We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Will Never Again"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Oasis Cancun

Save Saved
You added Grand Oasis Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Oasis Cancun
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Bend, Oregon
1 review
“"Will Never Again"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Not sure where to begin!
Room - you've got to be kidding. I realize this is Mexico, but come on! Not even a resemblance to
the pictures. Barely the basics. Loudest air conditioner ever experienced.
Staff - most of them apathetic, sometimes down right surly.
Grounds - beautiful, great pool. Bathrooms, OMG! disgusting!
All inclusive - well, the food was pretty good most places, and as long as you're happy drinking beer, you are all right. Don't expect to have real alcohol in your drinks though. Not sure what they had in the Bombay gin bottle.

Room Tip: If you want down and dirty, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    615
    615
    352
    223
    297
See reviews for
604
670
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed that the playa del carmen fairmont hotel for a week before spending 2 nights at the grand oasis in cancun. The 2 nights at the grand oasis nearly ruined an amazing trip. We got there around noon and were told by the check in people (which was in an auditorium) that we could come back at 1. We got there at 1 and some fat sweaty guy told us that we needed to just sit and wait until 3 becuase our room wasn't ready. He never even checked. So i went to the front dest and got them to give me the keys. Second was our room smelled like someone had smoked in it for years. We called and complained, but were told the property is non-smoking so that wasn't possible and changing rooms was out of the question. It is obvious that the people who generally visit this hotel are there because it is a really inexpensive all-inclusive resort. The grounds, pools, and beach are nice, but there is no way 4 stars is warented. Do youself a favor and spend a little extra to stay at a nicer place.

Room Tip: The AC doesnt work in the rooms. Expect to be hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A friend booked this and I thought nothing of it. We arrived and ushered to a salon of sorts. Very disorganized. The quality of food is not that great. The hotel in itself is lovely. The lobby with all its plants is very nice. Avoid looking at the glass doors. Filthy.

The fridge and phone in our room did not work. Yes it was stocked with room temperature beer and water. No thank you.

This hotel is good for college kids that are not interested in anything else but getting drunk.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Wisconsin
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel itself is gorgeous. The pools are great, the beach is beautiful. However, 2 friends and I were roofied while at the swim up bar by the BARTENDERS. They gave us glasses of water, which did not seem to be anything to be concerned about, and within 10 minutes we were all blacked out for hours. One friend wandered outside of the resort not knowing what he was doing and was missing for 7 hours. The other friend became practically immobile and was vomiting. Luckily, I was rescued by a wonderful couple as the staff apparently was not helping me. I woke up hours later with many bruises and a concussion. It is a shame that this gorgeous place has to be brought down by the customer service. If you care anything about your safety, do not book at the grand oasis. I repeat, DO NOT go here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Check in was not as bad for us as it was for others . Hotel overbooked and sent many visitors to another hotel after waiting in line for a while. No one to greet you when you arrive and no one to help bring your bags up the what seems to be a trillion stairs to the lobby . Not much nightly entertainment except for the 30 mins of acrobats in the lobby 3 nights a week. Bars close early and drinks are extremely not pleasant ! Water bottles were never cold . This resort is extremely big so be ready to know how to read a map and figure your way around because the staff can't even point you in the right direction, not sure if its the lack of English language . In my opinion this resort is for spring breakers and only spring breakers and maybe that's why we got treated the way we did (26 yr old) they put us in the minority and figured we were here to party and let loose like some of the foolish drunk young people that take over this resort . Loud drunk young people all day all night the hallways are horrible full of garbage early in the mornings smelt of urine cigarette buts everywhere empty cups , extremely Loud you can hear everything all night in the hall security and their walkie talkies rooms are not very sound proof if you wanna hear people having sex this is for you every night we could hear the neighbours engaging in sexual activity . The food was nothing to brag about but there is something for everyone(buffet) . Restaurants were awful specially the Mexican : worst food I have ever tasted . The sushi is another story do not go there hungry the wait to get seated is extremely long some people had been waiting for 2 hours and never got seated and the restaurant closed . All in all this place is a bust spend more and go enjoy your vacation !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was staying at the Grand Oasis Palm. We visited the Grand Oasis Cancun for a day. At first we were wowed by the gorgeous water and waves, and the stunning lobby with plants and trees. But, it ended there. The bathrooms were DISGUSTING, dark, dingy. No toilet paper. There was a man in there working, which surprised me. They were out of towels by 10:30am. the resort is full of cups scattered, drunk people everywhere, green slime was fou d in several corners of the pool. We couldnt find a lounger at the pool, plus, on the beach you have to PAY for a palapa. We couldn t find drinks and had to walk all the way over to the other side of their long big pool to get some, where there was nowhere to sit. The swim up bar was full of drunks. This is full of white drunk young people. Not for families at all, and verrrrrryyy dirty. Was glad to get back to my resort afterwards. The only thing nice about this place was the beach, but there is public beaches, so dont bother.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We visited cancun for a weeding and decided to stay a little longer at grand oasis cancun, for a total of 7 nights. The hotel is clean and has everything for those who like of upscale hotels, we were on one of the grand pyramid 4 floor aceanview rooms. It has a great view and was spacious enough to fit a couple. The pools an the beach are great, white sands with a little bit rough ocean to have fun. The beach beds are always busy and your will have to roam a lot to get one during the day. Food buffets and a la carte restaurants are good, but not great since some of them are just like a buffet with waiters. This Oasis hotels has two main categories the regular oasis and the grand, both are accommodated on the same premises but Grand has available more dining options and VIP lounge. From my experience if your are going with family book regular oasis but if you go with your couple get Grand Oasis. Always try to book your tour packages in advance online or calling a concierge service in cancun all, those sells the same packaged but if your buy them at the hotel will cost 20% to 30% more. Another good tip is to book your transfer from the airport to the hotel in advance using the cancun airport website you will assure a good rate and won't have to bargain at the airport.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Oasis Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#88 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Cancun 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-inclusive entertainment resort in Cancun offering the best live shows, music festivals and daily performances, with surprises behind every smile - all included in the room rate. This resort is also know as the "Ultimate" resort in Cancun due to its incredible and expansive beach frontage, the largest pool and most beautiful landscaped areas in Cancun. Along with its rich and varied food and beverage program offering an unsurpassed 18 restaurants and 14 bars at the Grand Oasis Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Oasis Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Mexico
Oasis Cancun
Cancun Oasis
Oasis Grand Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Reviews
Grand Oasis Resort Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Hotel
Oasis Hotel Cancun Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Oasis Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.