We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would most likely not stay here again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Kokai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Kokai to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Kokai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Uxmal 26 Sm 2-a, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
1 review
“Would most likely not stay here again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Once we landed at the airport, walked out and there were a lot of people hustling. Which is expected. We over paid a shuttle 680 pesos to get to our hotel. Later to find out is only 64 pesos per person for the bus. Everyone kept saying 100 pesos per person for the bus, don't listen to them. Cabs are all negotiable. We got a cab back to the airport for only 200 pesos. Stayed at plaza kokai in downtown Cancun. It was a small room that smelled like mold, lots of trapped moisture.
When we checked in on a Wed afternoon, the front desk man was not very friendly. He did not explain anything to us. Just gave us (4 people) 1 room key. We stayed on the first floor, at the corner. No view. The beds were hard as rock. There were ants and maybe other bugs found in the room. The dump truck was extremely noisy. The walls were paper thin. I can hear everything that went on in the hallway. Came Fri and Sat night the younger teens had parties in the hotel room. They smoked in the hallway, they were loud and obnoxious. We asked them not to smoke by our room door because when we opened the door, the clouds of smike came in. They laighed and went on. We told front desk and it didn't stop the kids. However, we had no rest the evening.
I did not get breakfast included because we walked 3 or 4 blocks to Palapas Park to eat 5 tacos for 25 pesos. The meals there were much more cheaper! The restaurant offered breakfast for 80-200 pesos.
Around the corner of the hotel is a cafe 'Fouquet' they had amazing coffee!!! 1 espresso was 30 pesos.
The location was ok. There is nothing to do in the area. It's just a place to sleep. Would i stay at this hotel again? Most likely not. But looking around downtown area, I'm not sure if there is a better place.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
15
28
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
12801
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Good location,decent room. Desk staff completely apathetic to your needs. Construction noise during the day and loud music until 3 am from the nightclub downstairs at night.Run do not walk from this hotel

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

room was excellent , quiet , clean , high quality linen , towels etc . can walk to the ADO bus terminal 2 blocks away , can walk to shops and restaurants , restaurant in hotel seemed expensive and booking the room on the net was considerably cheaper than if you walked in to book ,

Room Tip: room we had was good , view , excellent quality , bedsheets , towels aircon etc . very comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights in June 2014. The hotel was average. Good points - room was big and the shower/bathroom was big. The downside - the breakfast was below average and expensive. The staff had attitude problem especially when I request something. In addition, no good restaurants close by apart from the pub next door so limited choice in eateries. The pub had bands playing at night so sleeping sometimes can be difficult.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

One of the only hotels that are a lot better in reality than on photo.good location close to the bus terminal. Very good value for this price. I can recommend it if you don't have the budget to go to zona hotelera.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul/ Minneapolis
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel had a nice room. It was very spacious which is a must when traveling with a toddler. The front desk was nice. The pool was nice looking but not heated so we only dared to dip into it once. The rooftop terrace was amazing and I was disappointed that I didn't discover it until the last day. There are seats and hammocks and shade up there and you get a great view of the city. It was also nice for my daughter to be able to run around while I read a book. The webiste advertises that they have a beach club, which I figured meant it was included in the price of the hotel or even that they had a van that took you there. NO! They know the name of a beach club and some of the information about it. That's it. I walked up to that beach club unknowlingly the first day we went out to the beach and we could have paid to use it. The same price as if we said we were from this hotel. That was misleading. There isn't that much to do around here either. But it's close to the bus terminal and it's a few blocks from the main bus route to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were surprised with how comfortable and clean the bedroom and bathroom were. Excelent location for people who want to go everywhere, eat near the hotel and not stay only in the hotel. It is very close to the main bus station in town, it is within walking distance from restaurants, grossery store, and convenience stores. What you see is what you get, it is not a louxourious resort, it is a hotel for people who dont want to spend all day in the hotel. There is a lot to sre in cancun, and we didnt want to stay in a resort and miss everything. It is exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
2.5 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
0.3 mi away
Adhara Hacienda Cancun
Adhara Hacienda Cancun
#78 of 178 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#45 of 178 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
1.4 mi away
ibis Cancun Centro
ibis Cancun Centro
#89 of 178 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Kokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Kokai

Address: Avenida Uxmal 26 Sm 2-a, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Kokai 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Kokai is located in the city of Cancun, which is often referred to as the Mexican Caribbean. Cancun is in Quintana Roo, on the Yucatan Peninsula. For a good night’s sleep, each room in Hotel Plaza Kokai is air-conditioned, and furnished with a cozy bed, hair dryer, wireless Internet access, luggage rack, and private toilet and bath. Accommodations further have a writing desk and chair. Hotel Plaza Kokai in Cancun warmly welcomes every business and leisure traveler into its safe and amply furnished confines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Plaza Kokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Kokai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Kokai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.