We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Condo From Nancy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solymar Beach & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Solymar Beach & Resort to your Saves list
Solymar Beach & Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
YK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Private Condo From Nancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We rented a privately owned condo from Nancy Cousins from 24 - 29 March 2013 and truly enjoyed the experience. What people have to understand is that this resort has different options available within it: hotel, all-inclusive resort, and renting from private owners of individual units. Having both read all the poor reviews on here AND after meeting a number of people who were there while we were but who had chosen the all-inclusive option, I can say with confidence that RENTING FROM A PRIVATE OWNER IS THE WAY TO GO. Our friends who chose the all-inclusive complained about the food and alcohol quality while our unit was kitchenette equipped which allowed us to cook our own meals and keep our own alcohol cold. Generally, we made our own breakfasts and lunches and went out for dinner. On top of that the rooms were nice and clean and, at least with Nancy, she provides you with good info regarding the bus system, restaurants, and how to get to and from the airport. The beach in front of the resort is exactly the same as any other resort with the exception of being less populated, which to us was a plus. If you want busy just walk a few hundred meters either way. The beaches in Mexico are federally (government), not privately, owned by each resort so this is entirely fine to do.

Again, SOLYMAR is a great option if you chose to rent from a private owner. We found Nancy via Kijiji.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    177
    143
    94
    213
See reviews for
131
218
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Solymar was one of the my worst experiences. I stayed there for 6 days from March 10-16. The food, rooms, and service was horrible. We went the whole time without a working toilet and our light fixture even fell from the ceiling were it stayed the rest of the stay. The service was so bad. Barely anybody spoke English and the frontdesk people were mean. They tried to get money from us any way the could. The food was disgusting and we could not even stand to eat there. The bar also only offered few drink types. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

just returned 14 march 2013 14days allinclusive the worst holiday ever, we are a mature couple well traveled all over the world. we were taken to our room left on our own we were soon back at reception with a list no shower door leaky taps broken toilet seat no air con mini fridge coffee machine no hangers taken photos of furniture nothing like you see on the net we were told do not suply the above bearing in mind this is suposed to be a 4star hotel ha ha .on to bar one of next to swiming ,went to recption one because of rain and were told to pay your free bar is down stairs joke thought this was all in no?.resturaunt one of for everything i mean everything starting with all crockery which most of was cracked or chipped plastic glasses and polystirene cups we have had better food at a greasey spoon cafe at home. some staff were nice but found a lot were realy miserable . there are a lot of condos and to me we sufferd for it hpoe they take this out of all british brouchers &internet because it gives totaly the wrong message mexico itself was very nice shame about hotel and we lived that way for the duration glad to be home .just like to say we went with an open mind but how open does it have tpo be.

Room Tip: make sure you do a investigation before you go we thought we did ha,ha
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We rented a studio for the month of February. Quite efficent. Price was reasonable. The staff was very friendly. They could have more beach lounges - some people were hogs about getting them very early in the morning. We did not do the all-inclusive so can not give you an opinion on the food or drink. Nice and quiet on the lower end of the hotel zone. The price was right. Would definately stay here again........

Room Tip: Be sure and get an ocean view with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When I started looking at hotels to stay in during my vacation to Cancun, I immediately looked for something all-inclusive. I think the phrase "all-inclusive" means different things to different people. I'm a simple gal, and I'm easy to please. I don't have high expectations. I'm also on a budget. The terrible reviews, in my opinion, are from people with high expectations. Believe me, Solymar is not the Westin. But it's not a dump. It's average in most every way.

The location: The hotel is dwarfed between two high rise hotels, that's for certain. But Solymar is unique. People who complained about the "dark hallways" neglect to mention that the layout of the hotel is an open air set up. Hallways lead you right outside, so if the sun is setting, it's going to be dark. There are lights for the hallway, never fear. There is also an elevator, but to get to your room, it probably involves doing down or up a small set of 5 steps. The nooks and crannies are what I liked about the hotel. Also, this hotel is at the sleepy end of the Hotel Zone strip. You're 10 minutes from the airport. You're a 15 minute bus ride from La Isla (the upscale mall with some restaurants) and 30 minutes from downtown with more bars.

The beach: Incredible. You'll want to get up early to get a chair. Their beach chairs aren't fancy. Plastic. Maybe kinda busted. But you're looking at a gorgeous ocean. Relax. Also, if you want shade, it's limited on the beach. Again, get there early.

The pools: Just lovely. Not huge. One is a kiddie pool that's only a half-foot deep, but the other has a swim up bar. Perfect for a dip. If you're looking for an olympic pool to do laps, this isn't it. Nice wooden lounge chairs all around the pool and balcony overlooking the ocean.

The food: Be warned -- unless you get the all inclusive package, you can't eat here. Seriously. There isn't a restaurant on site. It's buffet food for hotel guests who paid for the all inclusive stay (I'm almost positive this is the case. I talked to a mom who had to bargain to pay for just breakfast for her teenage son because they didn't pay for the all inclusive). If you are a condo guest, you probably have a fridge, microwave, and maybe a stove. You're going to Walmart to get food and eating out at night. If you're in the hotel, your options are limited. My friend and I were happy with eating breakfast and lunch at the buffet, but after day three of unappealing dinners, we decided to go downtown for better food. It won't kill you, but it's not necessarily appetizing. If you're on a budget, stick with the buffet, and splurge by going out a night or two.

The "all inclusive" deal: See above for the food, but free booze all day is pretty sweet, until night time, and then the bar in the lobby serves but you have to pay. The bartenders are great, friendly, and are looking to help you have a good night. Roberto organizes trips downtown to bars and can tell you where you should go.

The staff: Wonderful, friendly, and kind. Everyone you'll interact with on a regular basis speaks English. Housekeeping staff, not so much. But if you need anything, the front desk folks are excellent. If you book through a travel website (like expedia), the Best Days travel agent in the lobby is who you should speak to. They also have HotelBeds representatives in the lobby most days. They compete, so be careful who you talk to. There's a little store in the lobby with chips, soda, water, and other essentials.

The room: Our room was fine. Just fine. Our mattresses were not much to speak of -- very springy. When we asked for blankets because our beds just had sheets, we were given more sheets. And the toilet doesn't have a seat. This was a recurring theme that I chalked up to some Mexican preference for simplicity, but the lobby toilets had them. So whatever. It was unexpected, but it was fine. Relax. You're in Cancun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Friendly hotel with all you need for a relaxing holiday. Staff are helpful and try hard to make your stay a good experience. Large clean rooms with service every day, Beautiful sea or lagoon views and balconies designed to avoid the wind. Pools and terraces with beach bar and food as well as pool bar.
This older hotel at the end of the busy resort means easy access to anything for the cost of a bus ride (8.5 peso/ 40p, and buses run 24/7 ) but none of the hassles. The beach was well supported by life guard services and provided a great walk in to town as well as the opportunity to watch pelicans diving for fish.
All inclusive meals mean no worries over costs and offered a wide variety of reasonable quality meals with excellent salads and fruits for those who do not eat meat or spicey foods.
Don't use this hotel if you want entertainment provided or all night disc but as a base to view the area and relax in peace we found it ticked the boxes.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view and an electric safe. If you want a fridge or hob ask at the outset and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

OK, so it isn't the Weston. The rooms were big, clean and everything worked. They had tile floors and limestone bathrooms. I suspect it is one of the older hotels in Cancun based on the location and architecture, but it is well maintained with a friendly and helpful staff. If you want to go to the center of the newer uber luxo hotels, it is about a ten minute drive, but the hotel has everything you need except the upscale mall (Coach, Yves St. Laurent stores, etc.) down the road. Nice beach and pool. The dinner was quite reasonable, especially considering the tourist location; lots of variety and plenty of food. Breakfast is included in the room price although we did not have it at the hotel. At $90.00 a night, high season, it is a bargain.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good. You can choose a lagoon view or a gulf view. The lagoon view rooms face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solymar Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Beach & Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solymar Beach & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, with a three stars category and splendid five diamonds beach is the perfect place for families and Couples. It's All Inclusive Plan and also Only room ; it will be an unforgettable experience for who looks for quality, economy and service in a relaxed atmosphere.Located on Kilometer 18.70 Hotel Zone, just 15 minutes away from Cancun's international airport to 10 minutes from the main shoppings mall and only three minutes from the Iberostar Cancun Golf Club. 75 Standar rooms distributed in 3 buildings and 10 suites on the ground floor all them with Air conditioning with individual control, Cable TV, telephone service, in room Safety deposit box at no charge. The room counts with either King Size, or two double Beds. The Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Solymar Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solymar Beach & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.