We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun @ Villas Marlin Feb. 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Marlin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Marlin
Save
You added Villas Marlin to your Saves list
Boulevard Kukulkan, Km. 13.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“Great fun @ Villas Marlin Feb. 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed in villa #207 for a week with my husband and parents. Great view of ocean from the huge kitchen/livingroom upstairs. THis villa has 4 bedrooms and 3 baths, but we only needed 2 bedrooms, so they will work with you on this and charge your accordingly!! Alvin and Fernando are very accommodating and helpful with restaurant info. and anything you want to know. The villa has everything you need. Both of our bedrooms had king-size beds with our own baths. The pools are great with plenty of relaxing chairs, and the gorgeous blue beach is just steps from the pool. Lots of great restaurants close by which was nice since my parents need a little assistance at times. Transportation is right out front if needed and very reasonable. No problems and great fun with Alvins "humor"!! Thanks!! Patty!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    56
    14
    7
    16
See reviews for
84
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed with 6 others in the 207 Villa. I honestly do not think we could have gotten a nicer living arrangement unless we were staying in a penthouse suite in a hotel paying what we paid for the week every night. We were a younger group and one of the managers, Fernando, took us out to the best clubs in Cancun and hooked us up with bottle service each night! Needless to say, we all had a great time. We also booked an adventure tour from Caesar down by the pool bar and had a great time.
-Alex

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed in a 4 bedroom 4 bathroom condo with 6 of my friends it was was amazing! Transportation to and from the condo always on time, clean rooms as soon as we got there, the property was beyond perfect. Fernando and Alvin were a great help throughout our vacation. As well as the security, they were always doing an amazing job. To sum it all up we're always planning another stay there this summer and March of next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Penthouse 715 is a great room. Very clean and an amazing view of the ocean and lagoon side. Beds were super comfy. Balconies are great and the rooftop patio is awesome for sunbathing and enjoying the weather. Everything was very clean and if we had the smallest problem the staff was right on top of things to take care of us. Props to Alvin and Fernando and the rest of the employees. They are great. For those Apple users out there, they have an awesome app that keeps you in constant contact with all of these guys if you need anything. From simple things as little as towels to booking tours for you, that app they use is the bomb! Alvin greeted us when we arrived and although Fernando was out of town, it felt like he was next door, setting up anything we wanted to do. Great experience, great time, when back in Cancun will definitely go back and stay with Alvin and the crew!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Where to start?! 3 of us staying in villa 439, March 2013, had the most amazing stay we could have imagined! Firstly and most importantly, we were greeted by Alvin and Fernando upon our arrival, who immediately made us feel extremely welcome. They let us know that this villa was to be our home, our own little paradise and that we should treat is such - and not feel like we were renting. They make themselves available to take care of any queries, questions or requirements at ANY time of day, which is very reassuring as we had absolutely no need to worry about a single thing. As we were after a bit of a party, Fernando and his AMAZING wife sorted us out (sometimes with very short notice) with VIP party packages which were MORE than reasonably priced - they were actually very cheap considering it included a cab to the club when we wanted it, qeue jump, table and bottle service!! Fernando and his wife even came out to party with us just to make sure we were having the best time we could have hoped for. We also need to mention our club PR, Julio who is a true champion. He too provided impeccable service and checked on us in the clubs to make sure everything was going great. Because of their hospitality, superb customer service, attention to the smallest details, and their overall sincerity, our humble hosts were the main reason for our incredible holiday and the reason why I would recommend renting from them to ANYONE looking for a top notch holiday.

Secondly, the property itself is brilliant. It is both clean and modern with very spacious rooms which were more than enough for the 3 of us. The cooking facilities were great and the two bathrooms meant there were no arguments or temper tantrums! With the aircon and ceiling fans it is easy to keep the place cool; but the most incredible part of the property is the balcony which overlooks the beautiful caribbean sea as well as the whole coast! If its your thing, you can catch a glorious sunrise from this balcony and we spent a lot of our time relaxing and taking in the amazing views. The pools are very refreshing and clean; and with the white sand, clear water beach being a 1minutes walk from our doorstep - it really is our own little paradise on earth!

Finally, everything is easily accessible. There is the most magical beach in the world on one side of the block and a big shopping mall on the other. Local supermarkets and food places are a short 5 minute stroll away and there is a bus stop right outside. These buses run all day and take you up and down the coast, into the party centre and through to downtown and other areas of Cancun. In addition the property is comfortably close enough for a 8 minute ride to the clubs, but is also far enough that there is no noise at nights and no drunken crowds in the early hours. If you are not looking for a party, you will not even know there is one - making this the perfect place for families or party animals; it is very adaptable.

A special, personal thanks to Fernando and Alvin - it was a complete holiday experience, one we will never forget and that is definitely down to you guys! We will definitely be back soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Villa 511
It was a really nice place. There were 8 people in our group, and there was plenty of space for all of us. Additionally, the four bathrooms were very convenient. All of the pots, pans, plates, bowls and cups were provided which made things a lot easier. The view outside of the living room balcony was amazing as well, not to mention the lovely ocean breeze that gushed in every time we propped open the balcony door. One very small thing we had to deal with is the hot water heater pilot going out every once in a while; however, Alvin had taught us how to restart it so it wasn’t too big of a hassle.

Villa Marlin Complex
As for the villa complex, it was great. Perfectly located right off the beach and walking distance from many of the restaurants and tourist places. We were here for the first week of March when the weather was perfect – high 70s, low 80s, sunny and breezy. So, we hardly ever took bus or taxi to get around. We walked almost everywhere – mayan museum, margaritaville, senor frogs, and all of the bars and clubs located at the north end of the strip. On another note, the entire complex was gated and we never really had to worry about our security. Another plus were the three pools in the complex. One small downside of the complex (well, at least for a bunch of college kids on a spring break that we were) is that the security guards enforce the quiet hours.

Alvin and Fernando
Great guys! They took really good care of us. The day we arrived, we were a few hours early and our condo was still being cleaned. So, Alvin took us on a small tour of Cancun in his Hummer. While on this tour, he talked to us about all of the things we could do in and around Cancun. He then took us to Walmart and Sams’ club where we did all of our liquor and food shopping. As soon as we came back from shopping, he installed a mobile task tracker app on one of our iphones. Ever since, our requests were only a text away. Fernando was away for a week, but he too took good care of us through the mobile task tracker app. As friendly as they are, my one advice would be to remember that they are businessmen first. Before you buy any club packages or tour packages from them, make sure you ask around and negotiate with them (as with any other street vendor, bartender, restaurant, taxi driver, etc in Cancun).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

February of 2013 we (two couples) stayed for 3 nights in Villa #439 at the Villas Marlin in Cancun. This property is owned by Alvin Harrison who is meticulous about seeing that your stay exceeds your expectations. He lives near by and along with Fernando are great sources of information and help with your stay. He has his own smartphone App which he gives you that allow you to text him with any questions or problems and you instantly know when he has received it, is working on it, and has completed the task. Pretty cool! The condo was very pleasant and had a nice balcony overlooking the beach. The complex has 3 lovely pools as well as being situated on a beautiful stretch of the Cancun beach. Alvin also recommended a great restaurant nearby for breakfast where we ate all 3 days. With the help of Alvin and Fernando we had a great day snorkeling on a reef off the coast that you drove to in your own little speedboat - lots of fun and great snorkeling. One of the nicest things was the communication with Alvin about the unit. Everything was very clear and forthright and there were no unexpected surprises. He arranged a ride for us both from the airport and then to our hotel where we were starting a Road Scholar trip. When we return to Cancun we will definitely head back here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Marlin

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan, Km. 13.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Cancun
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Marlin is medium sized, family oriented condominium complex located in the center of Cancun's Hotel Zone. On the beach and adjacent to Kukulkan Mall the complex is close to restaurants, activities and night life. The complex features 3 pools, mini market, 24 hour security and is directly on the best beach in Cancun. Villas Marlin features condos of all sizes, price points and features. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Marlin Hotel Cancun
Marlin Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Marlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.