We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe

Save Saved
You added Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km 10.5, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
MXN2,857 (MXN)
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Albany, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Above expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been to Cancun 3times before, but this by far was the best experience I've had. We booked regular ocean view but upgraded at registration to a Villa. While the villa and hotel were excellent, it was the staff who stood out. Kevin and Miguel our concierges, were so attentive. We had minor injury while there and they took care of asking Ivan, medical services to come every day to change bandages. German in buffet restaurant - fantastic. Lobby bar bartender ( he does magic tricks too) fantastic. The pool entertainment team worked their butts off and remembered everyone day to day. Food... No one goes away hungry. Room service, restaurants, pizza/ snack huts, buffet - all top notch. This is the place to come if you want great beach, terrific service,unending food... Can't wait to come back. Don't pay attention to negative reviewers ... They don't know how to relax.if you don't have fun here , it's your own fault.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your review. I am very glad to read that you were satisfied by the service we provided and that you enjoyed your time here at the Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,897
    980
    271
    115
    108
See reviews for
778
1388
61
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I hate reviews that begin with "I've never written a review before..." But it's an appropriate way to begin mine. To start, the hotel welcomed us and forgot to give us our welcome kit. We checked into our room which happened to be by the elevator (noisy) and asked if we could be moved. They said we'd have to wait until the following day at 9AM. So we stayed in the room and the pillowcases were dirty The next day we went downstairs at around 8AM to confirm we'd like our room changed and the front desk said to come back at 3PM. When we called, they said we had to confirm at 9AM. Confusing. Eventually we were able to move rooms after getting lots attitude from the front desk and management. Overall, the buffet is super small with limited options. There are only 3 "exclusive restaurants" and you have to make reservations either day or day before, you can't make them all at once. They don't serve alcohol until after 11!!!! Which makes me sound like an alcoholic but really all I wanted was mimosas with my breakfast. I've NEVER heard of this rule at any hotel and I do not recall it being on the website. The gym costs $8 a day to use, which again, was not mentioned on the website. It was really a subpar experience with a lot of bumps in the road. I would definitely stay at the Paradisus or ME Melia, which we looked at but went with the Grand Park because it had a higher star rating (and I'm clueless as to why).

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We are sorry to learn about your disappointment regarding your most recent stay at Grand Park Royal Cancún Caribe. Comments from our clients are very important for us and we truly appreciate your feedback that makes us improve our services in benefit of our clients. If you have any extra information to share with us, please email us at BLANK EMAIL. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I arrived on a Sunday afternoon and stayed at this resort for 6 nights. When we arrived at the front desk, there was a long wait to be checked in. What was not clear was that there was a line in front of one person at the desk, when there were actually three people working. None of the other workers were helping to check people in. I will say that the timeshare people that were hovering were not particularly pushy - which was nice.

We had reserved a deluxe ocean-view room with a king bed in the main tower. We were given the option to upgrade to a room in the Royal Tower for $50 per night extra, but we declined. We had a nice view from our 5th floor room of the pool area as well as the sea. Unfortunately, there were numerous maintenance and housekeeping issues that arose in the coming days:
1. The room balcony had fruit on the floor, which had attracted ants. Housekeeping was called and cleaned it up.
2. The room key that was given at check-in did not work.
3. The shower faucet shot water upwards
4. The sink was clogged
5. The toilet ran continuously
6. Multiple door issues - keys not working; bad door lock

After the 4th time having a door issue, the room divisions manager, Alejandro Gonzalez agreed to upgrade us to a room in the Royal Tower. The room was nice, but after packing all of our things and relocating to the new tower, we found out the room's air conditioning was not working. We had already unpacked again and maintenance was dispatched several times over the course of 4 hours. We actually had someone tell us that the room temperature was not too bad (it was 79 F). We asked to speak to the manager again and the MOD, Gloria Loera, was able to get us moved to another room in the same tower. The unfortunate thing was that we basically spent the majority of our day in limbo, packing and unpacking. We were leaving in less than 48 hours. Gloria Loera told us to ask for Carlos DaSilva the next day regarding our situation.

The next day, we attempted to track down Carlos DaSilva, but were taken to Alejandro Gonzalez again. He offered us a complimentary massage for the inconvenience, but he told us he was going to talk to his general manager, Carlos DaSilva to see if there was anything else they could do. We had a cockroach come into our shower - we are not sure where it came from. We also noticed that there was someone's hair scrunchie in the bathroom - which made us question whether housekeeping had cleaned this room thoroughly. We asked to speak to the GM, but that never happened. We had to track Alejandro Gonzalez down again and finally accepted the massage he was offering because he said he could do anything else. The kicker was that he offered the massage at a time we would not be able to use it - our check-out time. This was just a disappointing experience and very poor customer service. In the end, Alejandro's demeanor was rude.

The poor design in the title refers to the location of the bar areas near the pool. The swim up bar is located at the smaller side pool, not the main pool. Also, this resort is not very easy to walk - there are lots of uneven pathways and the location of the restaurants is not very centralized. The room service options are dismal and there is very little available outside the restaurants.

The 2 out of 5 rating for this resort is based on the rest of the staff that tried to make our stay a good one. Outstanding service was rendered by all the entertainment staff and the following managers: Samuel, Arturo, and Lupita. Also, Max (server) in the Cocay restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the excellent reviews posted. Your experience will depend on which tower you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review. I regret you weren't pleased with your stay,I assure you that the circumstances you described are not typical with the high standards that we strive to provide, one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on our facilities, the food and the service. I can assure you that every constructive criticism you’ve shared with us has been taken very seriously by our team in order to keep standards, expected by our guests on the highest level, ensuring your satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our second time staying at this resort and loved it even more this second time around!! When we arrived, we were greeted like family that had not seen each other for a very long time. We could not believe that they remembered us from last year (2013). Hosts, waiters, bartenders especially Lucio Cetina of Bar Casis were very warm, friendly and accommodating. As always, we were extremely pleased with all. Room were always clean, food was good, service was excellent! The pool entertainment committee was also exceptional. They included us in all their activities and made us feel like we were home. Fantastic resort for rest and relaxation!!!

Room Tip: The villa rooms on the beach are wonderful!!! Sunny and very nice space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for allowing us host your holidays. I am glad to know we were able to provide you a wonderful experience. We all at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe look forward to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great food, bars, staff, beach. Had a problem upon arrival with reservation. Booked a room in the beach front building and turned out all rooms in that building (except suites) had two twin beds (it was never mentioned on the website at the time of reservation). We needed one king, obviously! Main hotel building had no vacancies, so we almost left this resort to look for another hotel, but manager offered us ground level suite with private jacuzzy and direct beach access only for $50 more per night. Boom! Our frustration dissapeared and romantic vacation became just one nonstop fairytale!
Just a little CON: there is no decent entertainment. But we went to the night clubs every night. Only 5 minutes by taxi.
Liked italian restaurant a lot!

Room Tip: Book a Suit! And you will never regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make your experience a successful one! We all at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe are delighted to know that you had a memorable time staying with us and enjoyed everything, from the selection of food, the beach and the service provided by our staff. We will be looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Front desk staff disinterested and incompetent. One of the managers was condescending after being overruled by his boss in our favor and needs to choose a new career that doesn't involve customer service.

Take a printout of the amenities included in your reservation or risk being denied what you paid for (e.g., wi FI). "Butler service" included in reservation has limited hours--we had to ask the front desk twice for its phone number since none of the information was offered to us upon checkin--the first time THE FRONT DESK HUNG UP ON US. We went to the front to ask for a garbage bag and were told one would be brought up, stood there for 15 minutes, then saw the guy walk past us, asked him what happened, and he said "Oh, I couldn't find one".

In contrast to the atrocious service from the front desk, ALL of the rest of the staff were absolutely fabulous, including Kevin who works the villa side of the beach bringing drinks and catering to your every need, also including each and every person at the restaurants and on the grounds.

My girlfriend lost her sunglasses in the surf, and a lifeguard was miraculously able to find and return them. Had a blast on the jet skis.

In summary, a decent stay that could have been SPECTACULAR if not for the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review. I assure you that the circumstances you described are not typical with the high standards that we strive to provide, one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on our facilities, the food and the service. I can assure you that every constructive criticism you’ve shared with us has been taken very seriously by our team in order to keep standards, We would be delighted to host you again on a future trip to Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gramercy, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway and the place was nice. I was not happy that I was there 4 nights and stayed in 3 different rooms. The first night we stayed in the villas which was nice but had 2 double beds. The second night we were moved to the towers where we had a king sized bed but the ac was broken, after 24 hrs. And 4 service calls they decided to move us again. The 3rd room; the Royal Towers beachfront was beautiful - we opened our sliding door and was steps from the beach. On the restaurant side, we only ate at the Italian restaurant which was phenomenal. If you go here don't miss eating at El Mirador. No beach service. All in all we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are completely honored to read that your visit to Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe was enjoyable and met your expectations. We truly appreciate all your comments about our resort, it’s very important to know that we were able to meet your expectations We are looking forward to having you as our guests again and make every effort to exceed your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 10.5, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#37 Business Hotel in Cancun
#45 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exclusive Cancun All-Inclusive experience is waiting for you! Sunny days, white-sand beaches and spectacular views of the turquoise Caribbean Sea are just a little of the many things you’ll enjoy by staying at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe. Boasting beachfront location, right in the heart of the Hotel Zone, our All-Inclusive family resort in Cancun promises an unforgettable stay in the most popular and exciting destination of the mexican Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe Hotel Cancun
Caribe Park Royal Grand Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.