We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Smart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oasis Smart to your Saves list
Oasis Smart
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tulum Esq. Brisa s/n | Col. Centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Oasis America)   |  
Ranked #77 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was sold as a tourist hotel and most definitely is not!!
The staff are never around and when you want a drink because you are all inclusive (waste of money) they don't speak English and are rude and ignorant! The food is absolutely discussing! Nothing for kids and nothing for kids to do either. The rooms are basic. Spent most of our holiday money eating out! Most of the time the majority of the people in the hotel are local businessmen. Will never recommend this or any other oasis resort to anyone nor will I be coming back!! Staff just do not want to help and if you ask them for something it feels like it's a bother to them!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, Director General at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Alexandra:

It is unfortunate to have not met your expectations. Your comment has been taken into account and will be referred to the appropriate area taking the necessary steps to correct these inconsistencies in service and provide better care in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    10
    3
    12
See reviews for
11
22
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Definitely not a vacation/tourist hotel and should not be marketed as such! The food and drinks are scarce, and the service is horrible...worst I've ever experienced in my 6th visit to Cancun!! Will never ever come back to this nor any other Oasis resort!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We want to let you know that every day we are making changes and improvements to our hotels to provide our guests with excellent service. We look forward to see you again in our hotel to enhance your experience.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

So we booked with Teletext holidays (NEVER AGAIN) we asked for a 4/5* near a beach, in a holiday resort and all inclusive. We got a 3*, downtown but with access to a beach not in or near a holiday resort.

This hotel is great if you like calm and hardly any kids running around, Oturo (one of the hotel staff) makes a killer cocktail... The food at the smart is blah but you can always go to the Oasis Palm and eat at their good 5 restaurants, sit on their crowded beach and then go back to the quiet Smart for 9.5 pesos (on bus) which is less than 70c/40 p

All the people that have left bad reviews obviously never look on the bright side and wanted or expected way more.

The room was great, and the staff were always very friendly.

Tips: Go across the road and explore the market, it's literally opposite Chedaraui which is close to the Office Depot. The market has some great stuff, and you can always negotiate the price down. Also at the entrance of the hotel turn left and walk straight until you see Plaza Las Americas. It's a great shopping centre with all the shops you want including Mac, Zara, A cinema, all the fast food shops etc you can spend all your money there but very little negotiation power. It's a 10 minute walk.

Don't mope, it's not that bad when you actually think about it.... Great room, great cocktails, mixed with the locals, then a cheap bus ride away from all the tourisy stuff!

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside view instead of the street view because it's a busy road. Try to book directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Blessing:

We widely appreciate their comments, they help us to improve our service constantly and thus provide the best vacation experience. Thank you again for your preference and waited again on your next vacation.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Travel agent sold it to us as 5 star hotel. Is no stars at all. It is in middle of motorway. 5km to the beach. Very poor dinner. Very poor service, tables dirty nobody cleans them,nobody offers gls of wine for you. You have to try to find somebody and ask for a drink. i red some bad reviews but i thought that is not possible to be true. We came to cancun for 2 weeks but after two nights in this hotel we checked out and booked another hotel. better not to try to save on hotel because youll pay double in the end. One thing is nice in oasis Smart its big and nice rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms to the pool side is more quieter. Dont ask for sea view room because you cant see sea from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, Director General at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. We would like to let you know that our hotel has an excellent downtown location where you have access to the hotel zone, shopping centers and also to our beach club which is 10 minutes away from our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. We assure you that all your comments will be submitted to the appropriate departments to follow-up, in order to avoid further complaints. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future to enhance your experience and perception of the Hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Hotel is clean and nice but there is no food variety, the main dish at every meal is veggies/onions. The bar is rarely open and when it is there often isn't anyone working. There's a coffee shop but didn't ever have someone working. I was told it was across the street from the beach, it was a $15 cab ride. Only 1 pool with a swim up bar that was advertised but not in service. The entire place was deserted because there was absolutely nothing to do. Would never ever recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, Director General at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your opinion about your stay in our hotel, at the same time we want to offer our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay at our hotel, the concept of Oasis Smart is focused for business people or people that are coming for a few days and usually they are not in the hotel, either for work or activities outside the hotel, thank you again for all your comments as these help us to improve our service to deliver a better and stay to our guests .

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Great staff and great service. Everybody was friendly, helpful and hospitable. The room was nice, clean and spacious and the hotel has a beautiful, relaxing pool area! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate feedback to us through this medium. Your opinion motivates us to give our guests a high quality service. We are delighted to have met your expectations and that your stay was enjoyable.

Hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked a holiday with truly travel on teletext they put us in this hotel , it was a 20 minute cab ride away from any bar any beach and any tourists this was not what we was sold over the phone , we paid alot of money for this holiday and was left so upset , for breakfast there was a menu with a few choices and the only buffet they had was carrots and onions and few pieces of fruit the bar was always closed had to venture out every day and night , please don't go to this hotel or with truly travel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest:
We sincerely regret that you have had this negative experience at one of our hotels. Please note that your comments will help us improve the service and thus fulfill the highest expectations of our guests in our facilities. We reiterate that we always keep in touch with you and your comments are always taken into account to improve our service.
No more for now thank you for your attention
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Smart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Smart

Address: Avenida Tulum Esq. Brisa s/n | Col. Centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Oasis America)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Smart 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Who says you can't be smart and beautiful? Not me! I mix business and pleasure in a most delightful way: a downtown location, an ultra-hip decor and an Executive Floor with great facilities plus a swimming pool, Spa, fitness center and Beach Club access at the Oasis Palm. I'll even throw in a complimentary Smart Car for your stay - how clever is that?" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oasis Smart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis America Hotel Cancun
Oasis America Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Smart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.