We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some hiccups, otherwise 'great'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Oasis Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Oasis Cancun to your Saves list
Grand Oasis Cancun
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Sale: Over 50% Off
Ranked #85 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
North Bay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Some hiccups, otherwise 'great'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Positive - No question, this is a beautiful spot! Close to the airport. Very clean resort. The beach is stunning! The food is excellent, with a broad selection. Our favourite was the Italian restaurant, where they served great pasta dishes and brick oven pizza. The 'Birdmen' show in the atrium was like no other show we've ever seen at a resort. The entertainers were incredible. It was like being at a 'mini' cirque du soleil show. We were a group of 14, so we had our own little party all week, which made it 'extra' fun.
The negative - Check in was extremely slow. Several of us were not registered for some reason, therefore it took extra time for the staff to sort out rooms. Our room, (which had 2 very comfortable double beds) was unremarkable. We weren't there to spend time in the room, so we weren't too concerned about the size or dated decor. HOWEVER......We had no hot water for the first 2 days, as well as a toilet that would not flush and ran constantly. Much of the first two days of our vacation was spent trying to rectify the room problems. The staff at the hotel, did not seem overly concerned and basically told us to 'live with it'. Thankfully, the toilet did get kinda fixed, and we had hot water by the third day. We had to turn the water off on the toilet at night time, so we didn't have to listen to the water running all night, but at least it would flush.
There are lineups for 'everything'....food, drinks, bathrooms..etc. but that's what you get at large resorts. Some grumpy staff, but who can blame them? The lack of Beach/poolside chairs is another issue. Thankfully we had an early-riser in our group (6am), that would save some chairs every day, or we would have been SOL.
Overall - If the rooms were updated and in good repair, this resort would have received a better rating from me. We still had a wonderful time and enjoyed the sunshine and the company of our friends. If we were to return, we would definitely upgrade to an Ocean view room.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    709
    446
    264
    342
See reviews for
705
795
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday in january and almost immediately regretted the decision upon walking into the lobby. The first word that came to our minds (and stuck all weekend) was jersey shore the entire resort is filled with jersey shore type wanna bees. Everyone is 25 and under. The rooms are small and offer no luxuries (I'm assuming they know their clientel). The resort itself is beautiful but marred by the crowds of drunken young adults. Defininitely not a place to go if you have small children they would be exposed to way too much innapropriate behaviour. I love to party and hang out and would never complain that a resort is too noisy -however the level of drunkenness is just scary. Young girls falling down everywhere. Vomiting in the pool..
The service is non existent. The worst offender was the front desk manager she was useless. She would literally have about 7 people waiting and keep telling all of them that she was serving the other client. Lol! She would do nothing except tell us "hold on" even the staff realised she was useless. We ended up just upgrading to the sens and running for our lives! Oh! The food was even worse (they don't even have guac!!)
The onlt time the resort was enjoyable was during the day when the snookies and vinnies were all sleeping.
Oh! And on the waiters shirts it says
" oasis loves box. Are you ready?" No idea what that means but its now a classic line in our household.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Beach, pool and live band was awesome. Situated close to downtown Cancun. This is a party place. If you are looking for personalized service and a quiet vacation, this is ot the place to be. Do not expect to have any chairs or bed besides pool and on beach. there is a major lack for the amount of visitors, unless you want to wak up at 5:30 am to reserve it with your towels and even then, people remove your towels and steal the chairs. The hotel is huge, to go back to Cancun we would choose a smaller resort. There was a lot of line ups, could not order more then 2 drinks at a time and even though the resort is all inclusive, there a lot of hidden additional fees such as items on menues, bars, safe in rooms, a la carte restaurant selections... We waited 1 hour to check-in, very slow service, our room keys did not work, had to go back to reception 3 times during our week. When we finally got into our room, we did not have any towels and the telephone did not work so we had to go back to reception 3 times to request towels before we finally got some. They only provide 2 beers per day in room even if you request more. You can reserve as many a la carte dinner as you want but you need to wake-up at 7 am each morning to reserve. You cannot book more then one dinner at a time/per day. If you go passed 9 am there is no more room for dinners and you have to try again the next day. Not my ideal place for a vacation unless you are young, single and looking to party, then that's the place to be.

Room Tip: Choose the Grand Oasis for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is not a good place to go in Mexico. I wish I had the time to point out all the bad things that went on during my 8 days at this resort but I do not have the time. Here are a couple problems that not only my wife and I experienced but other couples we talked to there. 1. Horrrrrible rooms. View, service, and over all building. 2. Can't book your dinner until the morning of. This means you must eat their horrible alternative food options that they have. I would have rather ate a cheap burger here in the states then all their fake, wannabe buffets. 3. No one, I mean NO ONE speaks English. Are you kidding me?? 4. The only thing good was the excursions. This was the reason we couldn't book Dinner the excursions pick you up @ 7am. and you can book your dinner tell 7am. But if you are late for pick up you will be left behind. This was well thought out from the resort I am sure. This could seriously go on all day if you wanted to know the full run down.

Don't do it, I promise you will not enjoy your stay. Spend the extra couple bucks and stay somewhere nice.

Don

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I'll try to keep this short...

The Good:
Great housekeeping - room cleaned very nicely and promptly each day (after the checkin)
Bar staff - Friendly and seemed happy to see you each day!
Grounds/Pools - Beautiful and Clean nice to have a "quiet" side at the pool
Front door staff/luggage - very accomodating
Room service - service was pretty quick, about the same for a normal hotel; but the food was cold. We had coffee delivered each AM and it was hot, but one time tried a waffle, it was cold, but my husband still ate it and said it tasted good. One night we ordered cheesecake and apple pie, and got cheescake and choclolate cake, and the cheesecake was acutally one of the best things we ate all week!
Resturants we did go to were fine, but i think everything is made ahead and kept in chaffing dishes to keep warm. Nothing was "made to order" Most food was not hot.

The not so good:
Reservation system for eating..waiting in line for an hour to get into a resturant the following night, but the resturants are empty so why not allow some walk up guests/same day reservations?
Had to ask for my mini bar to be filled 2 days during the 5 night stay. (gave up on the last day)
Not enough pool towels, chairs, mats - was a hassle each day to run around getting them all together and trying to keep them - saw several "fights" which staff did nothing about.
Buffet: Breakfast good; dinner ok. (all the food tasted the same)
Resturants: NO Chicken..what? Most resturants we went to this week didn't have chicken available even though it was on the menus!
On checkin, rooms were not available until after 5pm, then there were no bath towels in the rooms! (that was only the first day, then each day after we were freshly stocked).

In closing, I had stayed here before, and loved it. This time, not so much, but it was a great value and I think everyone else in our party was happy as we don't want or want to pay for first class vacations! One comment from a co-traveller "it's like a cruise ship on land" fit very well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just got back from The Grand Oasis.
The beach is beautiful and the weather was perfect.
The resort itself is lovely. I read the reviews on tripadvisor before I went so I was prepared for a few glitches along the way. The check in/out process took a little time - I was not impressed with the $5.00 a day charge for the lock for your safe. (Never had to pay at The Riu). The breakfast buffet was good. But the dinner buffet was lacking. We ate at the Italian Restaurant a few times it was very good. We did not get clean towels everyday (could not figure that out) nevertheless I was not impressed. The front door staff were not helpful in any way - wether it was getting us a cab or helping us with our luggage or getting us on the right transportation to the airport. Some guests felt the need to urinate on the pool deck (that was attractive and stinky) I have been fortunate to have stayed at several resorts in Mexico and regrettably have to conclude in saying - don't waste your money on this resort - pay a few $$ more and stay somewhere else. And to the management at The Grand Oasis - get it together - clean this place up - you have a beautiful piece of property - use your skills and make the necessary improvements and polish up this diamond in the ruff.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here - you MUST upgrade to a black wrist band
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here February 1st to 8th. We were a little skeptical after we booked due to some of the other reviews and videos we searched online. To our surprise we found the grounds very clean, service staff very friendly. Most days we went to the "market buffet" for breakfast. VIP Lounge also offers a nice variety of fresh fruits, sweets and yogurt if you are looking for something quick. We travelled with our 15 and 17 year old and they had a blast. Definitely recommend the Grand side over the Oasis side if you are looking for quiet time. Request a room in the pyramid as they seem to be the best. We started off in building 4 and found the rooms to be just ok. We requested 2 adjoining rooms and they could not accomodate. After 3 days of checking for availability we finally got into the main building and were given upgrade to oceanview suites for our patience. Very lovely, with 2 different "themes"

Free room service at no extra charge for the food was a bonus too.

Amazing shows in the lobby - Avatar theme with a cirque de soleil kick, complete with men dressed as dragons on stilts that interact with the audience

Entertainment group through out the resort to greet you and the odd prank when you are least expecting.

Resort is massive, so be prepared to walk and you'll need to keep the map handy for a couple days until you get your bearings.

Some things we didn't like:
- "servi-bar" is stocked with chocolate bars, chips, Gatorade, Chocolate Milk and RedBull - no sign to indicate that it is not free. (We did not eat because we were warned by others)
We told the front desk to remove these items as they were always a temptation to our kids....they said they would remove but did not. At the end of the trip we were accused of consuming 4 items and cost was going to be $40? We did not have to pay in the end, but a nuisance

- If you want to eat at an a la carte restaurant you have to go to the lobby to book 1 day before and must line up at 7 in the morning to guarantee a spot - you can not book more then 1 at a time

- If you want a lounge chair or day bed on the beach you must get up by 7 am

Tips: Bring lots of sunscreen - it was hot hot hot!, request a room in the main building, bring your "bubba", pack snacks for the Cancun airport - price of meals are outrageous there and REMEMBER you are on vacation.. away from the hustle and bustle and YOU make your schedule so HAVE a GREAT time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Oasis Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They don't call me The Entertainer for nothing: I'm the Grandmaster of fun, hosting live concerts, festivals and shows, even themed parties - plus everyday surprises like dancers in the lobby, and comedy skits by the longest pool in Cancun. I'm a Little more exlusive than my sister resort, Oasis Cancun, with extra amenities to make you feel special. I throw great parties with my famous friends, and get a Little naughty after-hours with my Late-Night Kinky Burlesque Cabaret. I'm hip, happening and high-class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Oasis Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Mexico
Oasis Cancun
Cancun Oasis
Oasis Grand Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Reviews
Grand Oasis Resort Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Hotel
Oasis Hotel Cancun Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Oasis Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.