We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A catastrophy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Solymar Beach & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Solymar Beach & Resort to your Saves list
Solymar Beach & Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Huddinge, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A catastrophy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Service is very poor. Reception staff arrogant and unfriendly. Service staff unhappy and seem to be frustrated. As customer and guest i feel I'm a problem and a nuisance. Not enough towels in the to give each person their own towels. Restaurant service event driven - no foresight or planning. Very few sun chairs on beach.
Beware of rainfall! First room completely flooded (1-3 cm of water all over the room after moderate rainfall for three hours). We became a "problem" requesting a new room!!
Pool area OK. Restaurant food ok, just. Excellent view and location. Rooms ok for 3-4 star.
Excursion sales in reception area sold a full day excursion to Chichén Itxa and Valladolid which was excellent!
Summary of reveiew - avoid this hotel - no value for money spent!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel - no value for money spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
primero que nada comentarle que lamentamos su experiencia no haya sido la esperada, muchas gracias por su vista y tiempo para dejarnos un comentario el cual le agradecemos mucho ya que son nuestras áreas de oportunidad a atacar y mejorar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    178
    150
    94
    215
See reviews for
133
220
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Me and my girlfriend had a wonderful relaxing week, from an all inclusive package at this hotel resort. The room may have been a bit basic with furniture, but normal for a 3 star, I think other rooms in the hotel are 4 stars, but we did not care, as we were kindly given a sea view room which was very special for us. The beach was clean, lovely and not overcrowded, the food good and abundant at all times, and generally we were able to relax in privacy, we got on very well with the staff, and were able and make the most of our first Mexican experience. We did not need luxury and we wanted peace, and we got very good value for money for what we paid. Marco

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
muchas gracias por su visita y tiempo para dejarnos un comentario el cual le agradecemos mucho.

esperemos tenerle muy pronto de nuevo por las maravillosas playas de Cancún, México.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This place feels dead. It feels like the present management is away and waiting for someone to buy them out. Nothing seems to be attended to. The sofas in the lobby (the only place you can get the Wi-Fi to work) are ripping at the seams, literally pulling apart. The only ATM doesn't work, and no one seems to care, or know whom to tell. Our room doesn't have a room number on the wall of the hallway. You enter a doorway, go up a little flight of stairs, and to the right is our room. Very poor beds, and plastic table and chairs in the corner. A bit icky. If we hadn't needed an extra night in Cancun due to a flight being canceled, I would not have stayed here. The price was right for an extra (unexpected) night, and I thought it would be nice to be on the beach. I would not recommend this to anyone unless they were in a real pinch.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
primero que nada comentarle que lamentamos su experiencia no haya sido la esperada, muchas gracias por su visita y tiempo para dejarnos este comentario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

bad rum,bad personal, bad service, terrible food and very expansiv hotell.
i was there in cristmas 2013-2014
det orginal price for a room in this complex cost about 180 US dollar but u can find it cheaper if u find Time share then maybe u onley need to pay 100 dollar for a room
it is allinclusive but the food was not eatble and the food cost 35 dollar for buffe breakfast lunch and dinner for a day.

Room Tip: dont pay more then 100 dollar in high season. its not worth it..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

It was raining in the beds....the apart could be with a nice view but to much repairs are need. No free internet. We décidé to change to place. Sorry...because the personne who attend us was very kind, but these apartments need works....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos su comentario y por su visita y tiempo para dejarnos un comentario el cual le agradecemos mucho, ya que son nuestras áreas de oportunidad a atacar y mejorar.

esperemos volver a atender en su próxima visita alas maravillosas playas de Cancún, México y nos permita mostrarle los cambios que la propiedad y nuestro servicio ha tenido.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I have gone to cancun about 5 times and this is my place every time. I always ask for the all inclusive package really worth every penny. The beach front hotel really has the best location on the beach. I enjoyed a message and a cocktail overlooking the ocean on a clear day. My family really loves this place

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Google Translation
Le agradezco su comentario,ponemos de nuestro esfuerzo para conseguir que clientes como ustedes pasen momentos memorables en nuestra propiedad.

Los esperamos en su próxima visita a Cancún gracias por su preferencia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ok we only paid £50 per night each for the two nights we stayed here so we weren't expecting much for that on an all inclusive basis. We expected the food to be average at best and no frills. However, we were not expecting the pool bar to be taped off, broken doors and the most musty and old rooms you could imagine.

This hotel is a complete and utter toilet and looks like something that would have been built in Spain when package holidays first began.

The only thing this place has going for it is that it sits on a beautiful stretch of beach. As such it should be flattened and a hotel worthy of the location constructed in it's place.

In all fairness the food in the restaurant wasn't bad. It was by no means great, but not bad. The alcohol on the other hand was a complete joke. Perhaps the worst beer I have ever tasted in my life and the. Spirits tasted revolting.

Do yourself a favour and pay a little more to stay somewhere else. I'm just thankful we only spent two nights here!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solymar Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Beach & Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solymar Beach & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, with a three stars category and splendid five diamonds beach is the perfect place for families and Couples. It's All Inclusive Plan and also Only room ; it will be an unforgettable experience for who looks for quality, economy and service in a relaxed atmosphere.Located on Kilometer 18.70 Hotel Zone, just 15 minutes away from Cancun's international airport to 10 minutes from the main shoppings mall and only three minutes from the Iberostar Cancun Golf Club. 75 Standar rooms distributed in 3 buildings and 10 suites on the ground floor all them with Air conditioning with individual control, Cable TV, telephone service, in room Safety deposit box at no charge. The room counts with either King Size, or two double Beds. The Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Solymar Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solymar Beach & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.