We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Smart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Smart to your Saves list
Oasis Smart
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tulum Esq. Brisa s/n | Col. Centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Oasis America)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Travel agent sold it to us as 5 star hotel. Is no stars at all. It is in middle of motorway. 5km to the beach. Very poor dinner. Very poor service, tables dirty nobody cleans them,nobody offers gls of wine for you. You have to try to find somebody and ask for a drink. i red some bad reviews but i thought that is not possible to be true. We came to cancun for 2 weeks but after two nights in this hotel we checked out and booked another hotel. better not to try to save on hotel because youll pay double in the end. One thing is nice in oasis Smart its big and nice rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms to the pool side is more quieter. Dont ask for sea view room because you cant see sea from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, Director General at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. We would like to let you know that our hotel has an excellent downtown location where you have access to the hotel zone, shopping centers and also to our beach club which is 10 minutes away from our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. We assure you that all your comments will be submitted to the appropriate departments to follow-up, in order to avoid further complaints. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future to enhance your experience and perception of the Hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    43
    16
    4
    15
See reviews for
29
38
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Hotel is clean and nice but there is no food variety, the main dish at every meal is veggies/onions. The bar is rarely open and when it is there often isn't anyone working. There's a coffee shop but didn't ever have someone working. I was told it was across the street from the beach, it was a $15 cab ride. Only 1 pool with a swim up bar that was advertised but not in service. The entire place was deserted because there was absolutely nothing to do. Would never ever recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, Director General at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your opinion about your stay in our hotel, at the same time we want to offer our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay at our hotel, the concept of Oasis Smart is focused for business people or people that are coming for a few days and usually they are not in the hotel, either for work or activities outside the hotel, thank you again for all your comments as these help us to improve our service to deliver a better and stay to our guests .

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great staff and great service. Everybody was friendly, helpful and hospitable. The room was nice, clean and spacious and the hotel has a beautiful, relaxing pool area! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate feedback to us through this medium. Your opinion motivates us to give our guests a high quality service. We are delighted to have met your expectations and that your stay was enjoyable.

Hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Booked a holiday with truly travel on teletext they put us in this hotel , it was a 20 minute cab ride away from any bar any beach and any tourists this was not what we was sold over the phone , we paid alot of money for this holiday and was left so upset , for breakfast there was a menu with a few choices and the only buffet they had was carrots and onions and few pieces of fruit the bar was always closed had to venture out every day and night , please don't go to this hotel or with truly travel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest:
We sincerely regret that you have had this negative experience at one of our hotels. Please note that your comments will help us improve the service and thus fulfill the highest expectations of our guests in our facilities. We reiterate that we always keep in touch with you and your comments are always taken into account to improve our service.
No more for now thank you for your attention
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagon, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

stayed this hotel 13 nights in feb 2013 the food is basic to bad at best, never told a smart car was thrown in as advert says in fact hotel staff told us transport was not provided to take us to beach club, they even told us how much taxi was 80 paeso, yeh there, 120 to 150 back for same journey but because you are in hotel zone taxi´s rip you off. the staff in the coffee shop at night, 2 guys, were a waste of space. you got the feeling you were keeping them here as they were very keen to get done and go home even saw them getting into taxi at 11.05 pm and bar supposed to be open till 11.00pm. you can only go to beach club from 9.00 am to 6.00 pm so no entertainment at night, when you leave beach club at 6.00 pm you feel like cinderella leaving the ball. in short.... this hotel not recomended as it is in no way anything like a hotel for tourists. CRAP can´wait to get out

Room Tip: don´´t have room on front of hotel like being at side of M6
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest
We regret this news and be advised that your comments are being channeled to the area of our hotel. Also we confirm that our commitment to our guests is to improve our service every day.
No more for now we welcome your feedback.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frejus, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very friendly staff,
Air conditioning dating my grandmother, nice pool, close to the city center.
Hotel means sleep ..... poor insulation impossible to sleep with the air conditioning because of the noise!
The music is very loud in the restaurant to cover the noise of the air conditioning
The only 3 stars (no more !) hotel I have seen in the world that does not serve tea at the breakfast
Every day they promised us tea on arrival, daily arrival was delayed until our departure....... The rest of the breakfast was excellent !
Book your hotel in the hotel zone (all inclusive if possible), there is not much to see in Cancun city and if you want to go the taxi fare is around 150 pesos
Always negotiate before !
Main activities are in the hotel zône ...

Room Tip: if you sleep without air conditioning or with earplugs ..... otherwise avoid this hotel until the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We want to know that every day we are making changes and improvements to our hotels to provide our guests an excellent service. We look forward to seeing him again at our hotel to enhance your experience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was there Jan.6-13,2013all-inclusive. The hotel is decorated very well. Room was OK, service was so-so. Ordered extra blanket & towel & was waiting 2 days, until asked again. A pool is very small, gym is very poor. Food in hotel was so-so, very limited selection(beef, chicken, fish). Asked ice-cream that was in Menu but they told "we don't have it". On the beginning the waiters could not find us in the list "all-inclusive". The $ exchange rate in the hotel was 8.5 pesos, so we walked 5 min to nearest exchange & had it for 12.10 pesos.
The main inconvenience was the beach service in Oasis Palm. Every day we received day pass to Oasis Palm at reception. To get the beach we needed to walk 5 minutes to bus station & ride for a 10-15min & then walk again for 5 min to Oasis Palm. We lost 1 hr every day to travel back & forth. In Oasis Palm we were waiting 5-15min. in line at lobby to get towel cards. The beach in Oasis Palm was overcrowded but send was clean & water was clear & shallow. The most of clients was from Latin America, Mexico, Russia & just a little bit from Canada & the US. The food there was good. But we were allowed to stay there just to 6pm, so no shows, no dinner. The price was very good. Good in general.

Room Tip: We had 602 & 605 & were satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good afternoon:
We regret the trouble you had during your visit. We will consider all comments and opinions in order to meet their expectations in the future. We appreciate the time to leave your comments and hope to see you again soon.
We reiterate our thanks.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oasis Smart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Smart

Address: Avenida Tulum Esq. Brisa s/n | Col. Centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Oasis America)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#29 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Smart 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Who says you can't be smart and beautiful? Not me! I mix business and pleasure in a most delightful way: a downtown location, an ultra-hip decor and an Executive Floor with great facilities plus a swimming pool, Spa, fitness center and Beach Club access at the Oasis Palm. I'll even throw in a complimentary Smart Car for your stay - how clever is that?" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oasis Smart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis America Hotel Cancun
Oasis America Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Smart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.