We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancun 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8, Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Massillon, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cancun 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Everyone was wonderful....Fabian, Jose Luis, Henri, Miguel, Rudy, Sergio, Luiz, Gonzals.....each one made us feel special and pampered! We were met with a hug from Fabian when we arrived and were made welcome. It is so nice to be remembered from year to year. There was not a thing we could have wanted to make our time any more relaxing......except another week in the sun!!!!!!

I can't say enough about how well we were treated. Saying we were greeted like long lost family and treated like royalty is putting it mildly....can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations on your annual visit to "your home away from home".

We appreciate the opportunity to make your vacation as special as we can and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    321
    99
    68
    74
See reviews for
385
298
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kithnos, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great place to stay when visiting Cancun.
Very clean, with friendly staff, excellent food and drinks. Lot of activities and events during the week. Easy accessible from airport and close to the touristic area of Cancun

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We appreciate your time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We can see you had a great vacation and you were really happy with the services we offer. We are very proud of our staff and will let them know they made a difference in your stay.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I enjoyed an awesome week at Sunset Marina in Cancun! A few fun nights out clubbing with the great people taking care of entertainment .....a shout out to Benny! Alex! Vanis! Awesome job! Also many a few tasty beverages served by the awesome lobby bartenders Nayali! And Amedeo! Thx for the great time and awesome service!

Room Tip: Beach side top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate your review about the hotel and our staff service. We are also very happy to know that you enjoyed going out clubbing with Beny, Alex and Vanis, and the special service provided by Nayeli and Amadeo; we will be happy to share your comments with them.

We all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We enjoyed our 2 week stay at Sunset Marina. They had a nice schedule of activities led by Ivan, Elie, Vania, and Ben. There were several choices for eating and the food and service were all great, especially Eunice, Rudi, Sergio, and Francisco. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the housekeeping staff of Leslie, Cruz, and Cruz did a great job keeping it clean and made some lovely towel animals and bed decorations. The drinks were very good too, thanks Francisco and Jerry. We liked being able to take the boat over to the Sunset Royal or the free shuttle bus. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms along the lagoon have a nice sunset view and are quiter than on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just spent a week at the Sunset Marina Resort. When can we go back?

Here's the highlights:
1. Great staff. Saw the same people each day. Always polite ... very service-oriented. Jose Luis remembered who we were after the first day, and watched out for us the whole week. Our room service, Francisca, filled every request promptly, left our room clean, and added a professional, personal touch to her work. And Juan Jose was approachable, easy to talk to, and clearly loved his work. They all treated us with "carino".
2. Lots of things to do. Loved riding bikes. Swimming. Kayaking in the bay (where we saw all sorts of wildlife). Spa. Volleyball. Great evening shows. Easy boat and bus access to a sister resort with beach access (although I felt the customer service was better at the Marina). Or just laying around on a beach chair, hammock, seaside hot tub ... lots of quiet nooks and crannies with great views and lots of privacy. We didn't take advantage of the water aerobics, pilates, or other group activities you could add to the list. None of these so big that you feel lost. Very personable.
3. Great rooms. Private views. Couldn't hear much noise from surrounding rooms, and heard no traffic noise from the nearby Blvd Kukulkan. Easy to get a good night's rest. Ours had a small kitchen, where we prepared many easy meals when we didn't want to eat out. Always hot water. Clean and comfortable.
4. Easy bus access. Very close to bus stops. It was easy to get to anywhere within the Zona Hotelera or pop into town.

Only one wish: they seemed to be having some trouble with their wifi access while we were there. It improved towards the end of the week, but I wish that had been better.

Had a great time. Would love to go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had the perfect winter escape from ice and snow at Sunset Marina. The resort such is affiliated with the Sunset Royal, Ocean Spa, Sunset Fisherman and Tres Rios is the perfect size for us. We know the staff well. They treat us like family. We especially want to thank Elie, Benny and Ivan who kept us busy day and night with excerise classes, beach volleyball water aerobics bingo and bartentening lessons. We painted ceramic keepsakes, used the complementary kayaks and hobiecats and bicycles. The food in the pergola restaurant was always healthy plentiful and flavorful. The restaurant staff of Eunice, Rudy, Francisco,and Sergio kept our drinks and cappichino replenished at every meal. Finally we would like to thank Lesly, Cruz and Cruz who delighted us with an immaculate room and towel and bed art. Ana our conciege did a great job of making arrangements for side trips and restaurant suggestions.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious - the studio could easily hold a family wit one or two small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time and attention to share your kind compliments on the hotel; we are more than pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We feel really proud and honored reading your comments which we will be very pleased to share with our staff.

Please consider us to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Sunset Marina in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just arrived home after a two week stay at our timeshare resort in Cancun. This is a family oriented resort that prides itself on excellent and personalized service. This villa type condominium style hacienda hotel and resort is nestled on a nicely gardened lagoon and marina framed property. My family and I had a fantastic and relaxing vacation while enjoying Cancun and the surrounding excitement found in abundance in Quintanaroo. We stayed between January 25th and February 8th and the only thing that outshone the relentless sunshine and our continual warm welcome was the abundance of Ola's and Buenos Dias greetings from morning till night. A special thank you to Vania in the kids club for all of the time and attention she invests in making sure the kids are having a great time. The serving staff in the buffet must also be mentioned as they don't leave you waiting for anything, Rudy, Gonzalo and our favourite waiter Sergio also claim extra mention as they are extremely personable, friendly and proffesional. Thanks to all whom ensured my family a picture perfect and fantastic winter getaway. Gracias mes amigos!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite that doesn't back onto the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8, Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.