We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cancun Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cancun Bay Resort to your Saves list
Cancun Bay Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard KukulKan Km 3.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Qbay Cancun)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“a perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we stayed for 8 days and did not want to leave. The food was excellent, the service was extraordinary, the grounds were impeccably clean, the staff were always smiling and friendly. This is a smaller resort, maybe 300 units, which gave it a far more intimate feel and allowed the staff to recognize you and remember your name. If you are looking for a real party place then you would be disappointed. Akumal is quiet, with a few activities but no wild parties. There is staff who are emplyed to help you decide on tours to do in the area that I would strongly suggest This is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the weather. The wifi is sketchy in the rooms but works fine in the lobby so go have a drink with Gilberto or Nelson and do your facebooking if you must. Also, I would recommend the massage on the beach, especially in the early evening when the sound of the waves add to the experience.

Room Tip: we were in unit number 3 and it was very quiet and well positioned for pools, restaurants and lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    208
    64
    25
    11
See reviews for
190
142
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My girlfriend and I just got back from a week at Cancun Bay. Really super value for our money. It's a relatively small place on the beach that really exceeded our expectations in many ways. The staff were incredible - Nelson, Gilberto, Eduardo, Vanessa, Daniel, Alejandra, Ivan ... and others. (Only one or two were less friendly - Eric: smile!) They really did all they could to make our stay a great one.

It was my partner's birthday on the Saturday and they put decorations in the room and made out supper special . The first room we were given wasn't quite what we were hoping for and they gladly changed it the next morning. We liked the fact that there were a lot of Mexican couples and families at the resort, it felt more like a nice Mexican hotel with great food and staff, less like a giant resort. That's not for everyone, we really like that part though. It might be a little too quiet for some folks, no show or anything like that but some light recreation is offered around the pool during the day and easy access to transportation to all the night life. Very close to down town one way and the hotel shopping areas in the other direction - bus either way running every 5 minutes. Like other reviewers, we were glad we chose the all inclusive option. Wifi in the lobby is a little slow but free - oddly it worked better from the balcony of our room we realized on the last day !

Room Tip: Great views of the pool and waterfront for sunrise. Also, we like afternoon sun and there are rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got an expedia deal for half-price; room was large, clean, had great view of pool and beach; Room was more of a suite with two sleeping areas separated by a partial wall - could sleep parents and 3 small kids comfortably. It had a kitchenette and eating area, but no fridge, coffee maker or stove; Those things would have been a definite plus. Staff were friendly, facilities were clean. I was greeted as soon as I walked in; Franciso carried my bags up to my room; Guadalupe greeted me in the dining room like I was an old friend; Eduardo (the manager) told me when I checked out that since my flight wasn't for several hours, I could continue to use the pools and beach, and that they would even provide me with a fresh beach towel for the afternoon. Very impressive! Banks, convenience stores and restaurants are a 5 minute walk; groceries, tourist markets, and night life are a 10 minute bus ride away. Nice jogging path runs all the way through the hotel zone, so you can run for miles if you wish. The swimming area in the beach is a bit weedy. The pounding music by the pool was played too loudly; it drove me to the other end of the compound. Meals in the restaurant were a bit pricy, so I bought groceries at the local Wal-Mart and ate in my room. Nice to have that option. There are day-long tours to Isla Mujeres that leave from the beach right beside the hotel; Marina next door rents boats, jetskis, etc. Internet was only available in the lobby, though I could sometimes get it in my room. It was quite slow, however. I definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the beach. Great sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay in Cancun. Excellent value for money. It's worth staying booking all inclusive.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and most had perfect English. The staff in the bars, restaurants and reception accommodated us in what ever way we asked. We didn't try to book any tours with the hotel not for any reason other than we just booked them in the first place we went into on the street.
The hotel and bedroom is very clean. The pools was cleaned daily and the beach sand raked and cleaned every morning.
We were upgraded to a junior suite facing the beach and pool which was great. Room was very big, open plan kitchen with dining area leading onto 1 bedroom with 3 single beds. Our main room was large with large double bed, good working air con, TV and safe. Room cleaned and towels changed daily.
Food was buffet style in the main restaurant and was good quality and varied. Menu change daily. Menu in pool side restaurant fixed but tasty also, more of a snack menu though. Restaurants never too busy with no queuing for food or tables.
Hotel located in the north end of the Hotel zone. Location very safe with bus stop just outside hotel. 10.5$mx per trip either direction on public bus. About 5 minutes on bus to restaurants and bars in hotel zone centre and about 15 minutes to downtown Cancun shopping areas.
Definitely worth staying in.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and a group of 5 others stayed at this resort in April 2015. We arrived and were checked into our rooms. We had 2 rooms booked and to our surprise each room had 3 single beds as well as a kind of separate bedroom within the room with a double bed in there too. The view from the room was amazing, with balcony and we'd wake up to fantastic views of the Caribbean Sea and the private beach. The rooms were cleaned everyday, and fresh towels provided each day. We also got new beach towels from reception each day.

We had minor issues with the AC at times but the hotel staff changed our room straight away after reporting the issue after which we had no further issues with the rooms.

There were 2 swimming pools, both were clean and the pool by the back had a basketball hoop and volleyball net which we made full use of. There were bars by each pool with very helpful staff. Only local spirits are included within the all inclusive package but we drank to our hearts content.

The food was good, there were 3 different buffet meals each day with snacks at the pool bar ranging from pizza, hot dogs, tacos and many other things. The restaurant buffet was more traditional, although could get repetitive at times but the food tasted good. We had most of our meals at the hotel.

Wifi was in the lobby, however it was a bit slow..

Emmanuel, the entertainment host was fantastic and each night he gave us options of which clubs/parties were good and delivered a good night every time! He even came in on his day off to take us out, great guy. So if you're going for spring break or to party then speak to him he'll sort it out. You can also book excursions through the hotel. Actually this was the worst part of the holiday (no fault of the resort) the excursion we booked was with "Mexico Go" and the tour guide was absolutely terrible!! So stay away from Mexico go, the hotel staff will be able to tell you the company taking you.

All in all we had a great holiday, for what you pay this hotel is more than worth it and you'll have a great time if your looking for a decent place to stay with all the necessary facilities. I would go back.

Ash- London

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cost effective & value place to stay at Cancun. Good team plus Travel concierge is recommended. Please ask for beach facing room either on second or third floor for having sunset and sunrise view of beautiful beach. Room is basic, nothing much inside. If you are staying here then better take coffee warmer/heater ( travel) with you as inside the room there is nothing. At check in they will give two beach towels ( which you can change after use) one TV remote and Air-conditioning remote, which you need to return when you check out so be careful to keep safe. Breakfast is not to the expectation but normally in Cancun, we all go out. Overall good place but basic to travel needs. Water for shower is luke warm not hot so better take bath early. WiFi only works in lobby area and not in room.

Room Tip: sea facing room booking please, especially 337 or 336 are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived, they told us the hotel was completely sold out. They gave us one option to stay at another hotel next to the airport that was 35 minutes in the direction from which we came. I would stay away from this hotel and go with one where they can manage their bookings properly. We went from having a beach front hotel to one in the middle of nowhere. It ruined our vacation.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cancun Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cancun Bay Resort

Address: Boulevard KukulKan Km 3.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Qbay Cancun)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cancun Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cancun Bay Resort is located right on the Beach, at Mujeres Bay, in front of Isla Mujeres. Perfect for familys or group of friends. It's a budgeted resort with full services, and with a great location close to shopping malls, restaurants, harbors and Cancun downtown. This is a small resort with 2 restaurants one by the new pool with a beautiful ocean view's, the other offer a Full Buffet Breakfast everyday and a small deli for light and energetic meals. You can even take a Catamaran right from the Resort, and enjoy a day at Isla Mujeres. Beautiful views from sunset to sunrise with Cancun lights just by the bay... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cancun Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbay Cancun Hotel And Suites
Qbay Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hotel Verano Beat Cancun
Verano Beat Club
Club Verano Beat Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cancun Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.