We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have to say I really liked it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solymar Beach & Resort

Save Saved
You added Solymar Beach & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solymar Beach & Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I have to say I really liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

So, based on some reviews I read here, I thought it was going to a bad experience, but I was so wrong. We arrived at the hotel about 4 hours early, and instead of making us wait, they got a room for us early, no extra charge. Everyone working at the hotel was very nice. The air conditioning was always working perfectly, the rooms were kept clean, the pool was great, and the beach in front of the hotel was amazing.

Some people complained that the hotel was too far from the main tourist areas an the downtown area, but let me tell you, when coming back at night, tired from a long day tour, nothing beat the fact that we were the first ones to be dropped off. The people who stayed closer to the downtown area had to wait about an hour extra because of the traffic and the drop-off of other people.

I can't say if I will be back to Solymar, because we would love to experience other hotels, but I will say that we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Google Translation
Buenas tardes

Muchas gracias por su tiempo y sus amables comentarios, estamos para servirle si desea volver a visitar este maravilloso destino, Cancun tiene mucha diversidad de servicios y estamos seguros que su próxima experiencia sera también memorable aun cuando no se hospede con nosotros. saludos y exito!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    175
    141
    94
    213
See reviews for
130
216
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

first time me and my boyfriend stayed in all inclusive resorts. didn't know what to expected . with the budget i found the cheapest one. still in good location and photos looks nice but all the reviews were terrible but for like $120 a night for 2 people and all inclusive .i thought i gave it a try.
got van services with it so we have ride from hotel to airport . as soon we got to hotel went to eat the buffet and few drinks . checked in at 3 pm .. room was very nice big shower have a kitchen (didn't expected) sitting area king size bed .i booked none refundable garden view but i still have an ocean view and it was beautiful room looked clean . stayed 2 nights . staffs are all nice . no money was taking or stolen form the room. food wasn't bad . drinks was good after 20 of them they all good. there were food beside beach also but drinks wasn't included there
massage $40 an hour was nice. pool is very nice too. so i don't understand all the complaints . yeah maybe a lot of steps and rooms are hard to find.. but for the price i am very happy with it i didn't want to pay $400 a night for sure. buffet changes some every day too. maybe because i never stayed any where else. but for the price again first time isn't bad at all. and u can catch bus right in from the hotel $1 will take you to downtown don't take taxi .. its very easy .

Room Tip: i stayed like 3rd floor and its ocean front looking at the pool but i booked garden view so i am not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Google Translation
muchas gracias por sus amables comentarios, nos alegra mucho saber que su experiencia en solymar fue excelente, ese es nuestro principal objetivo y estamos orgullosos de haberlo logrado.

estamos muy contentos de que haya disfrutado de nuestras instalaciones y servicios.

esperemos tenerle muy pronto por las maravillosas playas de Cancún, México.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After spending a week at a vacation rental in Tulum, my family spent a night at Solymar before going home. We had a "penthouse", which is a suite -- one room with a kitchenette and a balcony facing the ocean, one room facing the bay, and access to a rooftop patio facing the bay. The views were great everywhere. The rooms themselves were adequate -- some noticeable repairs were needed but nothing unsanitary or unsafe. There is a pool with a bar that plays music that appeals to the younger crowd, and this music was tough to avoid in the room facing the sea, even when the balcony door was closed. It was difficult to locate the room at first - the first digit of the room number does NOT indicate what floor it is on, it indicates which wing (1=furthest south, 2=next wing further north, etc.), and the second digit kind of indicates what floor it is on (for example, 5/6/7/8 are all accessed on the 2nd floor). There are activities nearby, but nothing at Solymar itself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Google Translation
le agradecemos su comentario y visita y tiempo para dejarnos este comentario la cual le agradecemos mucho,ponemos nuestro esfuerzo para conseguir que clientes como ustedes pasen momentos memorables en nuestra propiedad.

esperemos tenerle muy pronto por la maravillosas playas de Cancùn México.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Tried to stay my last day in cancun in a cheaper hotel since I extended my stay! Boy was that mistake! Got dropped off at the hotel! Looked up, it's 2 flights of stairs! The taxi driver said wait for the bellboy! I'm waiting, waiting 8 minutes later I decided to take my backs up myself! Another on looking taxi saw me struggling and help with one bag for the first flight of stairs! Then I was on my own! Got to the front desk, the men working were Norbert friendly and stressed out! Finally the bellboy comes, sweating to death and may I add there was only one bellboy! Had to wait to check in so I decided to go to the bar! $7 for a small drink!!!! And the boy working didn't know any English! Then decided to get the all inclusive bracelet for an additional $45. I couldn't get my reimbursement from the $7 drink, but I still carried on. Went down to the beach, saw chairs stacked with a man wearing a solymar t shirt, and asked if I could have one, he said no! He also couldn't speak english! Ok now I'm getting pissed! Go back to the lobby, btw, I got lost, no sighs and the floor plans are so bizarre! Told the front desk, they walkie talkied the guy out side! Went back out by the bar, where this very sweet girl was working! I told her what had happened and she couldn't believe it too. So I headed back down to the beach! Ok now all the beach chairs are taken! All, I mean all 10. Finally I found one that was all broken but, I figured it would do! Go to get something to eat, very limited food but the guy working the beach bar was very kind. The food sucked! Finally went to check in, waited another 15 mins to get to my room, as the bellboy was busy. And there is an actual key, not key card so I had to give it to the bellboy to claim my luggage, which he then took someone else to their room first. So I waited. Get to the room, very out dated but the view was great! The AC didn't work! Called down, some guy came and didn't speak any English! And said he fixed it! But no! It was broken! 80 degrees in the room! Very creepy room with an extra door on the side with no lock on my side, little ants every where in the room. Horrible bed, lumpy pillows, no tv channels, no blanket just a stained sheet, which I didn't notice til the next morning! Dingy showering towels! Small breakfast buffet! Credit card machine didn't work when I checked out and waited 15 minutes for my change, which he had to give me in pesos! What a nightmare but at least it was just one night! The pool was very nice though and it was more quiet there, not too populated! I feel bad for some of the nice staff working there, but I don't think I could stay there even if they wanted to pay me! Totally not what I expected! And while booking, I said to myself, " how bad could it be?" Boy, was I wrong!!!!! Omg!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
lamentamos su experiencia no haya sido la esperada,
muchas gracias por su visita y tiempo para dejarnos este comentario el cual le agradecemos mucho ya que son nuestras áreas de oportunidad de atacar y mejorar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa Velha, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked this resort as it was on the last leg of our return journey to the US. The rooms are difficult to get to as the floor plan is quite confusing. Reception staff are just OK. Food was not that great as we had stayed at other places in Cancun earlier. Rooms were large and with all amenities but room cleaning was not up to the mark. We had a sea view room which was rather lovely. Service was not that great either but we were there just for a day so it was not a big deal for us. There are better hotels around but you have to pay more. You get what you pay for finally so if you are there for a longer time spend a little more and go to a better place. If you want to save or just spend a day, I guess its OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Google Translation
ponemos nuestro mejor esfuerzo para conseguir clientes como ustedes pasen momentos memorables en nuestra propiedad, agradecemos sus comentario. Y nos es muy grato saber que su estancia fue satisfactoria en términos generales ,por supuesto hemos tomado buena nota de lo que nos indica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I first have to say I am a pretty easy going guy. I rented a private condo and the owner was the best part of the trip.. Aside from 2 bartenders, there wasn't anyone else in the place that didn't try to rip me off.. And I am sure it was condoned by the hotel including the taxi drivers out front that offer a smorgasbord of drugs and hookers for inflated prices.. I finally lost it when a cabbie from the hotel tried to rip me off on the way to get out of this surreal flashback of a hotel.. There are 4 waring groups that own units in this place and your chances of getting a good unit are the luck of the draw. There is no entertainment and the food is edible at best.. The beach is nice but with the rip tides the red flags are always up and I actually got dragged down the beach about 50 meters on my first day unnoticed by the lifeguard.. Hey my fault.. There is a reason why this joint is reasonably priced and as a guy it was ok but a family and ladies might find it troubling... Not worth the risk people if your laying out serious coin to travel to Cancun.. Spend a few extra bucks and don't worry about the tv and a/c not working...

Room Tip: If you want a nice room, go 2 hotels to the south of this joint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Google Translation
agrademos su comentario su visita y tiempo par dejarnos este comentario la cual le agradecemos mucho, hemos tomado buena nota de los que nos indica

esperemos tenerle muy pronto por as maravillosa playas de Cancún México y nos permita mostrarle los cambios que la propiedad y nuestro servicio ha tenido.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddinge, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Service is very poor. Reception staff arrogant and unfriendly. Service staff unhappy and seem to be frustrated. As customer and guest i feel I'm a problem and a nuisance. Not enough towels in the to give each person their own towels. Restaurant service event driven - no foresight or planning. Very few sun chairs on beach.
Beware of rainfall! First room completely flooded (1-3 cm of water all over the room after moderate rainfall for three hours). We became a "problem" requesting a new room!!
Pool area OK. Restaurant food ok, just. Excellent view and location. Rooms ok for 3-4 star.
Excursion sales in reception area sold a full day excursion to Chichén Itxa and Valladolid which was excellent!
Summary of reveiew - avoid this hotel - no value for money spent!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel - no value for money spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
primero que nada comentarle que lamentamos su experiencia no haya sido la esperada, muchas gracias por su vista y tiempo para dejarnos un comentario el cual le agradecemos mucho ya que son nuestras áreas de oportunidad a atacar y mejorar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Solymar Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Beach & Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solymar Beach & Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, with a three stars category and splendid five diamonds beach is the perfect place for families and Couples. It's All Inclusive Plan and also Only room ; it will be an unforgettable experience for who looks for quality, economy and service in a relaxed atmosphere.Located on Kilometer 18.70 Hotel Zone, just 15 minutes away from Cancun's international airport to 10 minutes from the main shoppings mall and only three minutes from the Iberostar Cancun Golf Club. 75 Standar rooms distributed in 3 buildings and 10 suites on the ground floor all them with Air conditioning with individual control, Cable TV, telephone service, in room Safety deposit box at no charge. The room counts with either King Size, or two double Beds. The Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Solymar Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solymar Beach & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;