We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guess it depends on the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Kokai

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Kokai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Kokai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Uxmal 26 Sm 2-a, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 174 hotels in Cancun
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Guess it depends on the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

I paid $39 per night for three nights via Hotwire, and to be honest if I'd paid much more than that I would've been gutted!

Room 203.

Pros:

Location. Just a three minute walk from the R1 bus stop to take you to the Zona Hotelera if you wish. To get to the main strip takes about 15 to 20 mins and costs 7 pesos (70 cents, 35 pence).
Price.
Staff. A couple of the guys that could speak English on front desk were very helpful.

Cons:

Room. AC hardly worked, and the door lock felt very flimsy. It also smelt musty.
Pool. A bit of an excuse for a pool really, with lots of leaves in it. However, it did soothe my aching feet after a lot of beach walking.

If you're on a budget and can't afford the $180+ of the mega hotels, then this isn't a bad alternative, depending on how much you end up paying.

  • Liked — Cheap!
  • Disliked — Didn't feel secure.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
18
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2006

Clean-towels are birds and toilet paper roses--fast room service--reasonable prices for drinks and food in restaurant and room service: Great lounge with live musica--very friendly staff-plan to return

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2006

For those who is using Priceline to book this hotel, you may encounter some problems. I recently went to Cancun with a friend and we had ordered our tickets and hotel through priceline. Everything went well untill the last night of the stay. On the last night of the stay on of the the workers told us that priceline has not paid them and that they have tried to call. I was asked to pay for the hotel first and then when I got back to NY, and contact priceline they will submit a full refund to me. (on top of that they told me that they will wait for at least 10 days before charging my credit card, so I would have the chance to get the situation straight.) But instead they charged my credit card immediately right after my stay and Proceline told me that they where not coorprating with priceline. They were not returning their calls. I have personally called them and the manger told me to email him. So i did and he never respose back, ok maybe he didn't understand english so I translated my email into spanish but yet there is no response. Therefore I don't believe I will ever recieve my refund. I just want travelers to be aware of this hotel. Other than that, the hotel was Ok. It has a weird --- smell. The pool was really small and it was in the shape of a triangle. There is a bus that will bring you to the back of a beach where the nice hotels are. The bus nly make a trip at 10 and 11 am. You will have take the public bus back to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night on 30 July 2005. Next door to El Rey Caribe (reviewed in the LP, which would explain why that one was full and this one wasn't!). Welcoming reception area, nice bar and restaurant (although closed on Sundays). Nice large rooms with TV and A/C (no fridge though). Small angular pool but was clean and refreshing. Paid about $55 for the room.

Good location to explore downtown and also very close to the bus station (an easy 5 minute walk - even with suitcases!). Friendly reception staff, let us stay in the room until 2pm.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Kokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Kokai

Address: Avenida Uxmal 26 Sm 2-a, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 174 hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Kokai 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Kokai is located in the city of Cancun, which is often referred to as the Mexican Caribbean. Cancun is in Quintana Roo, on the Yucatan Peninsula. For a good night’s sleep, each room in Hotel Plaza Kokai is air-conditioned, and furnished with a cozy bed, hair dryer, wireless Internet access, luggage rack, and private toilet and bath. Accommodations further have a writing desk and chair. Hotel Plaza Kokai in Cancun warmly welcomes every business and leisure traveler into its safe and amply furnished confines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Plaza Kokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Kokai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Kokai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.