We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Trip Was Too Short” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe

Save Saved
You added Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km 10.5, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Mejor tarifa garantizada!
Ranked #35 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Eldridge, IA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our Trip Was Too Short”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I, and another couple, just returned from a 4-night stay at the Grand Park Royal, January 17-21. We were given frozen drinks upon check in and lead to our room by the bell boy. Our rooms were on the first floor (up one from the ground level) in the main building and they were just fine. Plenty of space with an oversized king bed, very clean, nice view of the pool and ocean. The only downfall with the room was the lack of sound proofing, as we could hear everyone in the hallways at all hours. And though the shower was nice and clean, it constantly changed temperatures while using it.

The food was pretty good, breakfast was best at the buffet, lunch and dinner were fairly unimpressive, but not terrible. We ate at La Concha for lunch one day and it was very delicious! We had the Italian restaurant one night and the Asian restaurant on our last night. The atmosphere at the Asian restaurant is incredible, very cool setting. I did like the food at the Italian restaurant more, but only slightly more. Also, don't waste your time at the Pizza Corner, but if you are looking for an afternoon snack, burgers or nachos at El Jardin were both great! Also, the Cafe Sole serves espresso drinks and amazing gelato. :)

The grounds were immaculate, you always see staff cleaning. Both of the pools were great, but not heated, so on the cooler days and evenings, it was far too chilly to swim and they only have one, very crowded, jacuzzi. Our favorite location was the beach though. We got huts on the beach several times during our stay and the sea water was so warm, so that was where we swam.

Oh, and about the time share people. They are very persistant, but don't feel bad just saying "no" or ignoring them. We never got roped into the presentation or the "Free Gifts" or anyting like that. We just walked by without saying much to them and it was not that big of an issue.

Overall, I would recommend this resort to anyone looking to stay in Cancun, because for the price, it is a wonderful value and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,846
    936
    256
    104
    103
See reviews for
733
1325
58
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay! We upgraded our room. Other people in our group didn't. Their room was just as nice as ours. As long as your room is a couple floors up in the main building I don't recommend upgrading. Also the birds were a very early wake up every morning!

My only complaint were the sidewalks. They are very uneven and hard to walk on barefoot. Couple people in wheel chairs really struggled getting around.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in the middle of January. Traveled with my husband, his parents, and my parents. We have stayed at two other all-inclusives in Mexico (Rio Palace in Puerto Vallarte and Catalonia Playa Maroma), so our review takes into account experiences at other resorts. Overall, had a satisfying stay.

I initially booked a garden view room through expedia, but because we are expedia elite members, we were upgraded to an oceanfront room, wi-fi and access to the gym for free!!

For airport transfer, we booked usa-transfers and had a good experience. $65 round trip for 6 people.

Property overview:
-2 restaurants (Italian & Asian), 1 café (pastries, coffee, and ice cream), snack bar (hamburgers & nachos), and pizza bar; there is also a restaurant that is open during breakfast and lunch that is first-come, first-serve, which is an alternative to the buffet style breakfast and lunch
-2 swimming pools (one louder, one quieter), hot tub which seats many but is not that hot

Pros:
-property design is great- bathrooms located near pools for easy access. Pools are beautiful with plenty of beach recliners but the bali beds are very limited.
-friendly activities staff: enjoyed volleyball, water aerobics (for the seniors traveling in our group), and they also had an activity to braid bracelets, which I hadn’t seen at other resorts. Overall staff very helpful.
-plenty of seafood options in the buffet. The most seafood of any resort I have been to.
-gym equipment is modern & clean (although not free)
- easy and affordable access to malls and flea markets via the bus ($1 each way, per person). Although, watch out for your wallets on the bus! My mom’s wallet got stolen on the bus
-bali beds near the pool are comfortable and luxurious! Beautiful long beach, some rocks & shells.
-everything is very clean
-great ice cream at the cafe
- the hotel gift shop had surprisingly good prices compared to other places we shopped at. So try shopping there first! (we went to Las Isla shopping center, which seemed more expensive & Market 28 Flea Market, which involved a lot of haggling)

Cons:
-wi-fi and gym are not included with the all-inclusive package. Luckily, we got these amenities for free due to the expedia-elite thing. Wi-fi would have cost about $60 for the week, per room. In other all-inclusive places we have stayed, there was at least free wi-fi in the lobby, if not in your room.
-wi-fi connection was spotty in our rooms, but could work near the pools
-only two restaurants (an Italian restaurant and Asian restaurant) for dinner. You can only make reservations from 12-3pm on the same day. We tried making a reservation at the Italian restaurant at 2pm on a particular day, and they were already booked- so make sure you book early! Both restaurants had good food. My family favored the Italian restaurant over the Asian restaurant
-men cannot wear sleeveless shirts (like a basketball jersey) into the buffet. I am used to these dress codes for the fancy restaurants, but not for buffets. It’s interesting, because there are plenty of women in bikinis with minimal cover-up that are allowed into the buffet.
-not a huge deal, but we didn't receive any drinks when checking in
-our rooms were not too soundproof. could hear people in the hallways and the adjoining room.

Tips:
-if you book an excursion, make sure they know you are from the Grand Park Royal Caribe, NOT the Grand Park Pyramids. The names are very similar. Someone who booked our swimming with the dolphins tour entered our hotel as the Grand Park Pyramids hotel, thus we did not get picked up at our correct hotel and ended up losing our appointment time for the excursion.
-There are people trying to get you to join the Royal Vacations club. You go to a 90 minute presentation in exchange for $100 off any excursion. Our presentation ended up taking 3 hours!! The people are very persuasive and offer a lot of incentives for you to purchase a membership. The incentives they were promising my husband and I included a free flight to Australia, 2 weeks accommodation in Australia, and unlimited free stays in their Mexican resorts for the first 30 months of our membership!! Seems too good to be true! Luckily, we asked them for time to consider, and went back to our rooms to research the company online; they have very poor reviews in terms of people being able to use their membership for their holidays. So, if you end up doing this presentation to get your $100 coupon, tell them in advance that you will only stay 90 minutes and don’t ask any questions; I wish we would have done that, instead of wasting 3 hours there. Research Royal Vacations club prior to going to the presentation, otherwise you can easily be taken in. The people running the tours are very pleasant and nice- you don’t want to say “no” to them!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe and had a blast! Miguel, 'the new guy', was so much fun, kept us entertained and made sure we had a great time--he was fabulous! Francisco, the bartender, had us laughing all the time and helped us with our Spanish! Super Sexy Carlos, Steve-o and Monique were also great fun when we stayed at the pool. All of the entertainment folks worked very hard to keep us all involved. We met folks from all over the world because of them (Brazil, Venezuela, etc). The rooms and grounds were beautiful...the staff pay so much attention to detail. Rudolfo was very attentive when we were at the pool--he made sure our area was tidy. I hope he stays at the resort and is able to be a chef or entertainer--he is a sweetie. Miguel, the lobby bartender, was also very enjoyable.Every staff member we came across greeted us and made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: We had room 3021 on the ground floor. Loved it! It was located on the corner right between both pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at Grand Park Royal, lovely place to relax. It is an older hotel but well maintained. The staff cannot do enoughfor you everyone was very friendly and helpfull. Food overall was a 8 with a 10 being the best but I must admit there was plentyof it to be had. Outside pool and the ocean as well as all of the outside bars were just fantastic, I would like to also mention special thanks to Monique from the entertainment staff and Roberto the best bartender ever. Also the fish restaurant at the outside bar is great. I recommend the hotel highly. Yes I would and will go back.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The people at Grand Park Royal are the best, they were friendly and attentive over allwe had a marvelous time. I would back there anytime. We went there for our birthday. It was beautiful and they treated us like royalty. Monique who made bracelets to our granddaughters. Room was fantastic. Japanese and Italian restaurants were fantastic. The staff really make this hotel the place to go. We look foward to visiting as often as possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent two weeks over Christmas and New Years. We have been to Cancun more than a dozen times and always have a wonderful time. This was the first time at a Park Royal resort with mixed results. The positives about the hotel were Estaban on the entertainment staff, he made us feel like family and went out of his way to play games with our 8 year old son. Miguel who does not work for the hotel, but AquaWorld, great guy who spent time chatting with our little boy and talking about marine life. Alex at Bar Casis for being polite and greeting us with kindness every time we arrived. Finally, our cleaning staff for always being on time and making sure that the room was spotless.

Having stayed in other resorts in Cancun the level of resort service did not meet expectations, it is not four star. There was no pool or beach service. They are relentlessly soliciting people to purchase timeshares, during breakfast at the ala carte was the worst. I was shocked that we paid as much as we did and still had to endure the peddling of timeshares. Kids under the age of 12 have limited options, they cannot eat in the restaurants, the food choices for picky eaters are limited, and if want activities at the resort that are outside of the water there is very little to do. The pool water was unbearably cold when we arrived. The front desk was completely rude refusing to bring extra water when the premier and royal towers were out of water for four hours due to a main break. We had to call and speak to a manager who managed to get us two extra bottles.

All in all the vacation was great, but the majority of our memories were made outside of the resort or as a result of the kindness of a few at the resort.

Room Tip: Select the ocean view...it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 10.5, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#35 Business Hotel in Cancun
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe Hotel Cancun
Caribe Park Royal Grand Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.