We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful girls getaway!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solymar Beach & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Solymar Beach & Resort to your Saves list
Solymar Beach & Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful girls getaway!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Three girlfriends rented 2 condos from Nancy Cousins at the Solymar Beach Resort in Cancun. The complex is older but it had everything we needed and Nancy's condo's were clean and stocked well.
We bought groceries at Walmart and cooked most meals in our full kitchens so I can't commment on the food in the all inclusive option.
Solymar is right on the white sandy beach and beautiful baby blue water. Bus transportation is really easy and stops right out front of the Resort.
If you like lots of sun, beautiful white sand, a baby blue ocean, long walks on the endless beach and an affordable vacation for friends, kids, couples, Solymar is a good place to check out.
Thanks Nancy! We hope to be back!
Julie, Jen and Cathy. (Vancouver BC, Canada)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    194
    166
    103
    237
See reviews for
152
243
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I have just returned from an amazing, relaxing Cancun vacation. The weather was hot and wonderful in the ten days we were there. (April 11-21, 2011) We had the pleasure of staying in Larry And Nancy Cousins  Penthouse condo unit #3807, in the Solymar hotel. The penthouse itself was extremely well kept, very clean, and updated with a 40" flat screen t.v., a double & king size bed (new king size bed, with memory foam-incredibly comfortable). The kitchen had everything you could possibly need i.e.: blender, toaster, pots, pans etc. The room had an incredible view of the ocean, and pool area. We woke up everyday, made coffee and sat on the balcony enjoying the view. We felt very safe and comfortable during our stay. The unit has a warm, homey feel to it.  

The Solymar is a fairly quiet hotel, closer to the airport side of the hotel zone. The beach is beautiful with a life guard on duty from 9-5. The pool is great and very clean.  All amenities including restaurants and nightlife are a ten minute bus ride and bus runs literally every 2 minutes.  The Bus stop is right in front of the Solymar and  is less than a dollar per person. (8.5 peso while we were there)   An important side note about this hotel: renting from a private owner is the way to go! All the bad reviews you see about the Solymar is from an all inclusive perspective when rented from the Solymar as a hotel. There is only one restaurant and bar. Renting the penthouse from the Cousins was perfect for us, we cooked breakfast every morning had lunch on their private Terrace which you are given full access to and has a BBQ and patio furniture to lounge on. This private terrace was also perfect to enjoy the last few hours of the sun every day! It is just steps away from our room so it was so easy to refill our drinks and grab snacks from our fridge!!

A few suggestions of places and things we did on our trip that we enjoyed were:
- Wet and Wild Water park ( go on weekend HALF PRICE ) thirty dollars per person includes unlimited food booze and pop. We had a blast! (we're big kids 27&35)  The park included a Lazy river , beach and water slides. Good bang for buck for sure. A quick bus ride going towards the airport
- Caminero's is a little patio/restaurant right in the heart of the local night life area. It's across from the well known 'Taco Factory'. We went here every second night at least! The service and mexican food is phenomenal. And the people watching was super fun! A must go place!

The easiest part of planning our trip was dealing with Nancy Cousins. She was so helpful and informative. Always quick with responses from email, even during our stay. They have very helpful onsite management (Carolyn and Alejandro) who can answer any questions you may have or book any excursions your interested in!
This trip was everything and more we were hoping for, thanks to Larry and Nancy Cousins. Their condo was great for us as a couple or a family!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I went to Cancun recently with a three friends. We're all girls in our 20s. Went for a nice relaxing and a bit of a party holiday and we definitely got that.
The hotel is so close to the beach, well its ON the beach. Its a 30 second walk from the pool down to the beach and beach bar. A bus ride to town for just under a dollar or 9 pesos. Ps- take pesos and dollars to make life a bit easier.
Firstly, we were all inclusive. But I have to say, the food at Solymar was not great at all. There were random combos of meals and also sometimes really undercooked meats. Not much variety in the food choices, and we ended up eating out a lot, basically meaning we didn't get a lot out of our all inclusive package.
The hotel surroundings are nice, staff are generally okay except they don't all have basic English skills so it can be hard to communicate. Even front desk staff which becomes annoying.
Cancun itself was a lot of fun, we arrived towards the end of Spring break, so if thats your thing its a right laugh. A bit annoying after a while as the clubs tend to play the same music, but some of the clubs are AMAZING, (eg, cabana beach, mandala, the city) Really lively, and memorable nights we had there!!!
I'd recommend buying tickets for nights out from the approved promotors in the city centre, as opposed to hotel entertainers, cos it works out about 10-20 dollars cheaper per night.
We did find the hotel entertainers a bit intense and annoying after a while as they sat by the pool and sang and screamed for most of the day over their microphone system.
The hotel itself is nice, I had a lovely ground floor room with views out to the pool and it was just fab!! The cleaners are a bit lazy you need to pretty much ask them to change your sheets daily or they will just re-lay the same sheets again!!
There is lots to do, loadssss of fun excursions, as long as you have enough money for them!! They cost anything from $50 to $150. So bring ample money depending how many you'd like. Things like jungle tours, swimming with dolphins, horseback riding, zip line, swimming in cenotes etc etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed for the whole month of March in Michelle and Peter's condo 2407. The condo had a great ocean view and was well equipped with everything we needed for the month.
Michelle and Peter went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay.
Since the condo had a fully equipped kitchen we did some cooking but ate out a number of restaurants that were recommended by Michelle. There is a great bus service that can take you anywhere for around 80cents. Highlights form our stay was the Yacht party arranged by Michelle and our visit to Chechenitza and spending the day at Isla Mujeures a beautiful quiet change from Cancun.
The Solymar condos are not associated with the Solymar hotel so I don't have any comments about the food or rooms in the hotel. All in all we had a wonderful stay at Michelle and Peters' Solymar condo.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

This is a very poor quality hotel. The rooms are clean, but the decor is very poor. The food is awful, and this from a man who will eat anything! I never had a cup without a crack or chip. The beach bar has "food", consiting of nachos burgers etc and that yellow cheese stuff, but the days we went, there were no plates, a shrug from the staff as all we got. The bar ran out of beer and some spirits on a regular basis although to be fair the young Yank spring brakers were hitting the booze pretty hard.
The pool area is nice, but with very little shade, for us sensitive types. WIFI was available in the reception area, and 1 PC for internet access.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We do all of our own cooking and just veg out on the beach and enjoy our family and the sun. We do it every year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I traveled to this hotel with a group of 20+ college friends of mine through StudentCity travel agency (awful travel agency by the way but that' another review) for spring break. We thought we were getting a steal by getting the flight and an all-inclusive hotel for around $1000, but they forgot to mention the fact that you'd have to spend another $200-$300 to make your stay in Cancun moderately enjoyable.

Food- borderline inedible and never the right temperature. I.E. milk-warm and beef-cold. Not to mention the menu didn't change the entire week, same gruel everyday. It took us one day to figure out we'd have to be leaving the resort (I use that term loosely) to eat our meals, which is no cheap ordeal in Cancun.

Bar & Drinks (our main cocern)- only 2/3 open (lobby bar doesn't look like it's been opened in years don't be fooled) and the two open were run by one bartender each, neither of which understood English or knew how to make a drink. The hotel advertises a "swim-up bar", but again I don't think that ammenitiy has been used in years. I never felt the bars were overly crowded, yet it still took 5+ minutes to get your nasty drink. The beach bar didn't even have a soda-dispenser, they had pitchers of coke they ran back and forth from the pool bar. Another awful aspect was that they never had cups for you to drink from, and when they did it was washed-out (again I use the term loosely) styrofoam cups they found around the pool.... gross. You want to tip for service, but the whole situation makes it extremely difficult to justify giving them money. The booze they use is extremely bottom shelf and watered down. Regardless of how many cocktails you consumed you were going to end up feeling sick from the sugar before you felt any type of buzz from the alcohol. Bring your own!

Service- hit or miss depending on who you talk to. "The entertainment staff" is pretty shady though.

Rooms- awful. A few in our group had 4 people with a king sized bed and a cot which is unacceptable. In-room ammenities are hit or miss as well, don't expect to have everything because you'll be disappointed.

The saving-grace of this hotel is it's beach and the pool, both of which are stunning and well-kept. There weren't a lot of beach or pool furniture but enough not to complain about.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Solymar Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Beach & Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solymar Beach & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, with a three stars category and splendid five diamonds beach is the perfect place for families and Couples. It's All Inclusive Plan and also Only room ; it will be an unforgettable experience for who looks for quality, economy and service in a relaxed atmosphere.Located on Kilometer 18.70 Hotel Zone, just 15 minutes away from Cancun's international airport to 10 minutes from the main shoppings mall and only three minutes from the Iberostar Cancun Golf Club. 75 Standar rooms distributed in 3 buildings and 10 suites on the ground floor all them with Air conditioning with individual control, Cable TV, telephone service, in room Safety deposit box at no charge. The room counts with either King Size, or two double Beds. The Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solymar Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solymar Beach & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.