We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solymar Condos W/ hosts Michelle and Peter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solymar Beach & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Solymar Beach & Resort to your Saves list
Solymar Beach & Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Solymar Condos W/ hosts Michelle and Peter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed in one of the condos Michelle and Peter rent at the Solymar resort in Cancun. This was a good value for this area and good location to tour Chichen-Itza, Xcaret. Purto Morelles was a fun town just south of Cancun if you rent a car ($25-$30 by taxi). Isla Mujeres is a good place to visit for a day and you can get to the sea port by the hotel zone bus (7.5 P or 55 cents) then take the ferry ($15 rt). Also good snorkleing on the island.
Michelle and Peter run a good rental operation. They have nice rentals, good value, and are honest fun people. Having a kitchen was a plus if you like to cook or just to have chips and cheese. I would rent again from them. - Clarence

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinkseycat, Michelle, owner of 3604 at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
Clarence, it was such a pleasure to meet you and your family over New Years. We are glad you enjoyed the suite and took advantage of the many things there are to do in and around Cancun...we look forward to your next vacation here in this affordable paradise!
Thank you for recommending us to all of your friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    181
    152
    96
    222
See reviews for
136
226
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We stayed in condo #1610 at the Solymar for the week between Christmas and New Year's. My husband and I were on our "babymoon" and wanted a place to just relax and spend time together before the arrival of our first child. Michelle met us when we arrived and showed us our room. She gave us great restaurant recommendations and was so nice. The condo was great, all granite counters, full kitchen with stove(no oven), flat screen large TV and very clean. We had a great view of the ocean and over looked the pool, we were on the 4th floor so we didnt get bothered by any pool noise. We loved our vacation.

One small drawback was the availability of ordering food. We did not eat at the resort and we really had to leave the condo to get food, which was fine with me since I dont really eat real lunch while at the beach, but my husband found it a little hard that he couldnt just order a burger or turkey sandwich at the pool. We went to some great restaurants and we really enjoy going out to explore for dinner rather than eating at a resort so for dinner it was perfect. We ate breakfast each day in our food. Great Restaurants we loved were, La Destileria, La Habicuela (the downtown one), La Dolce Vita(my husband liked more than me).

We had a great time and if you are thinking of staying in this condo or with another condo by Peter and Michelle we highly recommend it!!! Very nice and very helpful!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinkseycat, Michelle and Peter...onsite managers of this property at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2010
We were so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay as you left and I have just spoken to you now about the restaurants on site and understand that you wished the pool "bar" would serve food and have taken that suggestion to the owner of that bar. I know not everyone wants the air conditioned restaurant in the pool area when it is so beautiful outside.
The beach is getting even more beautiful in the coming weeks as we are getting a multi million dollar renovation of it. We hope you will come back and see !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tribman
1 review
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We just returned from Cancun Solymar units 2702,2802, 2902 this is the number for the roof top deck. Just a few things you need to know if you rent these units:
1. the units is this complex have a semi private entrance. 2702 is a motel room with a bathroom half a floor up is 2802. Two queen beds and the kitchen. You share the stair well with another set of units that are set up the same. If you have kids and want to be in the same unit this will not happen here. We thought we where all in the same unit. Unit 2702 faces the street it is noisy, buses and people coming and going all hours of the night even with the windows closed. Unit 2802 has the balcony and ocean views this would be the unit to stay in. Beware that the water in this building comes and goes. Some days we had cold water the next hot only. On the last day of our stay I was trying to do a few dish's no water. My son asked if this was how they got us to leave. Our flight was for 3 pm the check out time is 12:00. We where told that it would have been no problem to stay a little later but some one was coming in, no problem. Then we were told that for 300 peso more we could stay until 6pm. Like all things in Mexico it boils down to the Peso's. Be prepared if you want to use the Internet that you will have to sit in main hallway of the condo on the floor outside of Peter and Michelle's unit to get any signal.Take heart you will not be alone. Several others sat in front of their keepers units. We were asked about our stay and voiced some of our concerns. We where told that people have paid more than we did and received less. This was followed up by an e-mail I received after I got home again telling me that I should have been happier with my stay. In conclusion if you can get this unit for a rock bottom price you will have gotten what you paid for.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinkseycat, Manager for owner of 2802,2702 at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2010
We were very disappointed as this family was leaving, to hear how unhappy they were with Cancun in general.
We have a note that is put in the rooms that says "Please let us know of anything that is not up to your satisfaction the moment that is happens. We dread hearing about it when you are leaving as there is nothing we can do at the time"
We did discover a problem with the water pump to this particular penthouse, that could have easily been corrected, and has since been corrected, we wish we had known sooner.
Internet is provided for free for the suites we manage within range of my own computer at the resort. The resort has a 200 peso charge if you wish to use the lobby system per day.
The noise of the traffic does affect the lagoon view rooms it is true that most of our guests prefer to sleep on the ocean view side of the penthouse where you will hear only the waves break...the lagoon view room is a simple second bedroom of the two room penthouse that was a true bargain at 98usd per night for each room over Christmas and New Years.
We do have plenty of rooms that allow for privacy if that is what a family requires, but these are sold out many months in advance as most of our guests are repeat.
Thank you for your comments .. it is important if not crucial for us to receive feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Everything was excellent!! Great vacation. Michele and Peter prepared the studio just as we needed and communication was fluid all through the reservation process.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Definetly one of our best vacations yet! We rented a privately owned condominium through VRBO, owned by Nancy and Larry Cousins. The room we rented was on the top floor and faced the ocean and over looked the pool. The view was incredible. The room itself was very open, with high ceilings and extremely clean. It also had a big kitchen, with a full sized fridge. It was nice to be able to make a quick breakfast and some coffee and be on our way! The bus stop is right outside on the main road, and is extremely cheap and easy to take to go shopping or dining out.
The pool was always very clean and nice to sit by. The beach was also very clean and we felt very safe swimming in the ocean because there is a life guard right on the Solymar beach.
I would definetly recommend this condo to anyone for any type of vacation; romantic, family anything! We are already planning to go back next year!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed 11 nights in December 2009 at Cancun's Solymar Beach Resort in an apartment rented from Nancy and Larry Cousins. The apartment was very nicely decorated in a mexican style and was very clean & cozy! It also had a nice big kitchen which was great for making dinner ourselves. There was also a cute little balcony with amazing views to the caribbean and a bigger rooftop terrace towards the lagoon where you can watch the beautiful sunset! Although the Solymar hotel is a bit far from the city center (action), there are buses running frequently which are an inexpensive and convenient way of travelling there. The Solymar beach is nice and the water is wonderfully turqoise, still we preferred the nearby (walking distance) playa delfines since it had more space. The hotel also had a nice looking pool, but we didn't use it since we liked the beach more. All in all we loved the apartment and would definately stay again! The owners Nancy & Larry were also very helpful with everything and info on their pretty apartment and the Cancun area! Recommended :) -Julia from Finland

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Stayed at the Solymar Condo from Aug 13 -22nd 2009 with wife and three teen-agers. Got three bedroom Condo from Peter and Michelle. Great Ocean View from main room and Lagoon view from other two rooms. Not too many people as it was end of sumer vacation season. Condos very practical with 2 kitchens, one in main bedroom and one in other room.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solymar Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Beach & Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solymar Beach & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, with a three stars category and splendid five diamonds beach is the perfect place for families and Couples. It's All Inclusive Plan and also Only room ; it will be an unforgettable experience for who looks for quality, economy and service in a relaxed atmosphere.Located on Kilometer 18.70 Hotel Zone, just 15 minutes away from Cancun's international airport to 10 minutes from the main shoppings mall and only three minutes from the Iberostar Cancun Golf Club. 75 Standar rooms distributed in 3 buildings and 10 suites on the ground floor all them with Air conditioning with individual control, Cable TV, telephone service, in room Safety deposit box at no charge. The room counts with either King Size, or two double Beds. The Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Solymar Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solymar Beach & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.