We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cancun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Kokai

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Kokai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Kokai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Uxmal 26 Sm 2-a, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“cancun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

room was excellent , quiet , clean , high quality linen , towels etc . can walk to the ADO bus terminal 2 blocks away , can walk to shops and restaurants , restaurant in hotel seemed expensive and booking the room on the net was considerably cheaper than if you walked in to book ,

Room Tip: room we had was good , view , excellent quality , bedsheets , towels aircon etc . very comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
20
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights in June 2014. The hotel was average. Good points - room was big and the shower/bathroom was big. The downside - the breakfast was below average and expensive. The staff had attitude problem especially when I request something. In addition, no good restaurants close by apart from the pub next door so limited choice in eateries. The pub had bands playing at night so sleeping sometimes can be difficult.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

One of the only hotels that are a lot better in reality than on photo.good location close to the bus terminal. Very good value for this price. I can recommend it if you don't have the budget to go to zona hotelera.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul/ Minneapolis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel had a nice room. It was very spacious which is a must when traveling with a toddler. The front desk was nice. The pool was nice looking but not heated so we only dared to dip into it once. The rooftop terrace was amazing and I was disappointed that I didn't discover it until the last day. There are seats and hammocks and shade up there and you get a great view of the city. It was also nice for my daughter to be able to run around while I read a book. The webiste advertises that they have a beach club, which I figured meant it was included in the price of the hotel or even that they had a van that took you there. NO! They know the name of a beach club and some of the information about it. That's it. I walked up to that beach club unknowlingly the first day we went out to the beach and we could have paid to use it. The same price as if we said we were from this hotel. That was misleading. There isn't that much to do around here either. But it's close to the bus terminal and it's a few blocks from the main bus route to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We were surprised with how comfortable and clean the bedroom and bathroom were. Excelent location for people who want to go everywhere, eat near the hotel and not stay only in the hotel. It is very close to the main bus station in town, it is within walking distance from restaurants, grossery store, and convenience stores. What you see is what you get, it is not a louxourious resort, it is a hotel for people who dont want to spend all day in the hotel. There is a lot to sre in cancun, and we didnt want to stay in a resort and miss everything. It is exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

horrible bathroom, horrible smell, horrible bed sheets.
Just horrible.
The only possitive thing is the nice people, location & Starbucks which is located a few minutes walking from the hotel. Besides if you can avoid this place- do so.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed 3 weeks in this downtown hotel. Very convenient to everything, 2 blocks from the central bus station, about a mile from the Walmart, 2 blocks from the central bus stop to get the bus to the hotel zone an beaches, nearby restaurants. Nice clean hotel, aways someone cleaning, or painting. Doing lots of maintenance. Rooms have 2 double beds, and are large enough for a family. Friendly staff, some with limited English, and my Spanish is more limited, but we were able to communicate. Housekeepng staff very nice. The renovations can get noisy, but not before 8 a.m. We would stay there again. Nice to get away from all the crowds in the hotel zone.
Nice little park right behind the hotel. Beds are hard though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway away from the elevator. It can get noisy, and people walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Kokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Kokai

Address: Avenida Uxmal 26 Sm 2-a, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Kokai 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Kokai is located in the city of Cancun, which is often referred to as the Mexican Caribbean. Cancun is in Quintana Roo, on the Yucatan Peninsula. For a good night’s sleep, each room in Hotel Plaza Kokai is air-conditioned, and furnished with a cozy bed, hair dryer, wireless Internet access, luggage rack, and private toilet and bath. Accommodations further have a writing desk and chair. Hotel Plaza Kokai in Cancun warmly welcomes every business and leisure traveler into its safe and amply furnished confines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Plaza Kokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Kokai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Kokai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.