your review regarding your stay at our hotel. We really appreciate your comments.

Our staff takes great pleasure and pride in providing exceptional service to ensure our guests have a pleasant and productive experience. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We became "owners" of a time share here about 20 years ago and to their credit, the place is fairly well kept with rooms that are acceptable for what you pay. We just came back from it last week and the experience was good.

Even though we bought the all inclusive package, we like to give a little tip to recognize good service ($5 or $10 dollars per day) and judging the waiters reaction to it, I'm sure we are some of the few that do this. Now, you may ask, why should I do it? Well, this little extra will buy you an unbelievable level of attention. They will remember your name and beverage preferences to the point of guessing when you want your next drink. Service in Mexico is normally well above average... well, this will make it beyond your dreams.

The place is small and more of a relaxing environment. Go to the Pizza place, where Ileana and Sevideo will not only give you incredible fresh, wood oven made Pizzas, but and amazing service. The view is calm and prone for a playing cards or just chatting.

Sergio and Christian are great servers at the restaurant and Pool bar and at night Amadeo will fix you great drinks at the bar.

This is not the huge thousand-room resort you normally find in Cancun and there is its magic.

The bad/ugly:
1. Some rooms at the far end are noisy because of its closeness to the streets
2. The company insists on continue selling their time shares so, some days you see the restaurant swarming with sales people doing the typical tricks...

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
First and foremost, we would like to sincerely thank you for your many years of continued loyalty.

We sincerely appreciate you acknowledging our team as it is with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed your expectations.

We love making great hotel experiences, and we hope to continue doing just that for you for many years to come. We trust you had a comfortable trip home and we all look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just wanted to thank everyone at the Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club for a wonderful vacation. My twelve-year old daughter and myself spent seven days and had an absolutely awesome time! Very relaxing, clean rooms, immaculate facility. The staff at Sunset Lagoon were by far the greatest as far as making us feel extremely comfortable and were very attentive to our needs. I have vacationed at many resorts over the years and I have to say this is by far one of the BEST experiences I have had.

A special thank you to Sevideo - excellent at always making sure we had the food and drinks we wanted and he always was extremely pleasant to be around.

Also, much thanks to Felipe Awimadon - the activity director at Sunset Lagoon. Felipe is the best activity director!! His charming and fun personality make him a huge asset to the Sunset Lagoon and would be one of the reasons I would have for returning to this place. Sunset Lagoon is lucky to have a person like him on their staff - he certainly makes everyone's experience a GREAT one!

Thanks also to Alexander for making sure we enjoyed our stay!

Patty Pederson

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided and were impressed by our team. Their passion to exceed guest expectations is what we pride ourselves on and what makes an experience at Sunset Marina as memorable as many others on this site and others have described it to be.

They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nice place to stay no need to visit another resort specially when you get all inclusive, service is very very good they make you feel like family I really recommend that place, if I will go again with family we will stay again there why not, good very good every night, Italian good good , buffet perfect every day different dishes!!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8, Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#37 Family Hotel in Cancun
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.