We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for what you pay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Pok-ta-pok 21/22 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #93 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Spring, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for what you pay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel was fine, very clean; the staff was very nice; free wifi; the pool was clean and very relaxing. Rooms didn't have a fridge. 5 minute walk to catch the bus, and the cost was 9.50 pesos. From the hotel to Plaza Caracol, taxis charge approximately 110 pesos.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pokta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Google Translation
Estimad laura R: Agradecemos su comentarios, nos da mucho gusto saber que la actitud de servicio fue la adecuada para usted, y tambin sabemos que la locacion fue buena, esperamos contar nuevamente con su visita
muchas gracias!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    88
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
41
64
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I had one night here on my way to Merida (flight got in late and I chose not to drive 4hrs that day). The hotel was fine, reasonable priced, good size on the rooms and an above-expectation-breakfast-buffet (not only jam and toasts). Didn't use the pool but it looked clean.
This hotel is facing the inland of Cancun, not the seaside. Absolutely perfect for a night or two but I wouldn't put down several days here due to location (because I like to be on the beach and feel the breeze). I'm not sure if I would like a vacation in Cancun's hotel zone anyway - prefer going further south to Playa del Carmen - but thumbs up for another nice Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pokta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Google Translation
Para nosotros es un placer tener huespedes contentos, lo esperamos pronto nuevamente y muchas gracias por sus comentarios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampico, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff during night shift, especially Jose was very attentive and very helpful. The business center needs updating since the computers are outdated and they have trouble with simple tasks such as printing and opening office files and... they charge you for the use of the business center... I was very surprised about this as you can imagine. Even after forking out the fee, the machines don´t work! Shame on the hotel owner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pokta, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Google Translation
Mil gracias por sus comentarios, le haremos saber a Jose su calidez para con los huespedes y haremos saber su peticion del centro de negocios

Mil garcias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Breakfast/Pool: The buffet is pretty much continental (eggs, bread, marmelade, butter, cereals, milk, turkey, ham, cheese) with some Mexican flavours (nachos chips, salsas etc) as well. You can find a good variety of fresh fruits as well! The pool area is nice, relaxing and clean.

Personnel and Services: The personnel is very friendly and kind, really helpful with pretty much everything so this is one of the best things in this hotel service! Well done!
There is a separate office in the lobby where you can book your excursions in Chichen Itza, Tulum or the parks Xcaret etc without having to search every single tourist office in the city. The service comes and picks you up from the hotel door as well! There is also a convenient store next to the hotel (until 1 am) so you can get the most important stuff from there if you're hungry (there's no restaurant in the hotel). Free wifi is good generally and you can connect up to 3 devices. However is not that fast (there is a premium faster service if you want better speeds for some bucks).

Rooms: the rooms seem not renovated since the 80s, they have a light scent of humidity and oldness. However the amenities are good and the towels/sheets clean. There is no fridge, no food at night (however you can order delivery), no hangers for drying your wet swim clothes, the balcony door looks not so safe and look fragile (look the photo). Additionally, the gap under the door let the rain come in after a heavy storm (I experienced it last night before I leave). Last, there is no safe box for your valuables in the room. Instead, they offer a locker in the reception and they give you a key that if you loose you have to pay 3000 pesos!!!

Location: It is pretty much far from anything (therefore if you look something quiet to get rest) but in an affordable distance from the bus stop (>10 min walk) for any direction (either to Plaza Caracol where the bars are or the city center). You might feel a bit isolated, but the area seems nice (some villas are built around) and safe, and there is a taxi stand right outside the hotel which makes it easy to roam. The taxi ride to the airport from the hotel is 300 pesos

All in all: I would really not mind the location and staying again if the rooms were a bit renovated and the doors more safe... But if you are not there for bars and Cancun beach, stay at the city for a better deal or check Playa del Carmen which is very nice, not so crounded and close to all sights and parks (Tulum, Xcaret etc).

Room Tip: There is only ground floor and first floor.. choose a first floor room as the ground floor could flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pokta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias, por sus comentarios,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here just for stopover en route to Cuba and picked it because it was only $64 per night including breakfast. I didn't expect great things so not surprised by this basic but clean hotel. It was a little farther from the airport than I thought, ( 1/2hr) and the taxi fare from airport was $50 although it was only $ 30 on our return from the hotel...airport ripoff for new arrivals.
The rooms were small, dated, but clean. They did smell damp which was off putting.
The hotel has a large oblong pool which was clean.
Breakfast was basic buffet style, hot and cold. Not much choice, but enough to fill before travel.
Staff were pleasant enough and keen to help.
This hotel is cheap....and good enough for 1 night....but I was glad it was only 1 night.
Would I stay again??...... No

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pokta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, y esperamos tenerlos nuevamente con nosotros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The great thing about travel in Mexico is that every motel has it's own unique design and atmosphere and this place is no exception. I was pleasantly surprised to arrive at a motel with a large courtyard with gardens, big swimming pools, and lots of tables. It was the perfect first nights' stay for my family. The only disappointment was that the listed fee of about $70 ended up being closer to $120 once the extra fees for 2 kids plus the exhorbitant tax of 18% were added in. That high tax might keep me from going back to Cancun, but if I do, and if I need a place to stay for a night or two, I'd definitely consider Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pokta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to read from our costumers on how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

HIE Cancun is a nice place. It's by no means a high-end resort, but certainly not a dive by any standard that I know of. My wife and I stayed here with her parents for two nights on a road trip around the Yucatan.

Our room was clean and tidy and we did not have any issues with mold or odors, etc. The grounds are nicely manicured with palms, etc. and the pools and rest of the courtyard are pretty cool. Rooms are accessed from a secure indoor hallway, but also open out to the main courtyard/ pool area, which is very convenient. The complimentary buffet breakfast was one of the more filling and tasty that I've had at any hotel, but I also don't generally stay at 5-star resorts. Their concierge was helpful and didn't pressure us at all, AND, they have free parking with spots right next to the main entrance.

The only notable disadvantage of staying here would be that if you're hoping to leave the car at the hotel (parking is a headache near the beaches), or don't have a car, it is very difficult to access any of the beaches from the hotel and the hotel, itself, does not have a shuttle service. We knew this when we booked, but looking at a map, it's a bit deceiving if you've never been to Cancun, as you can't cut through any of the properties off of the main road (Kukulkan) to access any of the northern beaches. With that said, it is a short walk to the main road where you can catch one of the buses (R1/R2) that ply the strip and will drop you off at any of the public beach access points for about one U.S. dollar. You can always have the hotel call you a cab as well, if you're so inclined.

Still, the place is an excellent value for the money in a safe and secure area away from the Cancun party scene. If you are mobile, budget-conscious, independent, and don't need to be right on the beach, we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pokta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to read from our costumers on how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera

Address: Paseo Pok-ta-pok 21/22 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Hotel Zone of Cancun, within the residential area of the Cancun s Golf Course (Pok Ta Pok) by the Nichupte lagoon, Holiday Inn Express Hotel is the perfect place for the business or leisure traveler, combining rooms and facilities of category with a service of excellence. We have 119 comfortable rooms, with beautiful views from the balconies or terraces of our well designed central gardens and main pool. Our special mattresses and pillow s menu, will have enjoying the best dream you ever had! We also have meeting room facilities and business center. We extend you: Buffet Express Breakfast, wireless Internet, local and 01 800 phone calls (within Mexico), coffee service 24 hrs available at the main lobby, 20% discount at a restaurant located one and half block from the Hotel. If you forget any item for personal use, we provide you with it without any charge and we provide you with the benefit of our frequent traveler program Priority Club! Located only 2 km from the Convention Center and main Malls and attractions in Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera Hotel Cancun
Holiday Inn Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cancun Zona Hotelera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.