We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort is overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Temptation Resort Spa Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Temptation Resort Spa Cancun to your Saves list
Temptation Resort Spa Cancun
3.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 3.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Resort is overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The resort does not live up to the rating.
Food was very hit or miss.....when it missed it did so in a major way.
Rooms are nothing special and prepare for your room to be picked through....IPHONE WAS STOLEN from my room.
Drinks are plentiful but very low quality product...one selection of draft beer and bottom shelf liquor unless you are constantly tipping or specifically requesting for the good stuff.
The front desk and everyone associated with are horrible. I have never seen so many people sit around and do absolutely nothing.
Management could care less about their guests. I never spoke to a manager to discuss my stolen phone. No attempt was made to try to reach out to make a bad situation better. I was told there was nothing they could or would do and basically deal with it.

Avoid the welcome meeting aka the TIMESHARE Salespitch...what a waste of time and definitely didn't know this was part of the package

THE GOOD... the bar and restaurant staff overall were good, there were several resort activities to participate in and the people vacationing were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,546
    1,198
    427
    258
    231
See reviews for
44
1,844
159
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

After reading reviews and hearing about the swingers aspect of this hotel we were very sceptical. We are a young couple who are fairly reserved and we began to think this was a bad choice for us.We couldnt have been more wrong, there was really no need to worry this hotel is amazing and I never once felt uncomfortable or even aware that any swinging or other unusual activity was going on.
Room:
Clean, spacious and quiet. We did have to change rooms as soon as we arrived as the first rooms bathroom stunk, there was no problem with changing this though and we had a new room within minutes, which we were happy with. We did end up with a twin room though as there were no double quiet rooms, we were told if we came back in the morning they would move us again although the twin room consisted of two double beds which we were more then happy with.We had requested a quiet room and the second was apart from the odd loud guest stumbling at night, although hotel can not be blamed for this.
One negative was I had quite a nasty fall the last day of the holiday due to spilt alcohol being left on the stairs leading up to the rooms. I reported this to the hotel showing my bruises and this was just brushed off, not great service.

Food:
5 restaurants, one buffet with different food each night, the other restaurants were sea food, italian, Asain and Tex Mex.
We both rated the food really highly, so much choice and we never had a bad meal or went hungry.

Pool:
3 pools, sexy, quiet and sport.
We spent all our time at the quiet pool, which was lovely, there was a swim up bar and never had trouble getting a drink.

Location:
At the end of hotel zone, so quite far from nightlife def not walk able but can get either a bus or a taxi at reasonable prices, if choose a taxi make sure you haggle can get it for half the price they initially quote.

Beach:
Not the best beach in Cancun but still clear water and white sands.

Facilities
We used the sports room loads which was nice and quiet and had a couple of pools tables and table tennis.
The gym had really good facilities.
Spa was ridiculously expensive for what was on offer, it costs 20 dollars per person just to use the steam room and Jacuzzi, looked very dingy a complete rip off.
There were plenty of bars we never had to que for a drink.
Nightlife was dodgy we went to one show and was put of for the rest of the holiday. It consisted of women in lingerie dancing, felt more like a strip club. Avoiding the nightlife shows were not a problem, as there were many bars in the hotel to choose from.
Recommendations:
For room snacks I recommend going to the OXO store on the opposite side of the road, slightly further down then the first convenience store and the store in temptations which was very overpriced, the OXO was a lot cheaper.

Overall an amazing hotel, I would recommend to anyone, do not worry about the reputation at all, its just like any other normal hotel and you will have a lovely time.

Room Tip: Block 5600 was quiet, we had room 5632 could not here any bar noise. If not happy with room do comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at temptations for a full week - the beach is beautiful and the staff is friendly. Village wok is a must !!! Ate there three times - also the excursion to isla mujeres won't leave u disappointed - although when signing up for it the rep fails to tell you about the extra fees and the $20 bottle of biodegradable sun block required to wear in order to snorkel AND the spa is to die for - on a negative note - my skin started itching 2 days before I left and it hasn't stopped since - the blankets had stains on them the refrigerator is poorly stocked - alcohol is WATERED DOWN GARBAGE get off the resort if u can and explore cancun I would also say look into your options before settling on Temptations

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our 3rd stay at Temptation and it seems that we tweak the way we do things a little with each visit making each trip a little better than the previous.
The rooms are comfortable and the housekeeping is awesome. Love the towel art! The large dual headed showers are such a pleasure.
It’s the Paty-O Lounge that keeps bringing us back and it didn’t disappoint! Hi Fillipa! That young lady has such a warm smile! “I’d like another Tom Collins por favor!”
Met some amazing people on this trip, but were disappointed when we failed to exchange info with so many that we would have loved to maintain contact with. If you’ve never been, it’s just one of those places where you meet people that you feel you’ve known for ages!
Don’t miss the Italian restaurant! The steak, chicken breast and lasagna are a few of our favorites!
Finding a good variety of food for lunch is probably the one place we feel that the resort does lack.
The breakfast buffet is probably the most diverse variety of food I have ever seen. Every morning I was able to try something completely different.
Learned the Standup Paddle Board this trip well enough that I plan on attempting a windsurfer in October!
Bring some wire hangers since they are in short supply. We bring 2 outlet multipliers (1 into 3). Also bring 2 or 3 scented tea candles to rid the room of the musty odor that can accompany rain days. Guys, bring some nice clothes so that it is not just the ladies showing all the class.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place has all the ingredients for an adults only getaway. There were plenty of sporting activities that were well attended, excellent food and drink, crazy fun at the sexy pool and quality night life without leaving the resort. The shows were varied and excellent and they either had a live band or DJ for dancing to follow. I ate at every restaurant on the resort. I found the service and food at the fine dining level. My problem with fine dining is that I am often not full. One time, the waitress recommended ordering another meal which I also happily devoured without a hint of guilt. The crazy, topless fun is limited to one pool and is only over the top in the afternoon hours. I found a few minutes a day there was plenty. The rest of the place and time is just normal adult fun.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room away from the Paty-O outdoor club as the party goes very late and could kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I loved this Hotel everyone was friendly. Its a swingers Hotel but if you let them know up front that youre not into that they do leave you alone haha. If you are shy or have insecurities this place isnt for you. If youre married and want a quiet place to stay this place is not for you though the front side of the hotel is much quieter than the back part where all the party is at. Women walk around topless and in thongs. Theres parties at the club every night and theres also a pool area to just hang out. The first room we received smelled like armpit to which i couldnt stand they had to give us a better room. The second room given was great. They had 3 pools, a lounge pool more for relaxing, a sexy pool where everything and anything goes and they party hard!!!!!!! The 3rd pool is a sports pool where they play sports. They have several restaurants to die for. Food was great, atmoshphere was great, people were great. Hotel is beach front, they have VIP areas, rooms have hot tubs and theres also a gym and spa. A bus ride away brings you into town where all the shopping/bars/clubs are at. All in all this place was wonderful and great fun. A def. plus and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Now I know a lot of people are going to say 'well it is an adults only hotel' but this was just stupid. Within 10 minutes of arriving and going to enjoy an hour or so in the pool before the sun went down my fiancé and I were 'poached' for want of a better word. The beach is lovely as are the staff. If we were to go back to Cancun we'd definitely stay closer to the centre as this part is a bit outdated.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Temptation Resort Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temptation Resort Spa Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 3.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Temptation Resort Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 384-room Temptation Resort Spa welcomes singles and couples to a hip and sexy take on the all-inclusive holiday. The topless optional, over-21 atmosphere gets you invigorated and refreshed. Amenities include three swimming pools each with a different theme (action packed, relaxation and sports), Jacuzzis, beach, five restaurants, six bars, fitness center, spa, beauty salon, nightly entertainment, room service, 24-hour meal service and daily activity programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Amex and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Temptation Resort Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temptation Hotel Cancun
Temptation Resort Cancun
Blue Bay Mexico
Temptations Cancun
Blue Bay Resort Cancun
Blue Bay Cancun Mexico
Temptations Resort Cancun
Blue Bay Getaway Spa Cancun
Temptation Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temptation Resort Spa Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.