We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Save Saved
You added Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8, Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We got a time share presentation deal. AI. Read eye out Friday night got to Cancun in the room by about 2 pm.

Started out ruff. There were about 200 scary locals waiting with signs for us. Taxi sir! We were wiped out from the trip and we had to deal with this. My wife and me kept asking people we were looking for the Laguna Suites. Finally, we got a ride. It was not good.

The desk people were "horrible." They didn't know what was going on. Really? We got to the hotel, a different one than we originally thought around 1 pm. Room would be ready until 4 pm.
We got a room around 2 pm, but it was almost as far from the lobby as you could be. Whatever..I was not impressed at all thus far.

We went to have our first meal. Things got better. The food was great. The seasoning, the selection, the staff in the restaurant we awesome. Basically all of them. The restaurant was truly the highlight of my visit! The people were nice, happy, hard working. Everything. I don't want to say them by name. Too many. All were super!

We had cocktails and hung by the pool the first day. The booze was plentiful and free. It wasn't top shelf, but I didn't expect it to be. The bartenders were nice. But, not like the restaurant folks.

The activity directors were also very good. They kept my wife and son very happy, and taught me to sail a small boat. Next to the restaurant staff, the activity directors made the trip fun.

The transportation, between hotels, was marketed as a main feature. Well, the van was always "broke." When a van did show up it was like starving rats to some food. This along with the poor support of the desk operators made the trip totally maddening.

Would I do it again? Not anytime to soon. I can cook, I don't need to eat buffet food all the time. I like having my 65" TV with 200 channels I can understand. We had 2...maybe. The WIFI was a joke. My cell phone didn't work. Basically, we spent about $3000, and took 5 days vacation, to sit by the pool and see a "mayan" pyrimad. We were supported by a bunch of poor folks trying to make a living off of us. Sometimes I felt sorry for these folks. The worked over 10 hours a day, every day. Some of them, management, work well over 12 hours a day.

That is the honest truth. Sorry it wasn't all "margaritas" and "enchiladas."

Room Tip: Stay close to the lobby. That is where the WIFI, food, and booze are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    245
    78
    54
    61
See reviews for
276
208
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grannl2008
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

we stayed in a room on the street side. Asked for a lagoon view but the rooms on that side not as nice. Ours had 2 big bedrooms huge bathrooms living area had dining room table and mini kitchen. Refrigerator was stocked every day. all the staff went out of their way for us. Entertainment staff- Vania and Ivan made our stay wonderful. Always very helpful, made us feel like family.The wait staff went out of their way for us. rudy(thanks for the mangos), Sergo, gabriel,Francisco, Palia, Hginio, JuanDiego and more. whatever we needed was their for us. Efreen and Cristian at the pool bar were great. Food was great, wide variety.

Room Tip: lagoon side rooms not as nice as street side unfortunately; It would have been nice to have that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to Sunset Marina Resort and Yacht Club with family with kids of all ages and everyone had a great time. Staff works extremely hard to take care of every need. Elie/Ivan great recreational directors. Whatever activity you want to do, night or day they take care of and ensure you have a good time (and are decent volleyball players!). Wait staff at the pool, in the dining area were tremendous! They take care of all your needs, quickly. The food quality was very good, we did the all inclusive and there was a wide variety of options every day including multi action stations with every meal. The cleaning staff did an amazing job every day. We had some issues with the initial room A/C, however the manager moved us and set us up with massages to comp for hassle. The spa was very well run. Marco was very good at juggling our of our family spa needs and all 6 had great things to say about the massages they received. Aurora did a great job setting up tours. We did a time share sell, which resulted in a lot of tour value in return. The sales pitch was at Tres Rios - which was fun to visit for the family, but, as expected sales was over the top aggressive and very rude at the end. That is no fault of Sunset Marina staff. Would come back here again for sure.

Room Tip: would see if lagoon side room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have been coming here for 10 years and will continue to do so. Yes, we are members and are very well taken care of as a result. The wait staff in the restaurant (Sergio, Brandon, Gonzalo) always remember my particular drink order and are quick to serve it to me at all meals. They also remember us from year to year which makes coming here feel like home.

They have updated the pool furniture since last year and I really liked the colors this year. As usual, the pool was awesome and I was able to relax.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the 100 or 200 area as they are closer to the main area. But no room is that fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We felt we had personal attention for everything. The pool with bar was extremely friendly and fun. The boat transportation to and from the sister hotel with large beach was a great extra. We used it everyday.
Elie ensured we were entertained always and Helena ensured we had the best care and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check in the property with no problem. However, after 2 nights, air conditioner broke down, had to wait for someone to fix and was unable to. Got transfered to a different room after 2 hours. On the third day of breakfast, an eaten pit of some sort from a fruit was in my hot cereal mixed with raisins, thought it was raisins and bitten on it (see picture), notified server. However, the restaurant manager did not come nor the general manager. Beach area needs to be improved. Good swim up bar. Rooms are spacious. Probably will not be back again.

Room Tip: Request a waterview room facing Lagoon, otherwise, your room will be facing main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This quite, relaxing resort has the most wonderful pool and beach area! It is just beautiful with a deep upper pool with swim up bar, waterfall drop to the lower pool and wonderful options for pool side shade or sun. You can enjoy hammocks on the beach and comfy couches and chairs overlooking the water. The staff at the pool area, bar and beach restaurant were awesome! The entertainment team lead by Elie were the best! Fun and engaging! They made you feel so welcome! What a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8, Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
#37 Family Hotel in Cancun
#49 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.