We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ramada Cancun City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ramada Cancun City to your Saves list
Hotel Ramada Cancun City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Yaxchilan 41, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Calgary
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Ramada Inn in Cancun is located in El Centro. Our room was spacious with comfortable beds and pillows and plenty of hot water. There is a buffet breakfast daily that is excellent. Some of the staff speak English but most speak Spanish. The bar is open until 11 PM. There are plenty of restaurants in the area and the main Avenue, Avenida Tulum is 3 blocks away. The ADO bus station is a five minute walk and there are 2 grocery stores, Walmart and Costco all within easy walking distance. Apparently this hotel has a beach club and a van to take guest there, however we have not used it. There is a nice pool with deck chairs which is rarely busy. There is a laundry service directly across from the hotel and normally it is same day service.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room facing the pool and ask that it be far away from the Karaoke bar across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    57
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
23
47
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

The hotel itself is wonderful, it is a shame about the noisy neighbours. The club opposite has extremely loud music going until 4am. The bass making the whole hotel room shake. It looks like the hotel has tried to address the problem by installing a second set of patio doors on the balconies but to no avail. The rooms are in effect quadruple glazed but the noise is horrendous and will keep you awake at night.

It is a shame as this hotel would be rated "excellent" in my opinion if it was not for this. The staff are extremely helpful, courteous and immaculately presented. The on site pool like the rest of the hotel is spotlessly clean and appears well maintained. There are plenty of sun beds too.
The rooms are large with modern interiors and the showers had good water pressure. The beds appear brand new and are extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: A pool view room is a little bit quieter than those at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This hotel is in a great location - close to the ADO bus station and restaurants & bars. They were happy to hold our luggage for us when we visited other parts of the Yucatan which was very helpful.

The room was basic and comfortable. It was large and spacious with a small balcony overlooking the pool. The air-conditioner worked very well.

The staff were all very friendly and polite.

They do only provide 2 small bottles of drinking water but there is a drug store next door where you can get 1.5L for about 12 pesos so this isn't an issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I was in this hotel for a mini-vacation after a business meeting. I had been advised to stay here as opposed to the Zona Hotelera and I'm glad I did. I found it better to go to the Zone and enjoy and then come back here for sleep. The area is safe to walk around at night and there are some decent restaurants along the main strip. It's also close to Walmart--the cheapest place to get souvenirs and Mexican vanilla in the city. If you want a resort feel, by all means go to the Zona Hotelera. But if you actually want to see Cancun then this hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel ticked all the boxes for me during my stay in Cancun. I arrived without a reservation and they happily accommodated me in a huge room that was very quiet. The WiFi, TV and air-con all worked well, and the shower was nice and strong. This was the perfect option for someone who didn't want to pay hundreds of dollars a night to stay along the beach strip, as the hotel provides a free daily shuttle out to a beach club. So you can still have the same beach experience at half the price! The hotel is right amongst a number of good restaurants, and just a couple of blocks' walk from the ADO bus station. And just down the road is a massive shopping mall with a cinema, restaurants and hundreds of shops.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The staff was good but location wise this is not a good place to be for the price you are paying.

The most ridiculous thing about this hotel is the policy of providing only 2 small bottles of water per day. They call them selfs 4 star hotel and they expect their guests to drink only 2 small bottles of water per day. I was asked by the hotel staff to go out and buy water bottles if I use more than 2.

same goes for the soap and shampoos. The bathroom toiletries were not up to the standard.

The staff was polite and the room was cleaned well. Other than that there is nothing good about this hotel. I will definitely not stay here again nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Booked for Wyndham for 60$...hotels in the city are way cheaper than in the Zona...

Arrived around 1PM...walked from the ADO terminal and got a bit lost, so get a good map if you are walking it...its only 5 minutes once you know the proper route.

Check in was courteous, if a bit cold, and was provided a room facing street. Noise was not too bad, but not balcony, as those unit facing the pool in the courtyard. The room was large but with spartiate decor. As other mentioned, the bed was hard. Furniture is sparse and Ikea style. Good LCD TV with a few English channel. Wifi was free and worked well for me. Bathroom was very bare but large, with a big shower stall, a nice sink and loo...but the water pressure sucked.

There is a small gym with older cardio equipments, no weights. The pool was nice and clean. I did not partake to their breakfast buffet (around 10$) as there are plenty of dirt cheap options around for food...the ADO bus station have a few vendors selling tacos for a buck.

The hotel is in walking distance to Zone 28 market, but this is mainly a kitsch tourist trap market.The shuttle has limited departure times to the beach, and was not available on my short stay due to the beach area event for spring break (people sploshing colors on themselves...).

I would go back, given the location and the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ramada Cancun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ramada Cancun City

Address: Avenida Yaxchilan 41, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ramada Cancun City 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ramada Cancun City opened its doors in February 26, 2010 after a deep renovation program, equipped with new furniture, all rooms with 32' LCD TV, all floor and walls changed, using vibrant colors, new bathrooms, adding hairdryer, vanity mirrors, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, safety box. Lobby, restaurant and bar all with new equipment and concept. High Speed wireless internet access is an addition of our services and it is available in guest rooms, meeting rooms and public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ramada Cancun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Margaritas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ramada Cancun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.