We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 3 weeks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Tucancun Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Tucancun Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km 13.5 | Lote 24, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #43 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic 3 weeks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for 3 weeks, 2 years ago. I have been to many hotels and this was by far one of the best. The food was what you would expect with lots of choice and served all day and even in the bar at night. Drinks were served all day and night and the staff were all great. Rooms were lovely, big and clean with fantastic views. The mini fridge in the room was restocked with drinks and snacks daily. Would 100% return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Barcelo Tucancun Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barcelo Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    1,041
    454
    219
    156
See reviews for
595
863
85
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My biggest disappointment: the staff expects tips all the time, even though it is a all inclusive hotel and in our case, when we bought the package, the tips were prepaid.

Food: poor. The buffets are average. Not much of Mexican food, though. You can find good food at the fancy restaurants. The only inconvenient is that you have to make a reservation to eat at the them every day. There are 3. We tried one of them and liked it very much. Its free (or included)

Facilities: average. The adult pool, is too small and boring. Not even music to help you relax.
the other two pools are full of impolite people and unhelpful staff, unless you tip them continuously.

Parties: a guy called Alan was a kind of hostess. He sells the parties that happen on the city. The only advantage of buying from him is free shuttle. He promises too much and deliver the same that the bars are offering already.

happier note: My husband choose a package called romance and we are upgraded to a room facing the beach for free. There are petals in our bed and on the floor. Kinda cute!

Room Tip: choose a package called romance and be are upgraded to a room facing the beach for free
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Barcelo Tucancun Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer
Thank you for choosing the Barceló Tucancun Beach during your trip to Cancun. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
Very truly yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noryh shields
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My boyfriend an i have just returned from a a 1 week holiday at this hotel. We both thought it was fantastic. The staff were very friendly, the mexican resturant was to die for. It was brilliant weather 31c everyday. The rooms always tidy and great large shower, enough for 2 at the same time.. There was always a great vibe, and good activities around the pool. The beach and coast is gorgues. The entertainment shows in the theatre were very good, although finished too early. The staff always happy to help. We only went for a week, was not enough as very tired after the journey.
Cannot believe that some reviews are making a fuss, i had no critiscism, apart from the airconditioning unit outside our room, making alot of noise when sleeping. Would definately return to this hotel and recommend. If you like things to do around the pool, also have 2 other pools if you want to chill out more

Room Tip: Rooms on the south tower was recommended by a trip advisor review, however it had a good view. But w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, marketing office at Barcelo Tucancun Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Sir,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barcelo Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,

It would be a pleasure to have you with your family on a longer break soon.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We selected the Barcelo Tucancun in Cancun, because we had stayed at the Barcelo Maya Colonial, Riviera Maya, and it was marvelous, and for a similar price. The Barcelo Tucancun was so different. Aggressive employees at the front desk who told me as soon as I mentioned the hotel at the Riviera Maya "that this one was not as good, and that the food was not the same". Really? The food was horrendous, repetitive, boring, and seemed to be prepared fast and without any care. Totally flavorless. All the people we talked to at the hotel shared our feeling. The rooms were so small, and my children´s TV never worked. We reported it and no one came to help in the five days we were there. The bedspread got dirty and even though we left it on the floor to show the spots of coffee, they made the bed with it again. The noise all over the hotel was unbearable. Loud music everywhere and especially in the pool areas. Lots of drunks, and all that loud music all the time. They had one "adult pool" with no music where suddenly a kid, probably the son of some rich guy, suddenly showed up with his own loudspeakers and began playing loud music, too. Even our 20 year old children did not like the hotel. There is not way to relax there due to the constant noise and shouting. It is like being with spring breakers, but this time Mexican spring breakers because schools in Mexico end in July. Between the people who go there, the horrendous food, and the bad service, I would not recommend this hotel. The beach, though, was fantastic, but there are so many other hotels on the same strip, that why suffer?

Room Tip: Moan enough to get an ocean view room! The view is mind boggling, but the layout of the hotel is su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Barcelo Tucancun Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sir
Receive a warm salute from Barceló Tucancun Beach
I hope this message finds you well. Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay, because customer satisfaction is our top priority and it seems that you didn´t have an entirely pleasing holiday . Although we work really hard in order to guarantee a worry free vacation.

We have strong commitment with customer satisfaction and high quality in our products, we work hard to maintain our property in optimal condition.

I assure you that all departments involved on this claim where well informed about it, corrective measures and evaluation will be taken.

Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter and hope to have an opportunity to change this bad impression and regain your confidence on a future vacation.

Please don´t hesitate to contact us for any further comments.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 07/0/12-07/05/12. We had a very good time. The buffet is good with lots of food for breakfast and dinner. Their green vegtable juice was specially made for my wife. I really loved the set up, the consistency in refilling our mini fridge and their great hospitality. I really enjoyed their 24 hour room service for any food on the menu and each item was only 5 dollars. I totally would stay here with my wife again on our next vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Barcelo Tucancun Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Costumer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barcelo Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,

It would be a pleasure to have you with your family on a longer break soon.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Barceló’s own slogan boasts their hotels are “more than you imagine”, when in actual fact, we left feeling rather underwhelmed.

This hotel is not without its charms, sitting enveloped amidst panoramic views of the Caribbean sea and the Nichupte lagoon. The hotel sits a mere stone’s throw away from “luxury avenue” who’s retailers feature high end brands such as Louis Vuitton and Gucci. Unfortunately, these hotels charms begin to fizzle out once you have got over the location.

Everyone has a different experience when staying at a hotel, and it can obviously vary on many conflicting factors. I believe however that our three week stay was enough to get a grasp on the true standing of this hotel.

Our “more than you imagine” experience started after we arrived from 14 hours of travel, we got more than we imagined standing in a cue for 2 hours to check in, the cue in front of us a mere three people. Our experience continued when we had to drag all of our luggage unassisted up multiple flights of stairs, and then down a discoloured squalid corridor which wouldn’t have looked out of place in a crack den. When we thought we could finally throw down our bags to relax, we discovered our “lagoon view” room was that of various delivery vans, cooling units, extractor fans but no lagoon in sight, and two small single beds.
The next two hours of our holiday was spent at reception getting told there was absolutely no rooms available even if we paid for an upgrade. Then we mentioned that we were hoping to book a wedding in Cancun for 30 guests, and a superior ocean view room materialised.

Hotel Grounds / Ambiance
Beautiful location and beach, and central in Cancun for anywhere you may want to visit. The grounds themselves are pleasant and the hotel has three pools, with a bar at each open early till late. The hotel lets itself down on something it could have excelled at, one pool is taken up all day with water based activities, one is filled with drunks and incredibly rowdy, and the one remaining pool has a pleasant water feature and views of the sea. As both discussing the latest football results with intoxicated dancing strangers, and synchronised slow dancing to Westlife covers where not on our agenda, we opted for the water feature pool. This pool was ok, although relaxing there meant listening to multi-lingual call outs of bingo scores laced with innuendo regarding certain numbers.
Another nice feature is the poster in the hotel lobby that reads “Hey baby…Do you want to get wet?” and the scantily clad ladies showing 90% of their bodys and grinding on the floor whilst doing the splits during the night show. Suitable for family’s or couples? No. The ambiance of this hotel made me feel like I was at a seedy swingers club.

Reception
Slow, deceptive and extremely rude, I can’t even understand how these people where employed.

Restaurants & Food
you have two ala carte restaurants at your disposal, that require booking at between 8am-2pm with the dreaded reception or you won’t get in, regardless of how busy they may or may not be. The superior of the two would be the Mexican restaurant, reasonable food, and if you ask for a Mayan coffee you will get a nice surprise (but its not on the menu) if you don’t tip however, you will simply get ignored by the staff, it’s quite spectacular to see them dart past your table avoiding all eye contact and ignoring your “Excuse me”. The manager of the Mexican restaurant is the most sullen individual I have ever met, he “greets” people as they come in, but in all our 5 visits to the Mexican, never spoke one word to us or even cracked a smile, merely grunted and pointed to our table. The Sea food restaurant is lacking, the majority of the food was stale, and the waiter managed to spill a drink all over me, and the room feels like being in a swimming pool changing room. You also have the Spanish restaurant, no booking required. If you strike lucky this restaurant provides the best food we tasted in the hotel, slow cooked BBQ pork loin ribs, and braised steak in red wine sauce, fantastic, other nights however, it failed to impress. The last to mention is the “Majorca” buffet, which is the main no booking required dining area, this is where you will get breakfast, which has all the options you could want, as well as strangely, reheated paella and tacos from the night before. This restaurant has a “Mexican, Mayan, and Caribbean” night, all of which serve exactly the same food. Pork, fish, or chicken (The chicken is just the bony part of the wing and ultra fatty) aswell as chips, pasta etc. This hotel reheats a lot of food, and you will notice the pork is moist Monday, and as the week stretches on, goes dryer and dryer, disgusting. One final note, the “Majorca” buffet is crammed with tables, you can hardly move.

Drinks
Depending on your barman the drinks can range from pleasant, to foul. All it comes down to is effort (which is extracted via your wallet) the cocktails in this hotel made correctly are great, equally the same cocktail made in a hurry is truly awful. The most unpleasant thing is that all the empty plastic glasses are “swilled” in a dark brown container of water and instantly reused, and most of the time, your drink will have a powdery brown residue at the rim of the glass.

Rooms
an ocean view room will make your stay bearable. Room well cleaned, large shower, large bed, mini fridge restocked daily with 2L beer 5L soft drinks 2L water two bags of nuts and two chocolate bars, aircon unit and ceiling fan.

Miscellaneous
Certain corridors in this hotel flood to about 2-3 inches of water, you will get wet feet leaving your room to go out for the night, why hasn’t this been addressed ?
One woman ran screaming in to the lobby in absolute shock, she claims as she woke up from an afternoon nap she found a member of staff in her bathroom, and then her purse 500 dollars lighter.
The hotel has a photography team which walks around holding various animal for you to take pictures with, the baby crocodiles mouths where taped shut so tight the flesh had peeled away from its snout, the iguanas tail has been tied on to prevent it from ejecting, and I kid you not, the handler of this animal swung it around in his hands to stop it wriggling, then dunked its head in the pool.
The ultimate insult to your intelligence is that the jewellery store in the hotel is selling obvious costume jewellery as “solid Rhodium” bracelets, rhodium is worth ten times the value of 24 carat gold. Hilarious.

Great location, ideal for a partying holiday, not for couples or family’s.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from our two week stay at this hotel. We weren't expecting it to be anything amazing for the price we paid but we were pleasantly surprised.

I can find no major fault with the hotel and therefore give it Excellent. Nearly every member of staff was friendly, food was great, especially in the two specialty restaurants (you must book these at reception between 8am and 2pm on the day you want to eat there - no additional charge), and all the pool areas and beach are spot on.

All inclusive says domestic alcohol only but many international brands can be had for no additional charge e.g. smirnoff, barcardi, many other spirits. Alcohol was very good quality and measures very generous! Also Mini bar was included which is rare and very nice to have. Fairly big cocktail menu, but if they don't have it tell them whats in it and they will give it a shot!

The hotel really has something for everyone. There is music all day and different poolside games run by the entertainment team throughout the day at the main pool, but if you would rather have some peace and quiet the other two pools are great, especially the adult pool with the swim up bar! The main pool is by no means rowdy as said in other reviews, and we spent most of our days there. Other than that there is a different evening show every night, which were actually really good, not your typical hotel show! The urban dance and circus shows were probably the best.

The entertainment team also provided free buses to a different club every night if you wanted, however the clubs in Cancun are incredibly expensive, at least by my standards! Most of the decent clubs were $45 US or more for open bar. (no non open bar tickets available). We only went to Coco Bongo which was $70 for Open Bar, but don't let the price put you off! Definitely worth it for Coco Bongo, its unlike anything you would have ever been to. The shows are spread out between the music and really are amazing. There weren't any loud groups late at night as you might expect because of these trips, never got woken up, so if clubbing isn't your thing this shouldn't put you off!

Strongly recommend The Albatros Boat trip to Isla de Mujeres, a great day out, and again great friendly staff. This can be booked through the hotel. The Chichen Itza trip booked through the hotel was also great (if you can't stand the heat this probably isn't for you, incredibly hot and sweaty day out but if you appreciate history its definitely worth it!). The hotel booking agent was surprisingly not that expensive, especially if you booked a couple trips at the same time (they offered us 10% off both trips).

Last thing worth a mention, the hotel has a photo company onsight and has a deal with them. Every guest is entitled to a free 30 minute shoot around the hotel, and 1 free photo (no obligation to buy extras). Extra photos are only $10 (very cheap if you have ever done this kind of thing before!). we only planned to buy a few but loved the photos so much we got a very good deal on the whole lot on a cd!

Room Tip: Stayed in South Tower with an Ocean view room. We booked lagoon view but they upgraded us as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Barcelo Tucancun Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Tucancun Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Tucancun Beach

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km 13.5 | Lote 24, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Tucancun Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Barcelo Tucancun Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Hotel Tucancun Beach
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel
Tucancun Hotel
Cancun Barcelo
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Tucancun Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.